Reviews - Brighton Surf Hotel


16, Charlotte Street, Brighton, BN2 1AG

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (36)

67% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Suzanne Y

  • July 2014

Great location as within walking distance to seafront, pier and amenities.

Rooms are small but expected with the building conversion but had an on-suite so was fine.

Was within walking distance of the seafront, pier and amenities and it was pretty quiet at night too. The breakfast/snacks that are included in the room are a nice touch, even though we didn't use them. The only negative about the room was that it was very hot. We left the window open while we went out in the afternoon but when we returned it was still quite uncomfortable, especially when there are two people getting ready in a small space, it adds to the heat. So my only suggestion would be to install ceiling fans or include desktop fans for the summer.

  • linda t

  • June 2014

Room was a little on the small side and very warm

However clean and well kitted out for a one night stay

  • P Edwards

  • June 2014

Handy Hotel

Very handy and quiet location, cleaned daily and complimentary snaks provided.

I enjoyed my stay and will consider staying again.

  • h lutley

  • May 2014


Check in was a breeze, the room clean although small but perfectly functional.

  • Julia Russell

  • April 2014


The room was comfortable and the complementary food and drinks was welcome.

However, the shower was tiny and the floor got very wet. Unable to dry myself in bathroom and my partner and i are tall so it was very difficult to use shower; a usually pleasant experience was a chore.

  • Oliver H

  • April 2014

Fantastic service !!

When we arrived we had some trouble finding a parking spot but the manager moved his car so we could take his space.

Very very kind of him. The receptionist was great too, giving us all the info we needed and even helping to carry our bags to the car after our stay. Would definitely stay again

  • marcia w

  • April 2014

fabulous goodies tray,lots of thoughtful extras, very comfortable and clean

fabulous goodies tray,lots of thoughtful extras, very comfortable and clean highly recommended very attentive and helpful receptionist

  • Lauren W

  • April 2014

Room was vey tidy, clean and spacious, only downfall was the small bathroom but being quite small.

The drink and breakfast tray in the room was filled up everyday day. I pulled the duvet back and put the pillows back in place, came back to the room later and the manager had left a little treat, how cute of her!!.

  • M Scott

  • March 2014

Single room - blue -

I called many times on 3 different days to advise my arrival time would be later than planned but could not leave a message on an answerphone or get a reply.

Surf Hotel Description - My Comments

Luxury En Suite Shower Room - was NOT luxurious, it was basic, old, lots of chipped enamel in the toilet which made it look dirty, threadbare shower mat, no hand towel, loose top on tap which came off, poor flooring, I wish I'd taken photos to show you. High Quality Carpet (Blue) - Heavily stained

24" Flat Screen LED Television - with only 4 channels working QVC, Film4, Film4+1 and a music channel - no BBC, ITV etc. Receptionist tried very hard to reset TV to no avail - not her fault. The soil down pipe in the wall was by the bed head, so every time somebody upstairs used their shower/bathroom I heard it draining down. The kettle could not fit anywhere near the tap to fill it. I had to use the very small tea cup to carry water to fill the kettle. Breakfast is a mini packet of cereal with UHT milk on your tea tray.

  • James K

  • March 2014

Nice Place

Friendly staff

very large comfortable bed