Reviews - The Iron Duke


3 Waterloo Street, ,, Brighton, BN3 1AQ

Price From 72.69 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (53)

83% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Christine M

  • July 2014

Accomadation very poor

There was two holes in the floor which were covered by carpet, my granddaughters foot went down in one.

Also the hot tap turned 45 degrees be for coming on and the shower was dirty in room 2. The toilet was a shared one on the landing which had a hole in the ceiling and in the all and was also dirty.

We were moved to room 5 this was a bit better the shower when turned on not only came out the head but also through a hole in the hose. Would I stay there again. No I would not

  • Paul T

  • July 2014

Enjoyable Stay

Hotel fine however two other single male residents noisy throughout the night

  • Mike B

  • July 2014

You get what you pay for and it's basically fine.

Booked a 3 person room with shared toilet (en suite shower).

Yes it needs a little TLC/updating but for the money ticked all the boxes. Comfy beds, good shower. Nice location (a bit of a hike to town centre but not too far). Manager was great and allowed us to get our bags to him the day before our stay and arranged bike storage in his cellar. Would definitely use again.

  • Annabelle R

  • July 2014

We booked online and decided to go budget since we were spending 3 nights in Brighton, it was exactly what we needed as we only wanted a bed due to being out and about most of the days...

At booking neither of us realised that we didn't have an ensuite (our mistake), the room was also hot at night and could have done with a fan - but it was not the end of the world. On the last night we decided to upgrade the room for a mere £10, it was superb, excellent view, big windows, comfy double bed and beautiful ensuite. Location was excellent. Thank you

  • Kerry M

  • July 2014

The Iron Duke

The staff that work here are really nice except for the female barmaid who was rude and unfriendly.

The room was clean and spacious and the location was seconds away from the beach. It was nice and cheap so definitely value for money!

  • J Skeens

  • June 2014

Enjoyed our stay.

Staff pleasant and helpful and only a short walk from the boardwalk.

Room was quite big and bed comfortable to sleep in. Would stay again.


  • June 2014

Decent overnight stay. Perfect for an inexpensive night out in Brighton.

Apart from the location being a little far (about 15 minutes walk) from Brighton Pier, the accomodation, the staff and the people were lovely.

Definately stay again

  • GARY C

  • May 2014

cosy good value great location

groovy place - has a theatre at the back -really convenient location and nice beers.

Really helpful staff

  • K BUSA

  • May 2014


Nice hotel.

My friend and I didn't find the beds comfortalbe though and I have a stiff neck

  • Chris B

  • May 2014

Good & Clean

Good, reasonable and clean.

Old building simple rooms a little worn in places.