New Cosmopolitan Hotel

3

29-31 New Steine, Marine Parade,, Brighton, BN2 1PD

Price From 85.32 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (49)

55% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Matthew B

  • April 2015

Overall Good B & B. Friendly staff but noisy guests

Welcomed by Friendly staff with check in from 3pm.

Room no more than 13ft x 13ft in size, but was sufficient for the one night we stayed. Clean room however we encountered noise from the room directly above us from 1-2am (sounded like heels walking across a wooden floor)

The breakfast was good with a choice of cereal or cooked breakfast. We stayed over the easter break therefore anticipated the place to be busy, which it was. The rate we paid came to £109 which seemed a lot but considering it being the easter weekend, this would be the going rate for a place a 100 yards from the Brighton Pier.

  • sarah b

  • April 2015

Awful cold draughty room.

No remote control for the nice tv. only one tea bag with no spoon. Was greeted to a gang of dodgy looking men in reception. In the morning there was a pile of sick on the entrance hall mat. No one on reception at 8am.

  • Kaylee S

  • December 2014

1 night stay

I stayed in a room that slept 3 people (1 double, 1 single) and was really cheap (£22 each).

The room was basic, but for somewhere to rest your head at night it did the job. We didn't come to Brighton to spend our time in a hotel so we weren't too bothered that it wasn't luxurious. Breakfast was included and we had a standard english breakfast, again just basic really. The staff were really friendly and helped us with taxi's etc which was lovely. The hotel is in need of a bit of a makeover, but for £22 each it was perfect for a cheap weekend away.

  • K Talbot

  • November 2014

Lovely evening

The gentleman on reception was very welcoming and helpful.

Our room had all the facilities we required and there was plenty of soap, shampoo, towels, tea and coffee. We had a lovely view from our window of the pier. Although the decor in our room was tired and dated, the hotel is currently undergoing a refurb which I'm sure will improve all the rooms. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a pleasant stay in Brighton.

  • alfred fry

  • November 2014

Tip top

Most helpfull staff nothing was any trouble to them,food excellent, easy walk to Palace Pier and all the lovely things Brighton has to offer when you stay here you can not help but to enjoy your stay.

  • Thelma Britz

  • October 2014

Convenient base

The single room was very small but adequate.

It was in need of some refurb. but was clean, comfortable, quiet, on the ground floor, and en-suite. I have stayed before with a friend in a ground floor double room with a good view of the big wheel and pier. No view this time but perfectly suited to my needs - visiting family and out and about all day. Excellent for buses to station and all around Brighton; not so good for car parking but fine for just dropping off.

  • L Lau

  • October 2014

acceptable, but only just

The staff were extremely friendly, but this did not compensate for the rather low quality of the room and the hotel, which was very poor value for money.

The building was old, creaky, badly insulated, in a state of disrepair. Our room, while relatively clean at least, had lights which did not work, very flat thin pillows, a dim small ceiling lamp, everything looked rather worn. There was not even a chair in the room. What furniture there was, was flimsy, cheap, old. And the cleaning service did not even wash used cups or change the towels. Considering the high price of the room, it was frankly a big let down and disappointment. The mandatory breakfast - mandatory to be included in the price of the room, that is - was certainly nothing to write home about either. The hotel reception was often unstaffed, and the foyer was just a small room with shabby cushions - regretfully, this was the only part of the hotel one could access Wi-Fi - which is not available in the rooms. Overall, I can safely say I will never choose this hotel again, with its somewhat dismal and definitely overpriced rooms.

  • Andrew Heenan

  • September 2014

Cheap 'n' cheerful

The room was small, the furniture tatty, but the sheets were great, the room was clean, the shower worked a treat ...

for a couple of days on a budget, I don't think you'll find mch better in Brighton (OK, Kemptown, but only 10 minutes walk from the Dome, 4 minutes from the beach. I wish - I hardly saw it!).

  • Alan S

  • September 2014

Pleasant economical hotel

This is a pleasant enough hotel, clean and safe.

My room was tiny and staff too rushed to have time to be friendly, but I would have no hesitation in returning

  • J Edwards

  • September 2014

Service was wonderful but a lot was left to be desired.

What can I say about this hotel.

From the outside it looks very clean and well maintained. However, from stepping inside the door the cliche not to judge a book by its cover springs to mind. Whilst the communal areas were clean and tidy, and the breakfast dining room was modern and clean, and tastefully decorated, the bedrooms are tired and in desperate need of renovation and a deep clean. The bathroom window didn't close, and there was cobwebs hanging from the corners and the ceilings. The bed was loose, and the mattress was lumpy. I also noticed in the morning that the bedding wasn't too clean either. The breakfast was adequate, although one morning they was very busy, and I had to ask three times for a coffee cup with my coffee, and I was given my toast, which was more like warmed bread, and no knife to spread my butter. Bacon was nice and thick, and the egg was cooked to perfection. On the busy morning they forgot to add the mushrooms and baked beans. Service was absolutely excellent, and couldn't have asked for more friendly or helpful staff. Bottom line, would I stay here again. Maybe, but it certainly wouldn't be my first choice.