No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Burlington Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
GRAND PARADE , EASTBOURNE, BN21 3YN
Boasting Grade 2 listing status, The Burlington Hotel is a grand and impressive hotel, ideally situated on Eastbourne’s picturesque seafront. The hotel overlooks the spectacular Carpet Gardens and Victorian pier and is within comfortable walking distance of the town’s wide variety of shops and local theatres as well as the seafront. One of our largest hotels, the Burlington has 161 bedrooms including many with spectacular sea views and the opportunity to upgrade to a Superior or Premier room. The restaurant has been recently refurbished and there is also a well appointed bar and coffee lounge serving refreshments throughout the day. Located at the base of the beautiful South Downs, Eastbourne has enough to keep the most enthusiastic visitor busy with abundant history, numerous scenic castles and lots of places of interest to see.

The Burlington Hotel has limited car parking.
Picture of The Burlington Hotel, EASTBOURNE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 39 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
65% recommended this accommodation to a friend 79% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

appalling service
I arrives at the hotel several jours prior to the check in time of 3pm and asked If i could park my car in their carpark. (The hotel booking form clearly states i couldnt book a space in advance) however i was told it was fully booked, yet their were plenty of spaces throughout the period of my stay ????.
Once in my room things didnt improve. There was Bird poo all over the Windows, the lighg w soan infra red lamp to see anything and the TV only received BBC 1 clearly, and the set was so old Noah was watching it when the rains came !!!!

Reviewed by
Steve Blount

From Margate, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

comfort
I enjoyed staying at the Burlington hotel, it was very clean and comfy bed for the night I stayed. it was very reasonable for the money which included waiter service at breakfast time. I would certainly stay again if in the area.

Reviewed by
r singleton

From Hereford, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely friendly hotel
We made a late booking and could not have been more pleased. Our room 407 was huge. There wasn't much of an outlook but watched a beautiful sunset.
We only had breakfast which was a little cold. There was a good menu at a reasonable price.
We had a lovely refreshing sleep and would go back again.

Reviewed by
Shirley K

From Seaford, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

my stay
the room was clean window was filthy. covered in bird droppings. woken up 430 am by pigeons, never got back to sleep.

Reviewed by
d monk

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value
as a late booker on a Sunday night; just £25 including breakfast and placed in a good quality room. Sorry to mark the customer service down because the night porter and breakfast staff were all attentive and polite. But check out was perfunctory; no smiles and I felt in the way. Interested to know why the owners believe that anyone, including the coach parties from the north, would want to have breakfast items displayed in pan-like tins. Come on. A bit more crockery for serving dishes would transform the tacky look. Nevertheless, I recommend it.

Reviewed by
Paul Walker

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

GREAT VALUE ,GREAT LOCATION, VERY BUSY,GREAT STAFF

Reviewed by
R HORGAN

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful position but room in need of make-over
Well situated hotel, right on the seafront. Although we booked one night with Laterooms.com, this was before a four day break booked direct with Shearings. Our room for the four nights had a sea view which was great but did need a make-over, tired and shabby. The windows were in a very poor state as was the bathroom. No digital TV! The hotel's communal areas seemed newly decorated and were very pleasant. Dining room service excellent, food o.k. Evening entertainment - we enjoyed it.

Reviewed by
C Larcey

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bathroom very small very tired looking almost to narrow to move around in.ok for one night brief stay

Reviewed by
June D

From Bognor Regis, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Burlington Hotel, Eastbourne
A pleasant stay, on the whole. The customer service was generally good, although my reception could have been better. I was told simply that my room (250) was "on the second floor", but had some difficulty finding it as the room numbers run systematically up to 244, after which there is a gap to 250 (i.e. no rooms 245-249). The head waiter also seemed non-plussed by my arrival, and had to hurriedly prepare a table for me at breakfast. I was obliged to change tables three times during my six-day stay. There was also a general shabbiness about parts of the interior, and a large crack in the wall of my room, although general cleanliness was very good. All in all, the accommodation was passable, and the deficiencies would not put me off going again, especially as my room was only £25.00/ night, so I did get value for money.

Reviewed by
S Smith

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value, dining a little disorganised
I enjoyed my stay at the Burlington. It is ideally located with sea views and is just across from Eastbourne pier where a lot of bus services start. Terminus Road which leads to the pedestrian shopping area and cafes and restaurants is just around the corner. I stayed on a B&B deal and as a single traveller, was given a twin room for single occupancy. Sadly I didn't have a sea view but considering the deal I got, I didn't mind this. The hotel is part of the Shearings Group whose target target is senior citizens and the vast majority of guests were of the older generation. I prefer a quitter place to stay so I didn't mind this. Although I was out of the hotel most of the time, there is an entertainment programme that goes on until midnight with entertainers, singers and discos if that's your sort of thing. Mu only real quibble was the seating for breakfast. The first morning I asked where I should sit. Some hotels allocate specific tables to your room. It took 3 members of staff to sort out where I could sit. The next day I went to the same table only to be interrupted midway through my meal by a judgmental elderly couple, clearly upset as I was sitting at "their" table. They obviously complained as I was asked by the manager to sit at a different table for next morning's breakfast. The serving staff were friendly and efficient but this disorganisation was noticeable. Overall, the hotel was fine and certainly value for money.

Reviewed by
M Niel

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next