No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Wickwoods Country Club Hotel and Spa

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
Wickwoods Country Club, Shaves Wood Lane , Hassocks, BN6 9DY
WICKWOODS IS CURRENTLY DEVELOPING A NEW DINING AREA. SOME DISTURBANCE MAY BE EXPERIENCED FOR GUESTS BETWEEN THE HOURS OF 8AM AND 4PM MONDAY TO FRIDAY.

Wickwoods Country Club, Hotel & Spa which offers Memberships, Wedding/Functions, Beauty Treatments, Spa Days and Accommodation is set amongst 22 acres of glorious landscaped gardens and woodland within the South Downs National Park. It lies just south of the village of Albourne in West Sussex and is an easy drive from Brighton as well as being close to Burgess Hill, Hayward’s Heath, Horsham and Worthing.

Each of our bedrooms is individually designed with its own character. Facilities are en-suite and include TV, tea & coffee making facilities, hairdryers, trouser press and free Wi-Fi. All bedrooms have a double bed - available for single or double occupancy. Our Premier Room offers a sleigh bed with a balcony overlooking our beautiful gardens. No passing traffic, only the sound of birds!

If you wish to use our comprehensive Club facilities a day pass can be purchased for adults £10 and Children £5, which include an indoor heated swimming pool, sauna, steam room and spa-bath. We also offer a brand new fully equipped gym, exercise studio and 6 flood-lit tennis courts with 2 covered courts in the Winter months.
Picture of Wickwoods Country Club Hotel and Spa, Hassocks at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 13 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 76% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Birthday surprise for other half
Hotel was very nice especially the Glass House, we had Sunday lunch which was delicious could not fault it and there was plenty of it!. We booked the luxury room (room 7) which was spacious, the bathroom was compact (sit on the loo and if your not careful you would bang you head on the shower screen which is directly in front of you) and in my opinion probably could of done with either a re-grout or good scrub as there was black mould around the bottom of the shower enclosure. The king size bed was sooo comfortable and difficult to get out of in the morning (nearly missed the delicious breakfast). I was a bit concerned as there appeared to be a fire exit which lead into the room we stayed in! the fire exit door also appeared to let the sound from the next room through (heard a lady drying her hair talking about a wine tasting). The stay was a Birthday surprise for my other half and we were looking forward to celebrating with a good drink at the bar in the evening, hence the reason we had a early dinner (5pm), but that was not to be - as the bar closed at 7.30pm!!!! so no drink :(we were told because it was a Sunday they closed early, not sure if this is every Sunday so I would check before you book especially if you want to sample the alcohol at the bar. The setting of the hotel was magnificent and very well looked after, we listened to the birds singing on our very own private balcony which was a treat. Staff were very attentive and friendly.

Reviewed by
Della H

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing weekend away
Excellent room for the price. Great breakfast included and delicious light evening meal from an impressive menu. Pool, gym, hydrotherapy pool and steam room perfect for a relaxing time to unwind. All staff cheerful, friendly and helpful. Very convenient for Brighton but not easy to find without SatNav.

Reviewed by
Peter Thomas

From Chelmsford, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place
Everything was fine except the WiFi in the room which was poor to non existent. Therefore all work had to be done in the bar so confidential stuff could not be done.
Otherwise a pleasant clean place to stay.

Reviewed by
Barry M

From , UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excelllent
i wonderful stay. when i booked, i had not anticipated the high quality i would experience. The staff were so friendly and helpful, the facilities and pool were wonderful, the food was very good, and the accommodation was comfortable and of a high standard. thank you for making the stay so relaxing. i would recommend this hotel to anyone staying for a conference or business trip to brighton , who wanted to get away from the busy town, and enjoy the beautiful sussex countryside.

Reviewed by
A Patel

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room with a view
Excellent room with views across gardens and tennis courts. Spent the evening on the balcony after eating in the superb dining room.
Room was clean and had all you could wish for. One of the best places I have stayed in.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for providing a review of Wickwoods we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.

Reviewed by
P Berwick

From Kettering, England
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect
This hotel was perfect for us. Clean, comfortable and quiet.

Reviewed by
Pam A

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An enjoyable and relaxing weekend break. The room was comfortable and a good size, though despite being a double it had only been set up for one person so we had to request additional supplies.
As the club is primarily used as a health and sports club for members we did feel that the receptionist was not particularly informative to us as non-members on our arrival.
I would highly recommend the swimming pool ,jacuzzi , steam room and sauna. We did not use the gym or spa. We were lucky enough to have some sunshine and enjoy a drink out in the pleasant garden area.
The breakfast was OK though nothing special. The restaurant and bar closed too early for an evening meal and drink therefore we had to find a good pub in Henfield instead.
Overall we would recommend Wickwoods for a late rooms deal if you are looking for a pleasant environment in which to relax.

Reviewed by
Rachel R

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

wickwoods excellent
first time in a country club and wow, very impressed would stay again. thank you.

Reviewed by
Doz Long

From Uxbridge, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant room, bit chilly, mean with spa access
Stayed in March 2013 for one night. A pleasant and spacious room, but heating not on and took several hours for electric heater to warm the place up. Spa was very good, swimming pool, jacuzzi, and steam room divine, but had to pay an extra £10 each to enter on the day of arrival - didn't mind too much, but then they wanted ANOTHER £10 each if we wanted to swim in the morning - which I thought unreasonable and mean. Also hotel guests had to have a different breakfast menu from everyone else, and we not allowed to use the patio. Made us feel unwelcome and seemed just plain silly. After all they only have six rooms so the facilities would hardly be inundated. In fact there was barely anyone there on the Saturday night we stayed.

Reviewed by
Allison M

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best spa we've stayed in!!
Lovely room, beautiful spa, great food, spotlessly clean, excellent staff. What more can I say!

Reviewed by
Michael W

From Crawley, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next