No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Labouring Man

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Old London Road, Coldwaltham, , Pulborough, RH20 1LF
Newly re-furbished it has 5 luxury letting rooms all with flat screen tvs and Wi-Fi hotspots for your business needs. The rooms over look the South Downs and offer a tranquel setting for a over night or short break. Now part of The South Downs National Park. The Open log fire is always lit in the winter months to offer a warm and friendly welcome when you arrive . Home cooked specials, roasts and a good selection of local produce is always available. Goodwood and Fontwell isn't far, and Gatwick is only 30 mins by car . The Labouring Man offers comfort , warmth and home cooked food to make you feel home from home. Pulborough, is a historic village, situated in the lee of the South Downs, has a population of approximately 5,000, it is 52 miles from central London in the north and 14 miles from the south coast. It is one of the larger villages within the County of West Sussex. It is set on the ancient Roman Road, Stane Street, which is now part of the A29. So getting here is easy, and there are good rail and bus links also. Luxury King size beds, flat screen tvs and En-suite , Single and Family rooms also available . Dogs welcome at a small charge.
Picture of The Labouring Man, Pulborough at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 13 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Boutique styled pub and hotel that doesn't live up to its publicity
Accomodation is located at back of the pub via outside staircase, Bedroom was comfortable but not particularly clean surfaces and carpet. Service was average as was the food which did not offer good value for the price paid.

Reviewed by
Mike L

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room with a view
Our genial host took us up a hidden tower to our room with a view over the Downs. All the bedrooms were named after the hosts past and previous dogs. The bed,shower and breakfast were good. The only flaw (reported to the host) was the paucity of plain teabags in the room. Dinner like breakfast was well cooked and enjoyable.

Reviewed by
R Johnston

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Break
We stayed at this accommodation as we were going to a wedding. The place was lovely. Very clean, very comfortable with great food and friendly service. Would definitely recommend.

Reviewed by
A O'brien

From Luton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Food
Pub is situated roadside in a quiet lane - cars were parked outside but there is a fair size car park at the rear of the pub with a patio area. We were greeted by a very helpful member of staff and shown to our room which was called 'Prince' . This was at the front of the pub and access was via its own front door . It was spacious with a very comfortable clean bed and bathroom with a good shower and nice toiletries. Large white fluffy towels but no hairdrier was provided and I forgot to ask if one was available. The tv was a nightmare to turn on and operate and signal freezes anyway! A few issues though such as every electrical switch was turned off and some were hard to access to turn bedside lamps on etc. Huge spiders web surrounding the fire alarm bell. Noise from apparently a hand drier in the Gent's toilet which adjoined the room. Quiet enough after closing time of course. On the plus side our evening meals were very good and breakfast was cooked to order with plenty of cereals, yoghurt,juice and toast to have first. You are asked which time 'slot' you want to have breakfast . We did point out to the manager that in the morning a car had arrived early and parked not more than one foot away from the door of our room and we almost had to climb over it to exit. Needs some post or something outside to prevent this.. Not a good idea for egress as a fire exit from the room.

Reviewed by
June B

From Romford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Country pub accommodation
This is a local pub with accommodation, which was clear from the initial description.
Friendly staff, clean rooms.
Near to main road, but far enough down the lane not to be bothered by any traffic.

Reviewed by
Tony Q

From Hornchurch, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely quiet village setting
We stayed here having booked late in the evening. Becky, who worked in the pub showed us to our room which was spacious, clean and had a terrific shower!! We were too late to find anything to eat in the village as it was approx 9.30pm in the evening. the pub was very friendly and had a great atmosphere. In the morning we arrived in the restaurant to be met by the owner at 8.30 only to be told we had missed the breakfast slot at 8am (we weren't informed that it was a set time, and had assumed that they started serving at 8). Not to worry, we thought lets have a cup of tea and the toast offered as an alternative. there was toast on the table which was obviously left from someone else and our fresh toast never materialised.
The landlord however, was very friendly and gave us some excellent tips on where to stay deeper in the New Forest area as that was our final destination.
All in all, we enjoyed the stay in The Labouring Man and would stay here again - just be more careful next time to ensure that we had the correct details on the food service!!

Reviewed by
Stephen H

From Londonderry, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely relaxing break
We wanted a few days away, and to visit Arundel and Brighton. The Labouring Man was perfect, located off the main road, but with good access to the surrounding area. Food was excellent, room was clean and comfortable. Just what we were looking for.

Reviewed by
Ian H

From Stevenage, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice place
Quiet location, friendly atmosphere, good food too.

Reviewed by
Wayne C

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ordinary Pub
Doesn't do food on Sundays or Mondays, beware. Otherwise ok.

Reviewed by
E Nicholls

From Helston, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just spent a weekend visiting friends in the area, and booking was left a little late. Also had to take the dog at the last minute. Have to say that Phil the owner was very accommodating and nothing was too much trouble. made to feel very welcome with the dog even in the bar area. Room and en suite (Duke room) were spacious and clean and we slept well in the bed which was comfy. Met friends for a meal one night and can only describe the food as good pub food / plenty of it, well cooked and presented and we all enjoyed it very much. There was a good choice for breakfast(juices/fruit/cereals etc) and we opted for the full English.Again, used local produce and definitely NOT a greasy spoon affair, really well cooked by PHIL HIMSELF. Good range of beers in the bar.
Would we stay there again? Most definitely. Reasonably priced for the area, very dog friendly, clean and comfortable , good pub food and very welcoming host.Good access/base for the deputy downs etc. Thanks to Phil for his hospitality.

Reviewed by
k jackson

From Prenton, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next