No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Roundabout Hotel

4AA Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
Monkemead Lane , West Chiltington, RH20 2PF
The Roundabout Hotel steeped in history and olde world charm was designed by Reginald Wells in 1925. Trained as a sculptor at the Royal College of Art in the 1890s, Reginald moved to Storrington with a dream of creating “the perfect English village”. He went onto achieve that dream, building more than 30 cottages in an estate that became known as Roundabouts. In early 2012, the hotel was refurbished to a high standard and now boasts a mixture of original features which sit in perfect harmony with its recent enhancements.

This country house hotel has been awarded the 4 Star AA Guest Accommodation Certificate. It has 26 Ensuite bedrooms which include charming, superior and luxury suites. There is a private resident’s lounge, a large comfy bar with exposed beams and open fires, which also provides access to the terrace and gardens, an a la carte restaurant, breakfast room, private dining and additional reception and meeting rooms.

Flat screen televisions, free Wi-Fi throughout, tea/coffee making facilities, bottled water, toiletries and Egyptian cotton bed lined are all part of the luxury that is offered at The Roundabout. All rooms are non-smoking

From the leaded light windows and feature turrets the beautiful Sussex countryside can be viewed. An idyllic spot, in West Chiltington, the Roundabout Hotel is the perfect haven for those wanting to escape the hullabaloo of today’s life. Cyclists can explore the local area; guests can enjoy nature walks or visit the local village church which is adorned with paintings dating back to the 12th century.

Despite this semi-rural picturesque location, Gatwick is only 40 minutes away with Storrington, Worthing, Brighton, Fontwell and Goodwood are all easily accessible.

Picture of Roundabout Hotel, West Chiltington at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 62 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Roundabout Hotel
The roundabout Hotel is well worth a visit,the staff were very accommodating & the hotel is well worth 4 stars! A lovely place to stay.The only let down was the breakfast,mine was OK but my partner asked for poached egg and was not impressed with what he had on his plate. When he asked for a yogurt (which was on the menu) he was told they had ran out,no further explanation. This is the only let down we had.

Reviewed by
Tina S

From Dereham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Delightful
As we were only staying one night we treated ourselves to the luxury four poster bed room. soooo glad we did. Fantastic room and made our one night away really special. Hotel very stylish and comfortable, room really tidy. If anything could be improved it was that they seemed short on staff as no one in reception when we arrived, followed the notice to go through to the bar but there was no staff there either. Only had to wait about 5 minutes however. The only other not is that full breakfast is included however if you prefer to have French toast it will be charged. This did not make sense. That said will defiantly look to stay there again if in the area.

Reviewed by
S Roynane

From Alton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Hotel to stay
My first comment is the hotel and particularly the staff exceeded my expectations. I stayed in room 110, which had a huge bed, separate sitting area with TV, tea and coffee, free internet and importantly CHARACTER. so this made me relaxed after a long working day. The restaurant food was good with the staff being polite, pleasant to talk to and efficient. The staff were key in making my "customer experience" for a night first class but relaxed.
My only dissappointmant was not arriving early enough to take a beer in the secluded garden. Thank you Roundabout Hotel

Reviewed by
Arthur Turner

From St Helens, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very comfortable room. We would have been totally happy if there had been a lock on the window so that we could have opened it a small way at night to get fresh air in. Being on the ground floor we did not feel it safe to keep it open without a lock.

Reviewed by
David H

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect end to a long day
Fantastic hotel, beautiful rooms, and great service. Food was exceptional - would definitely recommend

Reviewed by
S Bate

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A really nice weekend
We had a great room, very large with a 4 poster bed and a big bathroom. Staff excellent. Food very good.

Reviewed by
Christopher P

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel and location

Reviewed by
D Beatty

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hard to fault anything here
We gave the Roundabout 9.5 out of ten. I think this sums it up pretty well. Staff service at our evening meal was excellent. The room was up 2 flights of stairs, which is the only aspect which stopped it getting a perfect 10.

Reviewed by
David Courtney

From Shaftesbury, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Roundabout Hotel,W Chiltington,W Sussex
Driving to the hotel from Coolham direction, we found it difficult to locate the hotel, as the village of W C is diffuse in layout, without a recognisable centre. It took us about 40 minutes after arrival in the village, and in spite of locals trying to give us ( complicated) directions. Notwithstanding, once at the hotel parking was plentiful and the greeting at reception was friendly from a pleasant young man. The room allotted was comfortable, ( good bed), but there were no easy chairs. Shower was excellent. Lovely garden in evening sun where we enjoyed a refreshing drink from the bar. We took dinner in the attractive dining room and the soup and roast beef were excellent. Good night's sleep and very good breakfast served by a friendly lady. All in all a v satisfactory overnight experience and we would like to return here when we are next in vicinity.

Reviewed by
Richard Pritchard

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb hotel
This is an outstanding hotel , and that's why our 1 night stay turned into 2 as stayed on another night which was not planned .Each and every member of the staff were polite , friendly and attentive , the food was excellent too although the breakfast menu was a little lacking on the continental side and could do with crumpets, croissants and a fresh fruit salad . I will have no hesitation recommending this hotel for a great stay and will be returning very soon with other family members.

Reviewed by
BRENDA B

From Radstock, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next