Wickwoods Country Club Hotel and Spa

3

Wickwoods Country Club, Shaves Wood Lane, Hassocks, BN6 9DY

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (15)

93% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Frances A

  • May 2015

A good stay

We had a good stay.

Good room and breakfast. Lovely spa and pool area.

  • A Feeney

  • April 2015

Lovely hotel.

Really helpful staff.

Nothing was too much trouble. Lovely room, facilities and nice food. Would recommend.

  • S Kynaston

  • April 2015

Excellent

Very well presented hotel with excellent attention to detail from a team of diligent staff.

Facilities are great (though at a cost) and the politeness and 'little gestures' from the staff was fantastic. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Karin Ridgers

  • March 2015

A super stay and will be visiting again

I wanted to stay a little outside of Brighton and so pleased that I found Wickwoods.

Very helpful staff and friendly too. I used the swimming pool and gym and glad that they keep these open late as I was running late. They open early in the morning too which was ideal for me. A lovely place and I felt very comfortable. They had a members event on and called me to warn me that there may be some noise which was appreciated. I didnt hear a thing!!. The breakfast was lovely too and they catered fine for me being vegan. Will definitely go back. I deal to stay there or if visiting Brighton.

  • Wayne D

  • November 2014

Room and the hotel was very nice but it was a shame that when I arrived at 7.20pm the restaurant closed at 6pm on a sunday and the bar closed at 8pm.

So a pack of crisps and a pint of coke wasnt ideal for dinner. Presume if I stayed during the week it would be open longer!

  • WILLIAM BLANE

  • November 2014

Rather noisy at light over bar

  • M Lavers

  • September 2014

All good

  • D Sampson

  • August 2014

Luxury Spa break on a budget

What a find!.

The country club has superb facilities which are all spotless and in top notch condition. There are only 7 rooms and please don't expect 5* but our room (No 5) was clean and very comfortable. It wasn't a huge room but had a small dressing area and ensuite and met our requirements perfectly. The ensuite decor was dated, but the shower was good and powerful, everything was well maintained and the rest of the room had recently been updated with modern decor and furnishings, flat screen TV, etc. The bed was comfortable and we enjoyed a good night's sleep. Nice extras included a bottle of water, robes, ironing facilities and a fan. Using the spa facilities is an extra £10pp/day but well worth it and the hotel makes this clear upon booking. They also said we could use the same spa pass the following morning, which I wasn't expecting - making it more of a 'per night' pass not just per day. We paid £100pn B&B on Late Rooms. So for £120 we effectively got a superb spa break for 2 people - bargain!. Facilities include: decent sized indoor pool, hydo-pool with various different jacuzzi beds and a water jet, sauna, aromatherapy steam room, well equipped gym (we didn't use this but it looked impressive), indoor and outdoor tennis courts, table tennis, classes and spa treatments (extra charge obviously!). We didn't eat dinner at the hotel as they were hosting a themed Spanish night and unfortunately it was all booked up - although we could have eaten in the bar area had we wanted to. The spanish night looked and smelled good though. Instead the receptionist recommended a pub just down the road called the Ginger Fox which was FANTASTIC. Not the cheapest menu but total value for money and fabulous food. We did have breakfast (included) at the hotel and that was delicious. And HUGE!. They don't skimp on quality, service or value here. Also, nice to have 'proper' butchers sausages and bacon. Also, on arrival we ordered a cream tea which we had on the lovely terrace. As it was later in the afternoon we decided a full afternoon tea might be a bit much, but I was delighted to see that even the cream tea was served on a pretty cake stand (I have a thing about that!). Cream teas come with 2 scones so we shared one and it was plenty. The scones were delicious, fresh, quite large and hot out of the oven with generous pots of cream and jam. We added a glass of prosecco each with ours to start the break off nicely and it was perfect. Would we come here again. Definitely - and we'll probably bring more people with us. Thank you for a wonderful mini-break!

  • Della H

  • April 2014

Birthday surprise for other half

Hotel was very nice especially the Glass House, we had Sunday lunch which was delicious could not fault it and there was plenty of it!.

We booked the luxury room (room 7) which was spacious, the bathroom was compact (sit on the loo and if your not careful you would bang you head on the shower screen which is directly in front of you) and in my opinion probably could of done with either a re-grout or good scrub as there was black mould around the bottom of the shower enclosure. The king size bed was sooo comfortable and difficult to get out of in the morning (nearly missed the delicious breakfast). I was a bit concerned as there appeared to be a fire exit which lead into the room we stayed in. the fire exit door also appeared to let the sound from the next room through (heard a lady drying her hair talking about a wine tasting). The stay was a Birthday surprise for my other half and we were looking forward to celebrating with a good drink at the bar in the evening, hence the reason we had a early dinner (5pm), but that was not to be - as the bar closed at 7.30pm!!!. so no drink :(we were told because it was a Sunday they closed early, not sure if this is every Sunday so I would check before you book especially if you want to sample the alcohol at the bar. The setting of the hotel was magnificent and very well looked after, we listened to the birds singing on our very own private balcony which was a treat. Staff were very attentive and friendly.

  • Peter Thomas

  • November 2013

Relaxing weekend away

Excellent room for the price.

Great breakfast included and delicious light evening meal from an impressive menu. Pool, gym, hydrotherapy pool and steam room perfect for a relaxing time to unwind. All staff cheerful, friendly and helpful. Very convenient for Brighton but not easy to find without SatNav.