No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Castle Inn Hotel

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
The Street , Bramber , , Steyning , BN44 3WE
Set in rural Sussex, in the shadow of the South Downs, this exceptional family run free house is a joy to behold. In Bramber village (Best kept village in South East England multiple years) The Castle Inn Hotel sits in magnificent splendour. The front of the Inn is bathed in glorious summer hanging baskets, meticulously cared for. To the rear is an English garden that, quite literally, takes your breath away. Packed with almost every plant imaginable for a garden there are a few surprises in store, such as the Strawberry and Tomato plants that seemingly go unnoticed until their juicy red fruit appears. Tranquillity best describes the atmosphere as you sit back and relax, only to be replaced by awe and wonder as Mr. and Mrs. Swan glide effortlessly passed on the stream, not five feet away, with their half a dozen signets. Inside the Inn there is "Olde Worlde" furnishing, and an exquisitely kept bar. Boasting some very fine ales and an even more impressive wine list there is something to keep everybody happy, from the connoisseur to the casual drinker. The Landlord keeps a perfect cellar which is reflected by the success the family have had in a twenty-something year, three pub career. Steyning is a small town and, with the South Downs landscape and charming local architecture as a stunning backdrop, it is certainly one of the most picturesque in Sussex. The town has a cheerful, vibrant community, a host of interesting shops, the award-winning Cobblestone walk and country pubs and fine restaurants aplenty. Steyning is also the perfect place to explore the Downs, the Weald of central Sussex and the Adur Valley as well the famous Chanctonbury Ring, the Iron Age hill fort at Cissbury Ring and the many lanes and footpaths that link the Downs, river and hamlets with the area’s ancient churches and inns
Picture of The Castle Inn Hotel, Steyning  at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 56 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant, friendly hotel in lovely village. Excellent food at breakfast and evening meal.

Reviewed by
P Beer

From Epsom, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First impression of room was very good - quaint and cosy. I marked it down on the chart because the extractor fan in the tiny en suite didn't work and some of the light bulbs needed replacing. Also, when you let water out of the hand basin, waste came up through the shower plughole.
Bed very comfortable.
Staff very friendly and helpful.
Fantastic food.

Reviewed by
M Carpenter

From Taunton, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff friendley and bar & garden areas fine. The room was something from the 70's/80's. Woodchip & peeling boarders cracks in the walls & ceiling, carpet tatty. Having said that it had been cleaned the best it could be. Food in the evening was at very best average I didn't complain but the table next to me did and got a full refund. Cetainly not worth £70 more like £35 -£40.

Reviewed by
Steve M

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brillant
Staff very pleasant and welcoming, could not fault it at all.

Reviewed by
Elizabeth L

From Hereford, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great escape in a rural spot
great service, clean and well presented room with good standard of food. Highly recommend!!

Reviewed by
Martyn King

From Stonehouse, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly Pub
A very pleasant stay, friendly staff, good service and a good price.

Reviewed by
John C

From Manningtree, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Hotel, nothing at all to complain about... The most beautiful village we have ever seen in the U.K.

Reviewed by
carol rossiter

From Canvey Island, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brief stay
We booked this to be reasonably near Henfield for a 50th Anniversary and it proved to be excellent choice. Friendly, excellent breakfast, clean and very accommodating. Would stay again.

Reviewed by
F Taylor

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful Character Building in the quaintest of Villages 5* Service Great Food and Friendly Staff
When it comes to staying away for work I am fussy. I want a good clean room, value for money, great food and friendly staff. This is the complete package. I am not saying this is the best quality hotel I have ever Stayed in but I would rather spend my money staying at the Castle Inn, which has character, Fantastic food (and I am really fussy on my food also Monday nights is Thai night, the best Thai food I have ever eaten), Lovely character pub downstairs which I enjoyed spending the whole evening in, friendly and helpful staff . Did I like. I booked up again already for later this month.

Reviewed by
Raymond L

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic place to stay beautiful old building and gorgeous village location
I try and try to book this place on every opportunity of staying over. Monday nights is Thai night and the food is lovely.

Reviewed by
R Law

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next