Reviews - The Iron Duke

3

3 Waterloo Street, ,, Brighton, BN3 1AQ

Price From 97.12 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (50)

86% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • GARY C

  • May 2014

cosy good value great location

groovy place - has a theatre at the back -really convenient location and nice beers.

Really helpful staff

  • K BUSA

  • May 2014

nice

Nice hotel.

My friend and I didn't find the beds comfortalbe though and I have a stiff neck

  • Chris B

  • May 2014

Good & Clean

Good, reasonable and clean.

Old building simple rooms a little worn in places.

  • Alex D

  • May 2014

Exactly what we needed

I needed a place to stay while I visited some friends down in Brighton.

A friend and I shared a twin room which was great for us. It was close to everywhere we wanted to go in Brighton. The shared facilities were adequate and really clean. Staff that greeted me were really pleasant and helpful.

  • Mary I

  • May 2014

Brilliant location, smashing pub

Almost on the seafront just yards from Brighton.

Really good location. Friendly staff. Great pub, good food and a good selection of beer and wine. Lively but not rowdy. The room was a budget one with no ensuite. It was small but clean with everything we needed for a 2 night stay and the toilet and shower close by. Breakfast was a bit of a disappointment, continental style but not continental quality.

  • C Phimister

  • May 2014

Iron Duke 4****

Beautiful view from the bedroom with the sea in our bedroom (room 3).

Nice hot shower. Worth the money as there is free breakfast and a cleaner every morning. Very comfortable beds and pillows. However one of the rooms(room 10) had to use a shared toilet and shower which was a let down. Apart from that, it was a lovely stay.

  • T Holmes

  • April 2014

The Iron Duke

The Iron Duke was a lovely little B&B to stay in and the loacation was fantastic, literally a stones throw away from the beach, the staff were absolutley lovely and left us a complimentary bottle of bubbly in our room as it was our anniversary.

They even allowed us to get a drink from the bar when we arrived which hadnt opened yet. The continental breakfast which was free was very nice too. Rooms were very clean. and spacious. The only thing that put a dampner on our experience was the bed was extremely uncomfortable but apart from that we couldnt fault it.

  • Paul F

  • April 2014

A nice old pub

We were looking or a reasonably priced B&B for an overnight stay, during a flying visit and the Iron Duke fitted the bill very nicely.

One of the older buildings you might find to stay in, it provided what we needed, with a nice little en-suite, TV & coffee/tea making facilities.

Staff were friendly and helpful, and a continental breakfast was available in the morning. Parking was available with a local resident's parking permit which cost £8, and proved to be very convenient.

  • Rachel S

  • April 2014

Great value, great location

Great value for money, this historic pub has a lot of character and is spitting distance from a huge pebble beach.

Free continental breakfast was an added bonus. Room and bedding was perfectly clean and light. Carpet and door a little worn, shared toilets and showers were clean but basic. TV in room and free wifi downstairs. Friendly service. This would suit a single traveller, or friends who want a break in Brighton/Hove. Great location, and lots of cheap eating places and interesting shops nearby- but why leave when a pub and good grub downstairs?. On main and frequent bus routes to town, station and universities. There was a bit of noise off the stairs, so not good for young children (being a pub) or anyone easily disturbed by noise. But if you want to stay in a pub you have to expect that. Recommended.

  • Emily B

  • March 2014

Lovely mini break

Had a warm welcome from the bar staff.

He carried our bags up two floors to our room while we had a drink in the bar

Lovely room. Sea view to the right & gorgeous church opposite.

Clean room & bathroom & v comfy bed.

Large tv. We didn't use it but still nice to have it

No noise from other guests at all.

Contintintal breakfast good & nice that it was thrown in without extra charge.

A stones throw from the beach. Or even a pebbles throw.

Highly recommended.