No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Ebor Lodge

4Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
71 Royal Parade, , , Eastbourne, BN22 7AQ
Welcome to Ebor Lodge a small family run guesthouse with a warm freindly atmosphere. The guesthouse has been fully refurbished by Beryl and all rooms are modern and tastefully designed to a high standard throughout. There are six bedrooms varying from a ground floor double with en-suite shower to large family room with en-suite bathroom. Two of the rooms have sea views one with a balcony. All bedrooms have flat screen TV's with freeview, courtesy trays, clock radio's, hairdryers and complimentary toiletries. WIFI is available in the public areas. The guesthouse has a comfortable spacious lounge and sun patio for the use of guests. The ground floor breakfast room is light and airy. Breakfast consists of fuit juices, grapefruit, prunes and cereals. This is followed by a traditional english breakfast, vegetarian or lighter bites. Special dietary requirements can be catered for as long as they are advised in advance. Locally grown produce is used whenever possible. Free on street parking is available all round the guesthouse. We are a short walk away from the theatres and the famous 1930's bandstand. An excellent programme is on at the bandstand ranging from traditional brass bands to tribute ones. These are on in the afternoon and evening and the highlight is the 1812 Overture on a friday evening ending with a a fireworks display. There are plenty of clubs, pubs and restaurants for all tastes within walking distance of the guesthouse. Eastbourne is famous for its clean, safe bathing beaches and its two mile promenade leading past the spectacular carpet gardens. A short ride from Beachy Head and the South Downs, there are an abundance of lovely walks. Pevensey Castle and Normans Bay are in the vicinity and there are many places of interest locally. Other attractions include, Sovereign Harbour Marina, which has a wide selection of resturantsand bars. The Sovereign Centre swimming pool, Fort Fun and Treasure Island are nearby for the children.
Picture of Ebor Lodge, Eastbourne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 11 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A gem of a place
What a find. A small guest house, smartly decorated and run by friendly couple. The room was clean and full of nice touches, cupcakes, biscuits etc. The bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was of a high standard and plentiful. Although it was a bit of a walk from where I was working, it wasn't very far from the main promanarde. My only regret is I only stayed one night. Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
S Brown

From Dagenham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Recommended
Easy access to seafront, clean room, friendly staff and a good breakfast couldn't really wish for any more. Would definitely use again.

Reviewed by
T Maidens

From Hemel Hempstead, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Splendid
Excellent stay. David, the host, is welcoming and hospitable with a thorough knowledge of the area. The promised sea views were indeed panoramic. Breakfast choice was extensive, cooked breakfasts (including eggs benedict, what a treat) was fresh and delicious, with unlimited cereals, fruits, toast etc. and as many pots of tea or fresh coffee as you could wish for. Our room (no.6) was spacious, comfortable and well equipped. My only quibble (and it's a minor one) is that the bathroom layout makes the bath a bit tricky to use, would be improved I think by addition of a shower.
Ebor Lodge is situated on the promenade about a 15 minute walk from the pier and bandstand. Because it's right on the sea front we were a bit concerned it might be noisy in the evening but it's not, in fact even in the day it's not too busy to keep you from relaxing on the lovely flower filled terrace at the front of the hotel. Wouldn't hesitate to stay there again or to recommend it to friends.

Reviewed by
gina G

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I enjoyed my stay here, the host was welcoming and the room clean and tidy and with all the facilities needed.. With prior notification to the hotel the host catered for my specific dietary needs, which made my stay away from home easier. The bed was very comfortable.

Reviewed by
P Gregory

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An absolute gem
Stayed in room 3. Very spacious. More so than a lot of 4* hotels.
Very clean, lovley and warm, decent size tv, lots of little extras. and despite a busy road, very quiet. The staff are great, very polite, and friendly ( no pan am smiles). The breakfast was very pleasent. Would very much recomend for a weekend away.

Reviewed by
Andrew Berry

From Kingston upon Thames, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Single room is clean, bright and adequate for my needs as I did not need to shower. All facilities as described in the brochure were good and there were some homely features much appreciated. My requests were addressed promptly and with good humour.

Reviewed by
John B

From Rugby, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very warm and family friendly guest house
A guest house suitable for the older visitor. The bed was comfortable for one night however, the bathroom was dirty. The sink was filled with dirty water on entry and the floor and behind the toilet seat had pubic hairs and filth. Nevertheless, I think this was an over sight and not a true reflection of the cleanliness of the guest house. The breakfast was lovely.

Reviewed by
L Heffernan

From Dorking, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

short stay
we enjoyed our stay the reason for our stay,we visited mc beans orchids.the food was 1st class ,the landlady was friendly,the room was ok for a short stay,but we wouldnt wanted it for longer,the shower room was small the pressure of the water poorbonus it was on the ground floor.

Reviewed by
m jansen

From Ipswich, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

weekend break
a lovely friendly place with a very good breakfast and central to the promenade

Reviewed by
john h

From Northolt, England
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It was a lovely guest house in the best location possible and the proprietors were such lovely people

Reviewed by
R Fabri

From Croydon, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next