Reviews - The Labouring Man


Old London Road, Coldwaltham,, Pulborough, RH20 1LF

Price From 193.77 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (10)

80% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • C Dooner

  • September 2015

Fabulous place to stay.

Nice friendly staff, excellent quality of food all in a lovely country setting.

  • Mike L

  • September 2014

Boutique styled pub and hotel that doesn't live up to its publicity

Accomodation is located at back of the pub via outside staircase, Bedroom was comfortable but not particularly clean surfaces and carpet.

Service was average as was the food which did not offer good value for the price paid.

  • R Johnston

  • August 2014

Room with a view

Our genial host took us up a hidden tower to our room with a view over the Downs.

All the bedrooms were named after the hosts past and previous dogs. The bed,shower and breakfast were good. The only flaw (reported to the host) was the paucity of plain teabags in the room. Dinner like breakfast was well cooked and enjoyable.

  • A O'brien

  • August 2014

Lovely Break

We stayed at this accommodation as we were going to a wedding.

The place was lovely. Very clean, very comfortable with great food and friendly service. Would definitely recommend.

  • June B

  • August 2014

Good Food

Pub is situated roadside in a quiet lane - cars were parked outside but there is a fair size car park at the rear of the pub with a patio area.

We were greeted by a very helpful member of staff and shown to our room which was called 'Prince' . This was at the front of the pub and access was via its own front door . It was spacious with a very comfortable clean bed and bathroom with a good shower and nice toiletries. Large white fluffy towels but no hairdrier was provided and I forgot to ask if one was available. The tv was a nightmare to turn on and operate and signal freezes anyway. A few issues though such as every electrical switch was turned off and some were hard to access to turn bedside lamps on etc. Huge spiders web surrounding the fire alarm bell. Noise from apparently a hand drier in the Gent's toilet which adjoined the room. Quiet enough after closing time of course. On the plus side our evening meals were very good and breakfast was cooked to order with plenty of cereals, yoghurt,juice and toast to have first. You are asked which time 'slot' you want to have breakfast . We did point out to the manager that in the morning a car had arrived early and parked not more than one foot away from the door of our room and we almost had to climb over it to exit. Needs some post or something outside to prevent this.. Not a good idea for egress as a fire exit from the room.

  • Tony Q

  • August 2014

Country pub accommodation

This is a local pub with accommodation, which was clear from the initial description.

Friendly staff, clean rooms. Near to main road, but far enough down the lane not to be bothered by any traffic.

  • Stephen H

  • July 2014

Lovely quiet village setting

We stayed here having booked late in the evening.

Becky, who worked in the pub showed us to our room which was spacious, clean and had a terrific shower!. We were too late to find anything to eat in the village as it was approx 9.30pm in the evening. the pub was very friendly and had a great atmosphere. In the morning we arrived in the restaurant to be met by the owner at 8.30 only to be told we had missed the breakfast slot at 8am (we weren't informed that it was a set time, and had assumed that they started serving at 8). Not to worry, we thought lets have a cup of tea and the toast offered as an alternative. there was toast on the table which was obviously left from someone else and our fresh toast never materialised. The landlord however, was very friendly and gave us some excellent tips on where to stay deeper in the New Forest area as that was our final destination.

All in all, we enjoyed the stay in The Labouring Man and would stay here again - just be more careful next time to ensure that we had the correct details on the food service!!

  • Ian H

  • June 2014

Lovely relaxing break

We wanted a few days away, and to visit Arundel and Brighton.

The Labouring Man was perfect, located off the main road, but with good access to the surrounding area. Food was excellent, room was clean and comfortable. Just what we were looking for.

  • Wayne C

  • April 2014

nice place

Quiet location, friendly atmosphere, good food too.

  • E Nicholls

  • October 2013

Ordinary Pub

Doesn't do food on Sundays or Mondays, beware.

Otherwise ok.