No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Iron Duke

3Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
3 Waterloo Street, , , Brighton, BN3 1AQ
Built in 1828, The Iron Duke is proud to be the oldest running pub and guesthouse in the Brunswick Area. Brunswick Town (as this neighbourhood is called) is one of the most historically preserved Georgian planned communities in the South of England, and arguably the nicest neighbourhood in the Brighton & Hove area. The best part of the Iron Duke is its location. Just moments from the beach, the blue skies and sea air, offer a gentle breeze from the moment you step outside. If you are looking for a great, comfortable guest house with clean rooms, friendly staff, a little bit of history and walking distance to the beach we are the place for you! We also house The Dukebox Theatre, a 40 seat micro theatre which has shows all year round. We serve food 7 days a week, Thai Monday to Saturday, and Roasts on Sunday. Hotel guests receive a 10% discount on food. SORRY NO STAG/HEN PARTIES OR GROUPS OF 6 OR MORE GUESTS. ANY BOOKINGS FOUND TO BE THE SAME GROUP ON ARRIVAL WILL BE REFUSED.
Picture of The Iron Duke, Brighton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 55 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

superduper
Was in phone contact and the gentleman I spoke to was very friendly and helpful - esp. regarding check-in time as I was unsure when I was arriving. The room was spacious and bright, the beds comfy and there were towels provided. The shared toilets and shower were clean. Had a full veggie brekkie which was yum & filling. It's obviously a lived in building, it's got character (which I personally prefer) but looked quite recently refurbed. Have absolutely nothing to criticise; will surely return! Thank you!

Reviewed by
anja c

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good place to stay
It was inexpensive (for Central Brighton on week-end in June) and quite acceptable for the price. The staff were friendly and helpful, although I was surprised the breakfast disappeared very promptly at 10am. Parking anywhere near the sea front in Brighton is always difficult (and expensive), but the hotel staff we as helpful as possible,

Reviewed by
Roger W

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Large airy room, good value
Big room, shows its age but comfortable. Very decent Thai food from the bar.
Generous continental breakfast.

Reviewed by
C Eason

From Farnham, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Value
Friendly staff, excellent location right on the sea front, great value for price.

Reviewed by
R Dexter

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean and Basic
Hotel was in a great location. It was clean but basic. I did not spend a lot of time in the hotel but the bed was comfortable whic is always a plus... At first I wasnt sure about the shared bathroom facilities but they were spotless.

Reviewed by
J Millar

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Graet staff,good booze and a good place to stay as not to far from the town

Reviewed by
dave hodges

From Hertford, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Football visit
Very friendly with a pub on tap!

Reviewed by
JOHN ALAN WOODS

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ok
Basic & dated room with clean bed linen, lock on room door didn't work. Ok for a one beer filled nights stay, bar girl was friendly though.

Reviewed by
Steve B

From UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money in a quirky historic pub in a great location
Although use of shared toilet facilities and room basic, a lovely quiet warm and very comfortable room with easy access to seafront. Didn't get chance to try breakfast but looked appetising as did the evening meals and entertainment.

Reviewed by
Heidi L

From Bristol, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location, nice staff, good size room but umcomfy bed.

Reviewed by
Kasia N

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in October 2012

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next