No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Iron Duke

3Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
3 Waterloo Street, , , Brighton, BN3 1AQ
Built in 1828, The Iron Duke is proud to be the oldest running pub and guesthouse in the Brunswick Area. Brunswick Town (as this neighbourhood is called) is one of the most historically preserved Georgian planned communities in the South of England, and arguably the nicest neighbourhood in the Brighton & Hove area.

The best part of the Iron Duke is its location. Just moments from the beach, the blue skies and sea air, offer a gentle breeze from the moment you step outside. If you are looking for a great, comfortable guest house with clean rooms, friendly staff, a little bit of history and walking distance to the beach we are the place for you! We also house The Dukebox Theatre, a 40 seat micro theatre which has shows all year round. We serve food 7 days a week including Roasts on Sunday.

SORRY NO STAG/HEN PARTIES OR GROUPS OF 6 OR MORE GUESTS. ANY BOOKINGS FOUND TO BE THE SAME GROUP ON ARRIVAL WILL BE REFUSED.
Picture of The Iron Duke, Brighton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 57 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Exactly what I expected...
and I dont mean that in a bad way.
For the price I paid the hotel was exactly how I imagined it, not the best but definitely not the worst.

Reviewed by
Mark B

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice
Arrived and receptionist was lovley.. Big spacious rooms right on the sea front and a short walk in to town.. Reasonable price I would stay here again

Reviewed by
Katie R

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location just off the sea front,easy walk into the lanes in the evening,nice atmosphere and friendly staff.There was a problem with the toilet when we arrived but this was sorted out quickly enough and the owner bought us a drink in the bar to cover the inconveniance.

Reviewed by
J Martin

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quality B&B with good pub
A charming bloke took my partners bag to the room, he was polite, curtious and remembered our drinks order making us both feel very welcome.
Breakfast is self service and the table is cleared at 9am.
The room was clean and had plenty of space. The toilet makes a bit of a noise when flushed, but soon stops.
My partner and I really enjoyed our stay, the hotel is quiet at night and a 20min walk from the station.

Reviewed by
David T

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place to stay, clean throughout. I stayed in the single rooms with shared bathroom.
Noisy next door with the thin walls. A 50p charge of all card purchases is a joke!

Reviewed by
c drake

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

OUR STAY
Very disappointed that there was "no bread left" for breakfast, and two rolls and a couple of yoghurts between the guests, very poorly organised.

Reviewed by
richard m

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good place to stay.
Lovely hotel, prime location to beach, really good prices and we were able to check in about 1hr early.
Would definitely recommend staying here.

Reviewed by
Kate M

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay thank you so much would stay again for sure!
Had a pleasant stay, the staff were very helpful! The bar was good and the rooms were huge and very clean! If I visited Brighton again I would try and stay here thanks again!

Reviewed by
D Horsfall

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

room with a bit of a view
We had a 2 day micro holiday in Brighton and needed to book a night's stay. The Iron Duke came up trumps. Large room with a glimpse of the sea, all we needed as a base for seeing the sea and the city.

Reviewed by
r baxter

From Leigh on Sea, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel
The hotel was good but one of the beds was broken badly

Reviewed by
Ryan Newey

From Hertford, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next