Reviews - The Black Lion Inn


Lewes Road, ,, Halland, BN8 6PN

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (12)

50% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • J Dunsdon

  • May 2015

Great value accommodation.

This is an old building, adapted to serve the present day traveller.

It's doing that well, okay, the rooms are small, (intimate),the floors creek,(old world charm,) the traffic is noisy, (our fault. we are the traffic.) !the shower a tight fit, but it's on suite. It's great. The young lady who met us and served at the bar was delightful. The owner, (I presume, ) was very helpful and made us feel very welcome, he served a fantastic breakfast with great courtesy. We ate in the bar on arrival,and the food was delicious . We enjoyed our overnight stay and consider we had very good value. Thank you, Black Lion. John, Jane.

  • C Quinney

  • May 2015


Very small room and shower room unable o room much in the shower The wash basin was tiny no toilet roll holder The hot water was dangerously hot Breakfast was good and service

  • Stuart B

  • October 2014

An excellent choice for us as we had our little dog with us and during the night it was possible to take her out via the fire exit and return with the aid of a code this worked really well.

We ate in the restaurant one night and the food was very good I can recommend the chili but be warned the portions are large, and the cheese board was wonderful value too many thanks Red Lion we will be back. JM Barnes

  • Guy W

  • September 2014

Cheap and nasty

The hotel could have done with a clean and some of the fittings needed replacing.

When I arrived no one could find the room key. When I did get it my sink a huge hole in it which had been filled with newspaper and filler. The bed wasn't that big and there was the constant noise from the A22. There was also the noise of someone snoring in the room opposite. The only saving grace was the girl behind the bar who was helpful and attentive and the cooked breakfast in the morning. The main reason I stayed here was that it was under £50. per night. I don't think I'll go back though.

  • Nigel P

  • September 2014

Good location

  • A Roberts

  • August 2014

Nice cosy country pub

Nice cosy country pub with character.

Room was clean and very nice comfortable bed. Just bad breakfast which was very good.

  • Catherine Mathew

  • August 2014


Breakfast lacked cereal and fruit juice as an option.

The bacon and eggs come piece meal. Not at the same time. They were nicely cooked though.

  • P Geoghegan

  • July 2014


A disgraceful experience having to wait over 45 minutes for breakfast with no apology forthcoming, until I challenged the owner.

Basically a pub no more.

  • Theresa B

  • July 2014

Everywhere else was full!

Having checked in at about 4pm, I was shown to my room.

It was compact, but clean and sufficient. There was a wardrobe and hangers, a kettle that could be squeezed onto the bedside table, 2 tiny bars of soap and shampoo. The largest towel was the size of a tea towel. I went down to order dinner in the bar at 6.45pm. I ordered steak & ale pie with chips and veg and onion gravy. When it arrived, the gravy contained dozens of small onions and mushrooms, which were not mentioned on the menu. I picked them all out as I cannot eat them. The 'chips' were matchstick fries that were undercooked. I have eaten better in a well known drive through. When I began to eat the pie I discovered that it was sat on the piece of metal from the bottom of its flan case.... the base pastry being completely raw!!. I asked for it to be taken away, and ordered a cheese and pickle sandwich. The explanation that I was offered was that the chef's best friend had conmmtted suicide the day before!. (I really did not need to know this). The sandwich arrived with a stack of 'fat sodden' onion rings that I did not want. I was charged £5.95 for this dubious pleasure.

I was asked what time I wanted breakfast. I said 7.30am as I needed to be at a meeting just up the road by 8am and this was the earliest that they offered breakfast. The only access to the rooms after dinner was via the rear fire escape. At 7,20 in the morning I took my case to my car and tried to check out, but I could not access the bar or kitchen areas. There were no staff around and everwhere was locked up. It was clear that I would not get breakfast in time to make my meeting by 8am, so I left my key in the room and went to have breakfast at the hotel that was to be the venue for my meeting.

  • John F

  • July 2014

ok for a brief stay