No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Castle Inn Hotel

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
The Street , Bramber , , Steyning, BN44 3WE
Set in rural Sussex, in the shadow of the South Downs, this exceptional family run free house is a joy to behold. In Bramber village (Best kept village in South East England multiple years) The Castle Inn Hotel sits in magnificent splendour. The front of the Inn is bathed in glorious summer hanging baskets, meticulously cared for. To the rear is an English garden that, quite literally, takes your breath away. Packed with almost every plant imaginable for a garden there are a few surprises in store, such as the Strawberry and Tomato plants that seemingly go unnoticed until their juicy red fruit appears. Tranquillity best describes the atmosphere as you sit back and relax, only to be replaced by awe and wonder as Mr. and Mrs. Swan glide effortlessly passed on the stream, not five feet away, with their half a dozen signets. Inside the Inn there is "Olde Worlde" furnishing, and an exquisitely kept bar. Boasting some very fine ales and an even more impressive wine list there is something to keep everybody happy, from the connoisseur to the casual drinker. The Landlord keeps a perfect cellar which is reflected by the success the family have had in a twenty-something year, three pub career. Steyning is a small town and, with the South Downs landscape and charming local architecture as a stunning backdrop, it is certainly one of the most picturesque in Sussex. The town has a cheerful, vibrant community, a host of interesting shops, the award-winning Cobblestone walk and country pubs and fine restaurants aplenty. Steyning is also the perfect place to explore the Downs, the Weald of central Sussex and the Adur Valley as well the famous Chanctonbury Ring, the Iron Age hill fort at Cissbury Ring and the many lanes and footpaths that link the Downs, river and hamlets with the area’s ancient churches and inns
Picture of The Castle Inn Hotel, Steyning at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 51 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel with character in an attractive small village.
Stayed for one night in a basic room. Had most things and good value. Unexpectedly needed to stay a second night and had a larger room. Friendly and attentive staff. Really enjoyed the food. Has some theme nights. Will be staying here when in the area again.

Reviewed by
Robert B

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Charming coastline location and setting
great service, clean and well presented room with good standard of food. Highly recommend!!

Reviewed by
Martyn King

From Stonehouse, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

get what you pay for
the actual room that we booked was very good but unfortunately the customer service was poor to say the least , the bar was run by two teenage people man/woman who were more interested in playing on their phones than anything else and unfortunately the lady of eastern european origin didnt appear to either speak or understand english , also we were awoken at 6.10am by sumone upstairs getting up i think to do the breakfast and sounded like a herd of elephants having a rather loud party ! very disappointing

Reviewed by
michael j

From Ventnor, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wedding Weekend
The room overal was very good but my bathroom wasnt in great condition as by the toilet there was what looked like a recently filled hole. there was a concrete square just behind the top of the toilet. The shower had a door with a fold in the middle which made getting in and out awkward.
The breakfast had a fair bit of choice but i wasnt keen on the whole grilled tomato plonked on the plate but that really isnt a major concern. the rest of it was good. and as it was built into the price of the room it was good value for money

Reviewed by
p cole

From Hayes, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely hotel in beautiful area
Although I boked this hotel for business it was a real delight. Working in Brighton, this hotel was not too far and offered great vfm and had free onsite parking. A delightful village with Castle and the nearby town of Steyning is a delight to walk around.

Reviewed by
A Jolliffe

From Rochester, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Returning Customer
As I travel around the country I am always looking for places that offer good value. I am now happy to stay at The Castle whenever I visit the South Coast

Reviewed by
Martin D

From Gillingham, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An excllent night's stay - a friendly welcome and very comfortable room.

Reviewed by
A Horn

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely rural escape
great service, clean and well presented room with good standard of food. Highly recommend!!

Reviewed by
Martyn King

From Stonehouse, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A nice stay but not a nice welcome
I had booked a family room described as a large room with plenty of natural light, a king size bed and a single bed, when we arrived we were shown to an average sized twin room and when i mentioned that it was not the room i booked, was told that there was nothing they could do as the hotel was full and perhaps laterooms had made a mistake. Upon checking their paperwork the hotel found they had sold me a family room 4 months earlier, but as the hotel was full they couldnt change it. The manager was then phoned and they agreed to remake the bed as a double, which although not what we had been expecting was actually fine. We enjoyed our stay but weremade to feel like a nuisance for not blindly accepting whatever room they had left, dispite our early booking. It would have been nice to have been offered a drink on the house while we were waiting for our room to be changed but no compensation was offered. The room was clean and comfortable with a newly refurbished ensuite shower room. Breakfast was very nice.

Reviewed by
Helen J

From Sevenoaks, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant Stay
The annexe rooms were quiet, but I was surprised that there was no hairdryer. Perhaps i should have read the hotel information more carefully as the evening meals were Thai, which for me was no problem.

Reviewed by
Ann K

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next