Reviews - The Iron Duke


3 Waterloo Street, ,, Brighton, BN3 1AQ

Price From 82.96 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (51)

84% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Paul F

  • April 2014

A nice old pub

We were looking or a reasonably priced B&B for an overnight stay, during a flying visit and the Iron Duke fitted the bill very nicely.

One of the older buildings you might find to stay in, it provided what we needed, with a nice little en-suite, TV & coffee/tea making facilities.

Staff were friendly and helpful, and a continental breakfast was available in the morning. Parking was available with a local resident's parking permit which cost £8, and proved to be very convenient.

  • Rachel S

  • April 2014

Great value, great location

Great value for money, this historic pub has a lot of character and is spitting distance from a huge pebble beach.

Free continental breakfast was an added bonus. Room and bedding was perfectly clean and light. Carpet and door a little worn, shared toilets and showers were clean but basic. TV in room and free wifi downstairs. Friendly service. This would suit a single traveller, or friends who want a break in Brighton/Hove. Great location, and lots of cheap eating places and interesting shops nearby- but why leave when a pub and good grub downstairs?. On main and frequent bus routes to town, station and universities. There was a bit of noise off the stairs, so not good for young children (being a pub) or anyone easily disturbed by noise. But if you want to stay in a pub you have to expect that. Recommended.

  • Emily B

  • March 2014

Lovely mini break

Had a warm welcome from the bar staff.

He carried our bags up two floors to our room while we had a drink in the bar

Lovely room. Sea view to the right & gorgeous church opposite.

Clean room & bathroom & v comfy bed.

Large tv. We didn't use it but still nice to have it

No noise from other guests at all.

Contintintal breakfast good & nice that it was thrown in without extra charge.

A stones throw from the beach. Or even a pebbles throw.

Highly recommended.

  • N Brooks

  • February 2014

One night in Brighton

The hotel/pub was conveniently situated near the sea, and also walking distance to main shopping street.

Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Mark B

  • February 2014

Exactly what I expected...

and I dont mean that in a bad way.

For the price I paid the hotel was exactly how I imagined it, not the best but definitely not the worst.

  • Katie R

  • December 2013


Arrived and receptionist was lovley..

Big spacious rooms right on the sea front and a short walk in to town.. Reasonable price I would stay here again

  • J Martin

  • December 2013

Good location just off the sea front,easy walk into the lanes in the evening,nice atmosphere and friendly staff.There was a problem with the toilet when we arrived but this was sorted out quickly enough and the owner bought us a drink in the bar to cover the inconveniance.

  • David T

  • November 2013

Quality B&B with good pub

A charming bloke took my partners bag to the room, he was polite, curtious and remembered our drinks order making us both feel very welcome.

Breakfast is self service and the table is cleared at 9am. The room was clean and had plenty of space. The toilet makes a bit of a noise when flushed, but soon stops. My partner and I really enjoyed our stay, the hotel is quiet at night and a 20min walk from the station.

  • c drake

  • October 2013

Nice place to stay, clean throughout. I stayed in the single rooms with shared bathroom.

Noisy next door with the thin walls.

A 50p charge of all card purchases is a joke.