No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Nelson Hotel

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
61 Pier Road, , , Littlehampton, BN17 5LP
Enjoy the home-from-home experience in one of our five quaint bedrooms. All rooms are equipped with tea and coffee making facilities, as well as a colour television. If you would like watch a dvd whilst you are staying with us, feel free to ask one of our team, who will be happy to arrange it for you. All five bedrooms have recently been furnished with new mattresses, and linen and towels are provided for the duration of your stay. Some of the rooms have ironing facilities, but, should you require laundry services, please just ask one of the team. At the heart of a good pub you will always find the hosts. This is especially true of the owners of this family business who have owned this public house since October 2006. We have carried out substantial renovations throughout the building during that time, including improvements to the restaurant area, the bar and the rooms. Littlehampton in Sussex is a coastal gem of a town right on the UK's south coast, which prides itself on family fun and great weather. It has two beaches, a bustling marina and harbour and some stunning architecture - bringing a contemporary twist to a traditional resort. Littlehampton's newest attraction is Action Boat or if you want a more relaxing time, last year saw the 'Long Bench' built, which colourfully weaves and loops along the seafront, sitting alongside the International Blue Flag and Quality Coast Flag, both proudly flying again this year for the Coastguards beachin front of The Green. Please be aware that on Friday and Saturday nights we have live entertainment which is loud until 1am.
Picture of Nelson Hotel, Littlehampton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 32 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
37% recommended this accommodation to a friend 46% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic
The accommodation was very basic but good value for the amount we paid. Staff were helpful and the Hotel is well placed for the town centre/seafront and station

Reviewed by
Teresa S

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Awful
The hotel was in a worst state than faulty towers but I think the bedding was the same age
I had to clean the room before unpacking
The so called shower /sink / toilet was smaller than my meter cupboard at home
The view was lovely once you cleaned the window to see it
Don't expect to sleep as the noise goes on till the early hours
I travel often as this had to be the worst place that I have ever stayed!!!

Reviewed by
J Hyttner

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean and basic
Cheap accommodation with no frills. Not quite a home from home but perfectly adequate for somewhere to lay your head for a couple of nights without breaking the bank.
Small issue of extension leads lurking beside the bed due to shortage of sockets and the copious amount of padded stools for two people.
But it was very clean, enough said.

Reviewed by
Chris Fyles

From Slough, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable stay would recommend very clean good value for money

Reviewed by
Josephine Herring

From Portsmouth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Never again
Found hairs in bathroom, too noisy, every thing in the room had a dirty feel to it as if it hadn't been wiped properly

Reviewed by
David R

From Hastings, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not happy
I thought that I had booked bed and breakfast but they stopped providing this service a year ago.. Towels were obviously dried outside, they were not soft! When I used a cup it was not replaced or cleaned.Noise level from bar downstairs went on until 12:30am. Very loud! Nowhere to park . One night I had to park 3 blocks away. Back entrance not very welcoming, filled with a pram and extra furniture. First night I had to go into the bar to register.Soap dispenser in shower was not replenished when I left a note about it..Bed and Breakfast is advertised outside but not on offer inside. Pier road is being reinforced for flood defences .workers seem to arrive very early. I think this venue needs to drop its hotel title and concentrate on the bar and restaurant!

Reviewed by
Sandra H

From Swadlincote, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable
The food is really good, service is friendly and attentive and the accommodation is comfortable, but the decoration is a little tired and in need of a good lick of paint.
That said, good value for money.

Reviewed by
Barry M

From , UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room for Goodwood festival of speed
Room was OK but there wasn't any proper curtains on the window of the room so in the morning you were woken by the sun coming up, And on the Saturday night the Hotel had a party booked which was ok but the owner didn't inform me that there would be loud music playing until well after midnight as I was placed in the room closest to the restaurant area there was no way I could get to sleep until the music was turned off. I ended up phoning the hotel to ask when the party was ending to which the reply was not too much longer but still went on for another 45 mins at least.

Reviewed by
Stephen A

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

grateful to find a room Goodwood Festival of Speed weekend
Best bit was the power of the shower, other than that, bed was comfortable after propping up one of the corners as a leg had fallen off. couldn't get bedside lamp to work, but having traced the cables to the socket found said socket had broken off the wall leaving exposed electrical cables I presume were live so didn't venture further...
To be honest I was grateful to find a room, any room, over the weekend of Goodwood festival of speed... The staff were friendly, can't comment on food, but the chippy round the corner was lovely..
Yes I would stay again so it wasn't as bad as some people make out. Value for money is difficult to judge as rooms are at a premium over the weekend that I stayed. From experience I know other hotels charge more over this particular weekend. So very happy to have found a reasonably priced room for the night.

Reviewed by
Gillian H

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good service, good location, dated room and furnishings, very very small bathroom
Very pleasant staff, we didn't eat there as the bar and restaurant area was too warm, but it was very busy proving its popularity. The room was spacious enough, but everything was old, dated, and needed refurbishing. There was an old bath mixer tap for the small sink, so you cannot fill the kettle unless you use the shower. The bathroom looked to have been lifted from a caravan and stuck in the corner of the room. They also do not serve breakfasts, it is room only.

Reviewed by
Tim C

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next