No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Derwent House

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Climping Street, , , Climping, BN17 5RQ
Derwent House is situated in the Conservation Area of the Climping Gap, the last undeveloped stretch of coastline between Brighton and Bognor Regis. The West Beach Sand Dunes are an area of Special Scientific Interest with rare plants and birds. Climping Street is a no-through road giving access only to the Beach (1/2 mile), the prestigious Bailiffscourt Hotel, a renowned venue for weddings, and the Black Horse Inn, a traditional Pub/Restaurant, just two minutes walk down the lane. Guests will find a warm, friendly welcome from Jon and Julia to their country home where they offer quality bed and breakfast in a relaxed atmosphere where their guests can escape from the pressures of the outside world and discover the calm of the country and seaside.
Picture of Derwent House, Climping at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 9 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A home from home
A warm welcome. Big room which was clean and nicely decorated. Delicious breakfast.

Reviewed by
HELEN S

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highly recommended
I will definitely look to stay at Derwent House again. The room was spotless, well furnished & with plain duvet/walls etc and a couple of nice bright pictures. The room did not have a stand-up shower option which is why only 5/6 for quality of room as I do like stand up shower in the morning rather than managing with a shower unit that rests on the taps. However at least it did have the shower element which was not present somewhere else I stayed recently, where hair washing was a challenge! Lovely lovely host and hostess, great breakfast, beach down at the end of the road... Great.

Reviewed by
Penelope B

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay
Lovely place to stay, with a fantastic welcome on arrival and even got an early breakfast as I had to get out early for a site meeting.
Would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Martin R

From Barnoldswick, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Arundel visit
Thought I would try somewhere different to stay for our annual choir visit to Arundel this year - and was so glad I decided on Derwent House: warm welcome, my room was both comfortable and spotless and was well-appointed. The quality of the breakfast was excellent. Only wished I was staying longer - perhaps next year?

Reviewed by
J Davison

From Watford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay at Climping
Great weekend in lovely accommodation

Reviewed by
S Benson

From Dorking, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Climping 60 years on
In my teens I used to camp in a field close by but if that suited me then I certainly prefer Derwent House in my 70's!

Reviewed by
Philip Collins

From Pontyclun, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly and hospitable hosts; I would certainly consider returning. Well equipped room and comfortable bed.

Reviewed by
Christopher L

From Bath, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Safe, friendly, clean and comfortable
Really enjoyed my stay here. The lady and gentleman of the house were very friendly and welcoming. My room was lovely and the bed was comfortable. Had all the amenities I needed (with the exception of WIFI which was kind of a blessing). Provide actual real life coffee instead of the silly little packets. Immaculately clean. Felt very safe and slept well.

Reviewed by
Sarah O

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The host was very pleasant, the room clean, tidy, with lots of space and the breakfast food was of top quality.
when looking for accommodation in this area again Derwent house will be my first port of call. I would highly recommend it.

Reviewed by
andrew ashby

From aylesbury, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.