No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Castle Inn Hotel

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
The Street , Bramber , , Steyning , BN44 3WE
Set in rural Sussex, in the shadow of the South Downs, this exceptional family run free house is a joy to behold. In Bramber village (Best kept village in South East England multiple years) The Castle Inn Hotel sits in magnificent splendour. The front of the Inn is bathed in glorious summer hanging baskets, meticulously cared for. To the rear is an English garden that, quite literally, takes your breath away. Packed with almost every plant imaginable for a garden there are a few surprises in store, such as the Strawberry and Tomato plants that seemingly go unnoticed until their juicy red fruit appears. Tranquillity best describes the atmosphere as you sit back and relax, only to be replaced by awe and wonder as Mr. and Mrs. Swan glide effortlessly passed on the stream, not five feet away, with their half a dozen signets. Inside the Inn there is "Olde Worlde" furnishing, and an exquisitely kept bar. Boasting some very fine ales and an even more impressive wine list there is something to keep everybody happy, from the connoisseur to the casual drinker. The Landlord keeps a perfect cellar which is reflected by the success the family have had in a twenty-something year, three pub career. Steyning is a small town and, with the South Downs landscape and charming local architecture as a stunning backdrop, it is certainly one of the most picturesque in Sussex. The town has a cheerful, vibrant community, a host of interesting shops, the award-winning Cobblestone walk and country pubs and fine restaurants aplenty. Steyning is also the perfect place to explore the Downs, the Weald of central Sussex and the Adur Valley as well the famous Chanctonbury Ring, the Iron Age hill fort at Cissbury Ring and the many lanes and footpaths that link the Downs, river and hamlets with the area’s ancient churches and inns
Picture of The Castle Inn Hotel, Steyning  at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 58 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect for a getaway
comfortable,clean and pleasant stay evening menu looked great,wished we had eaten there,but a tad expensive.

Reviewed by
M Milburn

From Hove, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb
Very clean and bed was enormous. Staff very helpful and friendly. Certainly stay here again if working in this area.

Reviewed by
s payne

From Dunmow, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money
It is a lovely little hotel above a proper country pub. It is in a listed building and none of the walls or stair cases are straight which adds to the appeal and charm of the place.
The room was well decorated and top level furnishings. Me and my girlfriend were pleasantly surprised for the good value price we got the room for.
We had little dealings with the staff but those who we dealt with where pleasant and helpful. We didn’t eat in the pub. But we did in the Indian restaurant next door, which we can highly recommend.
I certainly would stay there again.

Reviewed by
E Braidwood

From Brighton, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Escape
Lovely clean, friendly hotel with a country village location ideal escape from the hustle & bustle of Brighton.

Reviewed by
A Knox

From Hampton Hill, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Returning customer
Very happy to have found The Castle Hotel, this is the 3rd/4th night that I have spent here whilst working in Chichester (24 miles) away, no problem, each time I have booked the 'Superior Family/Triple - Single Occupancy Breakfast included' and on each occasion have had the same room, very comfortable and good value, one of two better quality rooms which I have occupied along my regular hotel business trips during the last 8 weeks and usually only booked a few days in advance, lovely breakfast with a choice of. The establishment has a good atmosphere and a very good kitchen, Thai night is on Tuesdays...very tasty (Thai chef) and whilst the menu is on the more expensive side there is good reason why, Steyning is a delightful little village and if you fancy an Indian or Chinese then adjacent to the hotel you will find both of these or fish n chips a little further down the high street. Definitely would stay on a leisure trip to!

Reviewed by
J C

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One of those places...
...book your room for more than just a night and enjoy!

Reviewed by
J C

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was a budget room but there is a minimum expectation. The room was cold
The room was cold throughout the first night- no heating or hot water. There was no headboard on the bed and pillows were cold from the wall. There is no comfort in the room or the hotel itself. The proprietor said that he turned off the heat because it was too hot!! - not in our area of the hotel.
I can't believe that this hotel rated 4+ stars with Travel Advisor- it seems unfair on other places .
Breakfast was very good - freshly cooked to order and good choice.

Reviewed by
Jim E

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel with character in an attractive small village.
Stayed for one night in a basic room. Had most things and good value. Unexpectedly needed to stay a second night and had a larger room. Friendly and attentive staff. Really enjoyed the food. Has some theme nights. Will be staying here when in the area again.

Reviewed by
Robert B

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Charming coastline location and setting
great service, clean and well presented room with good standard of food. Highly recommend!!

Reviewed by
Martyn King

From Stonehouse, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

get what you pay for
the actual room that we booked was very good but unfortunately the customer service was poor to say the least , the bar was run by two teenage people man/woman who were more interested in playing on their phones than anything else and unfortunately the lady of eastern european origin didnt appear to either speak or understand english , also we were awoken at 6.10am by sumone upstairs getting up i think to do the breakfast and sounded like a herd of elephants having a rather loud party ! very disappointing

Reviewed by
michael j

From Ventnor, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next