No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Cefn Mably Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
1 Lavernock Road, , Penarth, Penarth, CF64 3NW
The Hotel is located very near Penarth center and just 10 minutes drive to Cardiff City Center, Millennium Stadium as well as Cardiff’s biggest shopping center John Lewis.

If you wish to visit Millennium Opera or relax and enjoy a chic, cosmopolitan atmosphere at Cardiff Bay Mermaid Quay it is also 10 minutes drive from the Cefn Mably Hotel.

You can enjoy tranquil sea views from Penarth pier or just stay behind for a drink and a meal at Cefn Mably Pub.

• Free secure car park
• Great value Pub & Restaurant
• Six stylish en-suite bedrooms
• Free high speed WIFI internet
• Live Sports
Picture of Cefn Mably Hotel, Penarth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 29 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

greatvalue
Just 10 minutes from Millenium Centre, but less then £60, and really helpful service, excellent. If you are a snob, don't thinkof staying. If you appreciate good value and helpful staff, this is the best you will get, and easy to access centre by taxi.

Reviewed by
KEITH RICHARDSON

From Saundersfoot, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A friendly warm welcome, I would stay here again.
The room was very clean, bright and comfortable. The staff were very helpful.

Reviewed by
T Cannell

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fine
No problems at all

Reviewed by
Matthew D

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money and adequate for a quick trip. Owners pleasant and efficient. Could do with a clean up outside.WiFi very good

Reviewed by
Tony W

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent value
Clean , well equipped and room cleaned and stocked daily
Arrived at 10 am, was supposed to book in at 3, asked if I could leave my bags and
The lovely owners and staff had my room ready in minutes

Reviewed by
carla c

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No Breakfast
Would have preferred a breakfast as they say they are a hotel, but it is really pub accomodation.

Reviewed by
Graham H

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor customer service. Not recommended!!!
Pre-paid my booking for a business trip and notified my late arrival. I was told by a clerk to callback as she is not aware of the policies. Later on being transferred after waiting for ages and was told to leave my work to check in before 11pm. If ill be late..I was told that I need to pay for the salaries of the waiting clerk/s. Poor service and management. Get other hotels that is much premium to get a much better service. Not recommended. 1 star will be too much to offer..tsk, tsk!!!

ManagementResponse

Our hotel does not have a 24 hour reception, it states clearly at our description box on the website that latest check in must be done by 10pm. Guest rang at 9 pm to tell us he will be arriving at 1am, to which we replied that we can not stay open until 1 o'clock in the morning to wait for him and he would have to pay extra cost to cover our out of hours costs. We suggest next time to double check with hotels their check in policies before booking a room. We also suggest not to mix up poor customer services and poor reading abilities, because every hotel has its own policies you need to read before booking.

Reviewed by
R Alvarez

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice, welcoming, Welsh pub-hotel
Made to feel very welcome, despite turning up ridiculously late on the first night.

Reviewed by
B McNeil

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Standard accomodation, clean and adequate (above a bar). Some music before midnight but no noise afterwards. Very friendly and helpful staff.

Reviewed by
F C

From Clitheroe, England
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value hotel
I prefer to staya little out of town so Penarth was ideal for me. The hotel is 10-12 mins walk from the station and there are regular trains into Cardiff. Buses run too. The staff were very pleasant and helpful during my stay. Rooms are spotless but basic. Flat-screen TV with Freeview and tea/coffee making facility in rooms. My only issue was that of breakfast - or lack of it. Hotel doesn't provide breakfast and there is NOWHERE to get any in the vicinity. This really lets th hotel down. Otherwise, would recommend

Reviewed by
Sean W

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next