No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Nelson Hotel

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
61 Pier Road, , , Littlehampton, BN17 5LP
Enjoy the home-from-home experience in one of our five quaint bedrooms. All rooms are equipped with tea and coffee making facilities, as well as a colour television. If you would like watch a dvd whilst you are staying with us, feel free to ask one of our team, who will be happy to arrange it for you. All five bedrooms have recently been furnished with new mattresses, and linen and towels are provided for the duration of your stay. Some of the rooms have ironing facilities, but, should you require laundry services, please just ask one of the team. At the heart of a good pub you will always find the hosts. This is especially true of the owners of this family business who have owned this public house since October 2006. We have carried out substantial renovations throughout the building during that time, including improvements to the restaurant area, the bar and the rooms. Littlehampton in Sussex is a coastal gem of a town right on the UK's south coast, which prides itself on family fun and great weather. It has two beaches, a bustling marina and harbour and some stunning architecture - bringing a contemporary twist to a traditional resort. Littlehampton's newest attraction is Action Boat or if you want a more relaxing time, last year saw the 'Long Bench' built, which colourfully weaves and loops along the seafront, sitting alongside the International Blue Flag and Quality Coast Flag, both proudly flying again this year for the Coastguards beachin front of The Green. Please be aware that on Friday and Saturday nights we have live entertainment which is loud until 1am.
Picture of Nelson Hotel, Littlehampton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 26 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
42% recommended this accommodation to a friend 46% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable
The food is really good, service is friendly and attentive and the accommodation is comfortable, but the decoration is a little tired and in need of a good lick of paint.
That said, good value for money.

Reviewed by
Barry M

From , UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

grateful to find a room Goodwood Festival of Speed weekend
Best bit was the power of the shower, other than that, bed was comfortable after propping up one of the corners as a leg had fallen off. couldn't get bedside lamp to work, but having traced the cables to the socket found said socket had broken off the wall leaving exposed electrical cables I presume were live so didn't venture further...
To be honest I was grateful to find a room, any room, over the weekend of Goodwood festival of speed... The staff were friendly, can't comment on food, but the chippy round the corner was lovely..
Yes I would stay again so it wasn't as bad as some people make out. Value for money is difficult to judge as rooms are at a premium over the weekend that I stayed. From experience I know other hotels charge more over this particular weekend. So very happy to have found a reasonably priced room for the night.

Reviewed by
Gillian H

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room for Goodwood festival of speed
Room was OK but there wasn't any proper curtains on the window of the room so in the morning you were woken by the sun coming up, And on the Saturday night the Hotel had a party booked which was ok but the owner didn't inform me that there would be loud music playing until well after midnight as I was placed in the room closest to the restaurant area there was no way I could get to sleep until the music was turned off. I ended up phoning the hotel to ask when the party was ending to which the reply was not too much longer but still went on for another 45 mins at least.

Reviewed by
Stephen A

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good service, good location, dated room and furnishings, very very small bathroom
Very pleasant staff, we didn't eat there as the bar and restaurant area was too warm, but it was very busy proving its popularity. The room was spacious enough, but everything was old, dated, and needed refurbishing. There was an old bath mixer tap for the small sink, so you cannot fill the kettle unless you use the shower. The bathroom looked to have been lifted from a caravan and stuck in the corner of the room. They also do not serve breakfasts, it is room only.

Reviewed by
Tim C

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not a place to stay for relaxing break
booked for 2 nights left after one, could not stay there another night. I wanted a relaxing break, however the noise of the music from pub till 1am makes it impossible. I was told it wasn't going to be that bad, when i got into bed it was full of crumbs so that told me it had not been changed and make me feel very uncomfortable all night. the so called new beds or mattress creaked and where not comfortable. there was a great view from the windows if you could see it, but both windows had failed units where the seals have broken in the glass which wouldn't cost the earth to replace, but they were all misted up and makes the place look even dirtier. Then they had the cheek with one room left to look for £75.00 for it. These rooms should be sold to the drunken people in the bar not rented out to normal trade. Very uncomfortable stay.

Reviewed by
Diana O

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good clean room excelent views very comfy bedding & towels clean , shower clean

Reviewed by
James Griffiths

From Hailsham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly but needs a refurb
The hotel location is very good, close to the sea, the railway station and the town centre. The staff were very friendly, helpful and polite. Our room was clean, the bed comfortable but I was very un-impressed with the bathroom. It would look better in a caravan! You had to step over a door frame which must cause many stubbed toes, there was a penny in the bottom of the toilet (no comment) and I really didn't like the look of the shower cubicle at all. Overall, it was ok but I will look for an alternative on my next trip to Littlehampton.

Reviewed by
F Chapman

From Ruthin, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel on the habour front Littlehampton
Good location easy to find, friendly staff and efficient service, the rooms could do with a lick of paint and a tidy up but cheap and cheerful enough for an overnight stay.

Reviewed by
Andrew B

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good option if you looking for a bed to sleep
Nice service. Friendly people. Joyful customers in a pub downstairs. I have no problems with sleeping in any circumstances but my friend struggled in the night due to a very loud karaoke singing (although good voices:). We requested quiet room so I cant imagine how it was in others. Very small, bit smelly bathroom. Tv worked, kettle on service, fresh shits, towels etc so if you looking for a bed to sleep on your journey along the shore it is, I would say a considerate option.

Reviewed by
Wioletta B

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice room, shame about the kareoke.
The room was fine (family room) we found out at night we were above a noisy kareoke night (Saturday) However we enjoyed the exoerience.

Reviewed by
M Hall

From Chelmsford, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next