No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Griffin Inn

4Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
HIGH STREET, FLETCHING, UCKFIELD, TN22 3SS
The Griffin Inn is a 16th century inn situated in the beautiful and historic, unspoiled village of Fletching which is close to many famous National Trust properties and other places of interest. We have 13 individually designed and decorated bedrooms all with ensuite facilities. We have a renowned restaurant as well as an excellent “bar” menu which can be served in our lovely garden with sloping lawns on sunny days. The view from our garden is second to none. An acclaimed wine list and selection of local Sussex ales including the famous Harvey’s of Lewes. The Griffin Inn has recently been awarded 4 ½ stars out of a possible 5 by the on-line Trip Advisor site as well as many accolades in other leading guides.

Please note our latest check-in time is 11pm.
Picture of The Griffin Inn, UCKFIELD at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 10 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
60% recommended this accommodation to a friend 60% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant stay
I will certainly stay here again if I need a bed in the area.
The room was fine but personally I could do with more than 2 teabags for a night.
The bed was comfy which is the most important thing.
I have to say that the breakfast was good too, especially because the waiter was so personable and friendly. Thank you for a good stay.

Reviewed by
Helen G

From London, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bad Service
I booked a room through Late Rooms. Com & received a confirmation of the booking by email. The next day I received an email from The Griffin saying they had made a mistake & the price of the room was £60.00 more than quoted. They refused to honour their original price. If you have a problem at this hotel the management will resolve it entirely to their own satisfaction, do not expect them to be helpful. Needless to say I went elsewhere.

Reviewed by
Ian F

From Ely, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very expensive for a shabby pub
no comments to leave other than expensive
23 pounds for a steak
4 pounds 75 for a lager
thats all i gotta say

Reviewed by
Greg Turner

From Tamworth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very quaint and pretty, small hotel/pub with rooms in a beautiful village. It is set in lovely gardens with an amazing view.It is full of character and "characters".We were made to feel extremely welcome by both the staff and locals. The bed was one of the most comfortable I've ever slept in and I was reluctant to get up for breakfast, but it was worth it as the food was excellent. Unfortunately we didn't eat there there on the evening as we had a party to go to. Our only regret was that we couldn't stay longer.

Reviewed by
Amanda D

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

staff polite but condescending
food cold, and not as requested
no wifi signal

Reviewed by
sue p

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm, welcoming and delicious food
We were in area for a wedding and decided to stay somewhere nice to make a weekend of it, the Griffin Inn did not disappointment - the room was luxurious, the food in the pub delicious and the breakfast, with a wide range of hearty choices, was perfect. And although we didnt get to use it...wow what a pub garden! Simply stunning views.
It wasnt the cheapest option available to use, but really worth every penny, I recommend.

Reviewed by
Hannah P

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quirky Old English Inn
Stayed in a room with the name 'Bluebell'. Ensuite room with a 4 poster bed and a sloping floor. I'm not excessively tall but managed to bang my head a couple of times when entering or leaving the room. Had to shower sat down as there was no shower curtain/cubicle but this did not detract from the experience. Fantastic beer garden with 4 real ales to choose from. Food good but a little pricey. Did not like the look of the jars of breakfast jams/marmalade. Did not look fresh and let down what was an otherwise excellent breakfast.

Reviewed by
Nick D

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel - would use again.

Reviewed by
H WEBSTER

From Holmfirth, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice oldie world pub with good clean accomodation
The bedroom was quaint and had a comfy bed and TV.
Very good food in restaurant and a good pint of traditional beer in bar near real fire.

Reviewed by
A Bolton

From Bolton, England
Who stayed in January 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Griffin Inn, Fletching, East Sussex
The room was above a pub, there was no reception desk and on arrival my parents and myself were in the way of meals being served deom the kitchen whilst trying to book in. My parents, aged 82 and 80, were taken up some stairs to a room above the pub which was small and had a sloping floor and I was given a room in an outbuilding at the back of the pub. So because my mum is disabled and has walking difficulties, I sawppaed rooms with my parents as it was too difficult for my mum to get up the stairs and I was worried about her falling in the night on the sloping floor. The room I stayed in, Bluebell, the carpet had a stain on it and obviously hadn't been vaccuumed and was rather offputting. The room and bathroom were both small. On the plus side, the bed was very comfortable and the breakfast was excellent. However, overall I don't think it was worth the money, £80 for 2 people and £70 for 1 person, when you compare it with a Travelodge where you get a big room with ensuite bathroom for half the price.

Reviewed by
JACALYN H

From St Helens, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.