No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Black Lion Inn

3AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
Lewes Road, Halland, , Lewes, BN8 6PN
See us soon on Channel 4 program "Four in a Bed" Series 5 starting on Monday 30 September 2013 @ 5.oopm Our program is Monday 21 October, Ch4 @ 5.00pm Situated on the A22 between Eastbourne and Uckfield, The Black Lion Inn at Halland has a lot to offer.This Inn has a traditional bar, bed and breakfast facilities and an adjoining restaurant with a capacity for 50 diners, available for lunches,evening meals and private functions. The menu incorporates firm favourites such as fish & chips, and homemade burgers, as well as chef's specials which include ; homemade steak & ale pie; and slow roasted belly of pork served on a bed of apple & stilton mash. All produce is is sourced locally with the minor exception of their delicious green lipped mussels, which are available as either a starter or main course, and on Sundays, this is the place to enjoy the great British Roast. Proprietor Nigel Fright became the Landlord just 4 years ago and has since introduced a variety of ventures to delight both his locals and new clientelle. curry nights, Quiz Nights, and our newly opened childrens play area. Nigel's aim is to host assorted entertainments to suit all ages. For those not wanting to miss out on the fun, updates of forthcoming events can be found on the Pubs Facebook site.With all the right ingredients in place, The Black Lion is guaranteed to Roar with success. The Black Lion's accommodation was given a complete facelift, with all rooms tastefully decorated to different schemes, with Flat Screen Freeview Tv's and the facilities you would expect. We try to give whatever breakfast the clients would like and are happy to accept just 1 day bookings. We have 2 car parks, 1 at each end where your car can be safely left.
Picture of The Black Lion Inn, Lewes at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 13 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
46% recommended this accommodation to a friend 46% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Service
A disgraceful experience having to wait over 45 minutes for breakfast with no apology forthcoming, until I challenged the owner. Basically a pub no more.

Reviewed by
P Geoghegan

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Everywhere else was full!
Having checked in at about 4pm, I was shown to my room. It was compact, but clean and sufficient. There was a wardrobe and hangers, a kettle that could be squeezed onto the bedside table, 2 tiny bars of soap and shampoo. The largest towel was the size of a tea towel! I went down to order dinner in the bar at 6.45pm. I ordered steak & ale pie with chips and veg and onion gravy. When it arrived, the gravy contained dozens of small onions and mushrooms, which were not mentioned on the menu. I picked them all out as I cannot eat them. The 'chips' were matchstick fries that were undercooked. I have eaten better in a well known drive through. When I began to eat the pie I discovered that it was sat on the piece of metal from the bottom of its flan case.... the base pastry being completely raw!!! I asked for it to be taken away, and ordered a cheese and pickle sandwich. The explanation that I was offered was that the chef's best friend had conmmtted suicide the day before!! (I really did not need to know this). The sandwich arrived with a stack of 'fat sodden' onion rings that I did not want. I was charged £5.95 for this dubious pleasure.
I was asked what time I wanted breakfast. I said 7.30am as I needed to be at a meeting just up the road by 8am and this was the earliest that they offered breakfast. The only access to the rooms after dinner was via the rear fire escape. At 7,20 in the morning I took my case to my car and tried to check out, but I could not access the bar or kitchen areas. There were no staff around and everwhere was locked up. It was clear that I would not get breakfast in time to make my meeting by 8am, so I left my key in the room and went to have breakfast at the hotel that was to be the venue for my meeting.

Reviewed by
Theresa B

From Bexhill on Sea, Regno Unito
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ok for a brief stay

Reviewed by
John F

From Aylesbury, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Breakfast
Breakfast was very poor. No cereals, no juices. When I asked for some orange juice I was given orange squash! Cooked breakfast was very greasy - not pleasant at all. The toast came already buttered |(which I hate) and no offer of marmalade or jams. Coffee was ok but no refill offered and I gave up on waiting for the opportunity to make a request.

Reviewed by
S Milsom

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short Break
The Pub was quite old and quaint. The staff were very friendly. The surroundings were comfortable.

Reviewed by
jane sampson

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The black lion was friendly and clean, this is a pub and not a hotel, so you have to understand this the. Breakfast was really good and plentiful.
the price is very good value.

Reviewed by
margaret Dorringtonm

From Clacton on Sea, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Stay
perfect and quirky, lovely little pub with a very cosy room, was just what we needed before the madness of my sister's wedding day the following day :) Thank you xx

Reviewed by
L Hewitt

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

convenient for Glyndebourne
Having been promised a room ready at 2.30pm, it hadn't been touched when we arrived at 3pm.. Apologies and clean towels provided so we could change to go out and on our return that evening a complimentary bottle of wine was waiting - nice touch. The small room had a tiny window onto the road and it was the hottest night of the year, added to which a hot pipe ran under the floorboards, but when this was pointed out the manager found a fan for our room - it would have been unbearable without. Breakfast was basic, but for the price we hardly expected a full Engish spread. Management and attitude very pleasant.

Reviewed by
CK C

From Richmond, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review
none to be entered

Reviewed by
S Rossetti

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Black Lion
Excellent service and good food. Accomodation was clean and ideal for a small family. Great breakfast.

Reviewed by
K Wardle

From Clitheroe, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next