No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Thorn House Bed & Breakfast

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Church Street, Fen Drayton, , Cambridge, CB24 4SG
Tucked away in a very quiet location yet within easy reach of Cambridge and St Ives, Thorn House B&B is perfect for holiday as well as business use. Flexibility is our aim, both in terms of the accommodation and in terms of the service we provide. As well as a double bedroom, the Lodge has a living room with sofabed, appealing to families and those who like to make themselves at home. It is equipped with TV and DVD in the living room and in the bedroom, and has free wi fi access. Many little touches are provided such as fluffy bathrobes and over-sized bath towels. The lodge has thermostatically controlled radiators in the bedroom and living room, and underfloor heating in the bathroom, making it warm and cosy even in the coldest weather. A small terrace seating area also offers dedicated outside space for our guests. We offer a full English breakfast, or we will provide a continental breakfast hamper with other "goodies" left in your fridge! Because we know that each of our guests has individual needs, we are versatile in our approach, and will do all we can to ensure that your stay exceeds your best expectations. We pride ourselves on attention to detail! Our standards of cleanliness are high, and we have a 5-star (excellent) food hygiene rating. We welcome up to two well behaved dogs - a charge of £25 is applied to cover the cleaning involved (per stay). This is necessary in order to bring the lodge back up to our very high standards of cleanliness for our next guests. The lodge is a few minute's stroll away from a lovely country pub, where our guests receive a 10% discount on meals. We are also close to Fen Drayton nature reserve, with its many lakes and abundant wildlife. In the nature reserve, guests may take the guided bus to either Cambridge or St Ives. There are many reasons to come to stay at Thorn House, but whatever your reason you will be very welcome.
Picture of Thorn House Bed & Breakfast, Cambridge at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 17 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Was great to have our own little space with a lounge including a small kitchenette. Lovely.

ManagementResponse

Dear Michelle, Many thanks for your review. I am delighted that you loved the lodge and I do hope to see your mum again soon! Kind Regards, Nicky

Reviewed by
M Arthur

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent cottage with more than enough facilities/ home comforts. Would definitely recommend.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your kind review - it was a pleasure having you to stay and I do hope you will come again when you are next on business in the area. Kind Regards Nicky

Reviewed by
L Metcher

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice accomodation
Nice clean self contained room. Good food. Nice village. Friendly owner.

Reviewed by
Richard C

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really enjoyed our stay very clean and welcoming

ManagementResponse

Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay in the Lodge and hope that we will see you again! Kind Regards, Nicky

Reviewed by
Sharon T

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Lodge
Nicky couldn't do anything more to make our stay more enjoyable. Nicky is very knowledgeable about the surrounding areas and was able to provide information about how we should spend our time during the weekend. The lodge itself is very compact, clean and tidy. Perfect for a couple looking to get away for the weekend. The continental breakfast provided was substantial but the cooked breakfast delivered to the lodge was also welcome! I would recommend Thorn House to friends and family and if we were to visit the area again we would be delighted to stay here.

ManagementResponse

Dear Kayleigh, Thank you for your very kind review. It was a great pleasure having you to stay at Thorn House and I hope you will come and visit again. Kind Regards, Nicky

Reviewed by
Kayleigh R

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lots of extra touches
We booked this as a last minute break literally the day before we arrived and were very pleasantly surprised by what we got. The Guest Lodge is not only cute but is also full of extras like dressing gowns for your stay.
Having a sofa, dining table and even an area outside with seats and a table meant there were lots of places to relax rather than having just the bedroom as you do in many B&Bs. There was plenty of places to walk and visit on foot (the nature reserve is beautiful), by car or using the guided bus. Our particular thanks go to Nicky for coming out to collect us in her car as we came back in the dark one night.
The Lodge is well equipped, comfortable and extremely well presented when you add that to a really nice location it was just what we wanted.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your review and I am so pleased the guest lodge suited your needs so well. It was a delight to have you to stay, and I hope you will visit again! Nicky

Reviewed by
Debbie Brixey

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Thorne House a wonderful place to stay.
An excellent little hideaway, perfect for a short stay. Accommodation very comfortable and pleasantly decorated. The food for a bed and breakfast was excellent and was definitely not short in quantity or quality.
No problems with parking, read the informative e-mail before leaving for the week end trip.
Would definitely not hesitate to revisit if in the area again.
Many thanks to Nicky for her personal touches and friendliness.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your kind review. I am delighted that you enjoyed staying in the guest lodge and hope that we will see you again! Kind Regards Nicky

Reviewed by
Tony Welsby

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staying at thorn house near Cambridge
My family had a pleasant stay at thorn house near Cambridge. The room, although quite small (it's a converted garage) was very pretty and well appointed. Nicola was very welcoming even though quite preoccupied with the parking. We got an unexpected discount on our continental breakfast which was a plus. Our stay was very pleasant and should we return to Cambridge we would certainly try to stay at thorn house again.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your review. I am glad that you liked the lodge and thought it was pretty. We have tried hard to ensure that all the touches are there! It is not actually a converted garage, but was originally built as a self-contained office and although it is small it does work for a family with young children such as yours. I hope they enjoyed their holiday too, it was a pleasure to have you all!

Reviewed by
V B

From Italy , Italy
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great little place to stay with wonderful hospitality!
This is a delightful place to stay! The guest lodge is private, beautifully equipped with everything you need, and very clean and comfortable. It was lovely to have a comfy sitting/kitchen area with TV, fridge etc., which is more than you could expect from a B&B, and this really is great value! Nicky emailed very clear directions and information about finding Thorn House and arrangements for parking as soon as we had booked, and we feel that she has done everything she can to make sure her guests are comfortable. We had the continental breakfast, which was plentiful and delicious. There is a real personal feeling about staying at Thorn House, while it was lovely to be self contained in a separate building. We thoroughly recommend and hope to stay there again.

ManagementResponse

Dear David and Barbara Thank you very much for your kind comments. We are so pleased that you loved our guest lodge. It was a pleasure to meet you and we hope that you will come to stay again, Kind Regards Nicky and Colin

Reviewed by
David Johnson

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money
Upon arriving I received a less than happy welcome after being lectured about parking and driving down the neighbour’s driveway even though there was a sign located outside of the B&B with an arrow stating parking in that direction. I was instructed to pay upfront - something that has never occurred in anywhere I have stayed before. There were cobwebs in the room as well as a bathroom ceiling fan full of them - not a pleasant site looking up at all. The card facilities onsite are below standard and I would recommend bringing cash to avoid a long delay in trying to pay.
The lodge in general, apart from the above was a pleasant stay in a nice area with a superb breakfast and all facilities were up to a reasonable standard.

ManagementResponse

Dear Michael Thank you for the complimentary comments on our breakfasts and the value for money of our guest lodge. We are so sorry you found our customer service to be lacking .If you read the previous reviews, it is one of the aspects that our guests are usually most complimentary about, as is the cleanliness of the lodge. I do check for cobwebs on a daily basis but had missed the ones in the shower fan, I am so sorry. I am very fussy about cleanliness and make sure everything is sparkling - most of the reviews have commented on how clean everything is, and also how welcoming we are. We are very aware that we live in a residential street (albeit a quiet one), and so we do try to ensure that guests park on our own paved area in front of our house, and not in front of our neighbours or in their driveway. The email you were sent prior to arrival gave clear parking instructions, and the sign at the front actually reads "B & B Parking this way on" and the arrow indicates the best angle for parking on the paved area. I am sure it was just a mis-understanding, and sincerely apologise for the confusion. I have since drawn a parking plan to send to new guests to ensure that this is not a problem again. We have spent a great deal of time and effort making the lodge a lovely, bright and comfortable retreat and are very pleased that the feedback from most of our guests would indicate that we have achieved this. We have only recently started to accept card payments, and whilst Mastercard works very well, the Visa payments require a text confirmation and this depends on the guest's phone reception. As a small B&B it is not cost effective for us to upgrade to a better card terminal but we felt that it was desirable to be able to offer a card service even although we are charged per transaction. It is disappointing to hear that we fell short of your expectations during your night with us, and I sincerely apologise for our shortcomings, which we will certainly address for the future. Kind Regards, Nicky and Colin

Reviewed by
Michael G

From Newbury, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next