No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Roundabout Hotel

4AA Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
Monkemead Lane , West Chiltington, RH20 2PF
The Roundabout Hotel steeped in history and olde world charm was designed by Reginald Wells in 1925. Trained as a sculptor at the Royal College of Art in the 1890s, Reginald moved to Storrington with a dream of creating “the perfect English village”. He went onto achieve that dream, building more than 30 cottages in an estate that became known as Roundabouts. In early 2012, the hotel was refurbished to a high standard and now boasts a mixture of original features which sit in perfect harmony with its recent enhancements.

This country house hotel has been awarded the 4 Star AA Guest Accommodation Certificate. It has 26 Ensuite bedrooms which include charming, superior and luxury suites. There is a private resident’s lounge, a large comfy bar with exposed beams and open fires, which also provides access to the terrace and gardens, an a la carte restaurant, breakfast room, private dining and additional reception and meeting rooms.

Flat screen televisions, free Wi-Fi throughout, tea/coffee making facilities, bottled water, toiletries and Egyptian cotton bed lined are all part of the luxury that is offered at The Roundabout. All rooms are non-smoking

From the leaded light windows and feature turrets the beautiful Sussex countryside can be viewed. An idyllic spot, in West Chiltington, the Roundabout Hotel is the perfect haven for those wanting to escape the hullabaloo of today’s life. Cyclists can explore the local area; guests can enjoy nature walks or visit the local village church which is adorned with paintings dating back to the 12th century.

Despite this semi-rural picturesque location, Gatwick is only 40 minutes away with Storrington, Worthing, Brighton, Fontwell and Goodwood are all easily accessible.

Picture of Roundabout Hotel, West Chiltington at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 62 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Roundabout Hotel
Very Good

Reviewed by
JON B

From Olney, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Over all
very good, although it was hard to find

Reviewed by
a thomas

From Port Talbot, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
Thank you Roundabout Hotel for such a great weekend.

Reviewed by
Maureen Philpot

From Saxmundham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel
The hotel is lovely in a quiet location. We had a beautiful room (101). Some noise from above which was a bit annoying. Food in the restaurant wasn't as good as I thought it would be, dinner was ok. Breakfast was ok if you have the full breakfast. My partner asked for poached eggs and bacon and got one egg and one slice of bacon which was a bit poor. Service wasn't great either. I did question it and was told that the breakfast is complimentary ! Found the manager on duty a bit surly. But the hotel itself is lovely.

Reviewed by
Clare J

From Bromley, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would loved to have stayed longer!
We had one of the premier rooms which was very spacious and comfortably furnished, lovely king bed and roomy ensuite. The hotel itself is set I amongst the trees and had a cosy bar with a nice outside area The full English breakfast was great and certainly set us up for the day. We were only booked in one night to attend a show in brighton but really wished we had booked for two so we could have enjoyed more time there.

Reviewed by
D Sutton

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was well appointed and the bed comfortable but it was very hot and, being on the ground floor, it was difficult to have a window wide open all night. There was also a lot of noise from the room above into the early hours. The bar food was satisfactory although it was disappointing that they had run out of Australian shiraz. The breakfast was very disappointing with cold toast and cold coffee and little choice in the self service part apart from cereals. I was pleased that I booked the room at a reduced rate as I would have been very upset if I had paid the full rate.

Reviewed by
M Lillyman

From Sudbury, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel
Staff Excellant
Good Parking
Nice spacious room
Bar meal and breakfast very good
Will use it again

Reviewed by
Graham Miles

From Canterbury, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Back to an old haunt
We frequently stayed at the Roundabout in the 1970's and we were not disappointed with our stay in 2014. We shall return.

Reviewed by
A Bruce

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect
The best accommodation in a long while. Brilliant customer service, very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The room was very spacious for a single, modern and very clean.
I would definitely stay here again and would recommend this to others.
Food was lovely and the grounds and setting -very relaxing.

Reviewed by
S Thomas

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Very Pleasant Experience
I had not stayed here before, and booked this hotel as it was reasonably close to my morning appointment and the offer price was good. I was very pleasantly surprised by the hotel - first impression on entering the car park was really good. Then the relaxed atmosphere and customer service up to a really nice room over the front that was not at all noisy.
The food was plentiful and excellent.
Staff interacted with guests with ease.
And I slept well - which is always a good impression!

Reviewed by
C Brennan

From Caerdydd, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next