No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Castle Inn Hotel

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
The Street , Bramber , , Steyning, BN44 3WE
Set in rural Sussex, in the shadow of the South Downs, this exceptional family run free house is a joy to behold. In Bramber village (Best kept village in South East England multiple years) The Castle Inn Hotel sits in magnificent splendour. The front of the Inn is bathed in glorious summer hanging baskets, meticulously cared for. To the rear is an English garden that, quite literally, takes your breath away. Packed with almost every plant imaginable for a garden there are a few surprises in store, such as the Strawberry and Tomato plants that seemingly go unnoticed until their juicy red fruit appears. Tranquillity best describes the atmosphere as you sit back and relax, only to be replaced by awe and wonder as Mr. and Mrs. Swan glide effortlessly passed on the stream, not five feet away, with their half a dozen signets. Inside the Inn there is "Olde Worlde" furnishing, and an exquisitely kept bar. Boasting some very fine ales and an even more impressive wine list there is something to keep everybody happy, from the connoisseur to the casual drinker. The Landlord keeps a perfect cellar which is reflected by the success the family have had in a twenty-something year, three pub career. Steyning is a small town and, with the South Downs landscape and charming local architecture as a stunning backdrop, it is certainly one of the most picturesque in Sussex. The town has a cheerful, vibrant community, a host of interesting shops, the award-winning Cobblestone walk and country pubs and fine restaurants aplenty. Steyning is also the perfect place to explore the Downs, the Weald of central Sussex and the Adur Valley as well the famous Chanctonbury Ring, the Iron Age hill fort at Cissbury Ring and the many lanes and footpaths that link the Downs, river and hamlets with the area’s ancient churches and inns
Picture of The Castle Inn Hotel, Steyning at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 52 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well Done Castle Inn
This place is a near to perfect as a pub based B&B can be. Nice spotlessly clean room. Lots of tea and coffee. Full size kettle. Good shower. Strong wifi signal. Good parking. AND THE FOOD.....WOW. Even the breakfast was lovely, scrambled eggs and smoked salmon. Will be back soon hopefully.

Reviewed by
G Russell

From Chesterfield, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bank holiday sunday
This had very good reviews, our room was very clean only minor niggles got a king size bed but it was two beds pushed together and one was slightly dipped to one side and not good sleeping on the join I did expect a double bed as I booked for it, had a nice new shower but are having problems with the water pressure shame.. Wanted to eat in resturant but was sold out of several dishes due to the bank holiday so had a meal in the Indian next door.Just a bit unlucky that weekend.

Reviewed by
John B

From Broxbourne, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely country setting
Bramber is a beautiful village and the staff were excellent at the Castle Inn. We'd definitely recommend it to friends.
One minor comment: the (automatic) bathroom light came on rather easily even when we were a little outside the bathroom, and took a long time to go off after leaving - slightly irritating in the night.

Reviewed by
Richard M

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I stayed at the hotel for 3 nights last week, I have room 1 which although was clear and comfortable was also very noisy, below me were the kichens and pool room so the noise level was quite high until around 2am, its a lovely hotel set in a very pretty village and all the staff were great. The room I stayed in was one of their budget rooms and I was aware of this when booking, but generally I would stay there again but avoid rooms 1and 2, as I said though nice hotel and great atmosphere, about 15 mins drive from worthing and Shoreham sea fronts

Reviewed by
M Bott

From , UK
Who stayed in August 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place
I stayed recently at the Castle for 1 night on a business trip. The room rate is very good and the quality/cleanliness of the room was excellent. My disappointment was only with the food which was just ok and wasn't, in my opinion, up to the standard of the rest of the premises. I had a sirloin steak which was cooked well and properly rested but served with a side salad that had been dressed a number of hours previously and also came with 10 (yes 10) tomatoes on the vine. I think the chef is good but needs to purely work on his presentation which could take this hostelry to another level. The reason the service was marked down was that one of the staff behind the bar was obviously new but had had insufficient training before being let loose on the public. She was very nice and apologetic but a couple of hours extra training would have achieved a much higher rating. I would stay here again and would also recommend to other visitors.

Reviewed by
Andy D

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money
Lovely room and we'll decorated . Good overall stay with pleasant surrounding area

Reviewed by
Stephen Leonard

From Bridgwater, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short stay
The Hotel is very popular for walkers off all ages. There are lovely walks round Bramber then you can go and visit Steyning well worth it. Accomodation is very clean and tidy but our bathroom was seperate from room, just across the hallway, no problem on a short stay. We eat in the bar in the evening and the food was very enjoyable as was the beer.

Reviewed by
B Restell

From Stanford le Hope, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Oasis in a storm
We were returning from Rome and had a disastrous BA experience with flights cancelled and massive delays.We phoned the hotel updating them on our delayed arrival and they were wonderful. We eventually arrived at 1am next morning( we were scheduled to arrive at 4pm.) The hosts were fantastic and shepherded us to our room, where we had a great sleep and woke to a wonderful breakfast. Truly a client focused business.

Reviewed by
D Murphy

From Torpoint, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good, reasonable rates pub/hotel in Bramber, nr Steyning.
Nice, traditional place to stay, good breakfast & service. A wonderful lady Debbie, who works at the Castle Inn was a really knowledgeable person who recommended places nearby to visit, told us some great history about the hotel - an absolute fount of information! Just what you need when staying somewhere new. Could even tell us how to pronounce local names of places....altogether an enjoyable, peaceful stopover & all the staff were courteous, beautifully mannered, smart & polite. Would recommend the Castle Inn to anyone...would definitely stay there again.

Reviewed by
S Mannion

From Ruislip, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Characterful and very pleasant
Very lovely and characterful pub/hotel, only marred by a tepid shower in the room. When reported in the morning the management seemed genuinely to want to resolve it for the next guest!

Reviewed by
Peter H

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next