No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Chequers Hotel Pulborough

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
OLD RECTORY LANE , PULBOROUGH, RH20 1AD
The Chequers Hotel is a small gem nestling on the edge of the south downs in the village of Pulborough. Less than half a mile from the railway station with regular trains via Gatwick airport to London and free parking. The Chequers Hotel is ideal for the business traveller who wants a quiet spot to unwind at the end of a busy day or the leisure traveller visiting the various attractions in the area, such as Pulborough Brooks, Parham House, Petworth House, Goodwood and Fontwell to name a few.
Picture of Chequers Hotel Pulborough, PULBOROUGH at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 25 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 97% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Delightful place
We had a lovely stay. Really nice room, great food and welcoming hosts.

Reviewed by
Linda J

From Dinas Powys, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Chequers hotel pulborough
It was a very old quaint hotel with sloping floors and very low llintle on the door into the annex in my room. It was well heated and a bonus especially in the middle of the night was the unde rfloor heating in the bathroom. The shower looked impressive but I found it difficult to use and the floor got flooded. Nice toiletries in the bathroom and the towels were adequate. I thought the bed was rather small and because the floor was at an angle it felt as if you were rolling to one side of the bed. The stairs to the upper floor were really narrow and steep. The breakfast was delicious with an impressive choice. I thought what I paid was expensive but it was the nearest hotel to the station

Reviewed by
lESLEY n

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay, would come again. Apparently my wife didn't rate her eggs benedict but my full English was great. She just ordered wrong.

Reviewed by
Charlie L

From Brighton, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Delightful
One of the most pleasant hotel rooms I have ever been stayed in. Beautifully decorated with obvious taste and care. Only drawback was a slightly hard bed.

Reviewed by
j needham

From sooke, Canada
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent base for South Downs walking
Extremely pleasant hotel, full of character and history. We enjoyed the comfort of our four poster bedroom and were made to feel very welcome. The food was really good quality, - particularly the lovely breakfasts that set us up well for some wet walks!

Reviewed by
Peter G

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

doorway hazard!
Lovely room but an internal 4 and a half doorway which we had to keep going through wasa nightmare. Unfortunately I didn't duck low enough one time and sustained a very bad head bruise. The staff when told agrred the doorway was a problem but wasn't particularly sympathetic.

Reviewed by
Sandra H

From St Ives, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Restaurant menue
the breakfast was excellent, but the menue for dinner was not to our taste, my wife prefers chicken meals which were absent from the menue. We did not eat in the restaurant for dinner.

Reviewed by
R GREEN

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful place
Chosen 5mins before leaving the house based on other reviews: could not have chosen better ,everything was excellent from the food ( we had an evening meal) to a very good breakfast. The rooms were well decorated and clean as were the bathrooms we could not have asked for nicer people running the hotel nothing was to much trouble and if you go on a Monday you have the added bonus of bell ringing practice at the near by church which was lovely! Great deal also so would go back any time.

Reviewed by
bridget c

From Redhill, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Business over-nighter
The hotel had good reviews but the room was a little cramped, the road noise meant I had to leave the window shut and the breakfast ingredients were not of a great quality. On the whole, OK but not great.

Reviewed by
Tom H

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Feedback on The Chequers Hotel Pulborough
Excellent hotel, everything was first class including friendliness of staff.

Reviewed by
R Osborne

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next