No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - New Cosmopolitan Hotel

3Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
29-31 New Steine, Marine Parade, , Brighton, BN2 1PD
The New Cosmopolitan in Brighton is a English Period Guest House with Character situated in a prime position in the New Steine, one of Brighton's famous seafront garden squares. Whether your visit to Brighton is for business or pleasure, we at the New Cosmopolitan Guest House can assure you of a most pleasurable and comfortable stay.

Superb views of the beach and Palace Pier can be enjoyed from our coffee lounge and many of our bedrooms.

St James Street with all the restaurants, bars and clubs close to hand is close. Our lounge bar Reception is open untlll 11pm. We have no lifts.

Our rooms are comfortable, and many offer fantastic sea views of Brighton's sea front. Guests are in a fantastic location for visiting the theatre and for shopping. Also, the NewCosmopolitan Guest House puts guests in the perfect position for the colourful Pride Festival, which happens every year. You will not be stuck for things to do in Brighton, and our Guest House is the perfect place from which to see everything.

:"We have a function room available for more than 50 people, if you would like organize any event(wedding hen parties,etc.) please do not hesitate to contact us."
Picture of New Cosmopolitan Hotel, Brighton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 44 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
52% recommended this accommodation to a friend 59% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

acceptable, but only just
The staff were extremely friendly, but this did not compensate for the rather low quality of the room and the hotel, which was very poor value for money. The building was old, creaky, badly insulated, in a state of disrepair. Our room, while relatively clean at least, had lights which did not work, very flat thin pillows, a dim small ceiling lamp, everything looked rather worn. There was not even a chair in the room. What furniture there was, was flimsy, cheap, old. And the cleaning service did not even wash used cups or change the towels. Considering the high price of the room, it was frankly a big let down and disappointment. The mandatory breakfast - mandatory to be included in the price of the room, that is - was certainly nothing to write home about either. The hotel reception was often unstaffed, and the foyer was just a small room with shabby cushions - regretfully, this was the only part of the hotel one could access Wi-Fi - which is not available in the rooms! Overall, I can safely say I will never choose this hotel again, with its somewhat dismal and definitely overpriced rooms.

Reviewed by
L Lau

From Newcastle, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap 'n' cheerful
The room was small, the furniture tatty, but the sheets were great, the room was clean, the shower worked a treat ... for a couple of days on a budget, I don't think you'll find mch better in Brighton (OK, Kemptown, but only 10 minutes walk from the Dome, 4 minutes from the beach. I wish - I hardly saw it!).

Reviewed by
Andrew Heenan

From Canterbury, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant economical hotel
This is a pleasant enough hotel, clean and safe. My room was tiny and staff too rushed to have time to be friendly, but I would have no hesitation in returning

Reviewed by
Alan S

From Ottery St Mary, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Service was wonderful but a lot was left to be desired.
What can I say about this hotel. From the outside it looks very clean and well maintained. However, from stepping inside the door the cliche not to judge a book by its cover springs to mind. Whilst the communal areas were clean and tidy, and the breakfast dining room was modern and clean, and tastefully decorated, the bedrooms are tired and in desperate need of renovation and a deep clean. The bathroom window didn't close, and there was cobwebs hanging from the corners and the ceilings. The bed was loose, and the mattress was lumpy. I also noticed in the morning that the bedding wasn't too clean either. The breakfast was adequate, although one morning they was very busy, and I had to ask three times for a coffee cup with my coffee, and I was given my toast, which was more like warmed bread, and no knife to spread my butter. Bacon was nice and thick, and the egg was cooked to perfection. On the busy morning they forgot to add the mushrooms and baked beans. Service was absolutely excellent, and couldn't have asked for more friendly or helpful staff. Bottom line, would I stay here again? Maybe, but it certainly wouldn't be my first choice.

Reviewed by
J Edwards

From Rochdale, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mislead
Rooms are more like student digs

Reviewed by
Patrick W

From South Africa
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice clean room, lovely view, excellent service. I booked 2 nights separately so I would have to change rooms on the 2nd night but they went out of their way so we could keep the same room

Reviewed by
Ronnie Day

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

New Cosmopolitan
The whole place is in need of decorating. The carpets need replacing. Mould issues need addressing. Very small room. On the plus side, lovely sheets and towels. Staff very pleasant. Breakfast good.

Reviewed by
Ann A

From Bushey, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The New Cosmopolitan Hotel, Brighton
I was very disappointed with my stay at the New Cosmopolitan Hotel. I am reluctant to write reviews that put places down but they really need to improve their customer service and the cleanliness of the hotel.
When I opened my room, the door handle was broken and I found the back of the door filthy and stained with muck. I was surprised that there wasn't even a waste-paper bin in my room and there was 1 sachet of coffee which was only added to on my third day at the hotel.
During breakfast time, another customer at the hotel was asked to move seats even though the breakfast room was empty and there was no reason to do so. The cooked English breakfast was cold and I had to send it back twice after I asked for my breakfast without mushrooms only to be given half a plateful. Even as I was eating my toast the waiter took my jam and knife (there were only 4 plates of jam for all guests to share!) so that I had to go to the kitchen and ask for more. It was a bit like a scene from Fawlty Towers.
I was disappointed to read the Hotel 'welcome' brochure that opened with the threat to remove guests caught smoking. I'm not a smoker myself but surely they could have started on a more friendly note! Perhaps they could have provided leaflets/maps to give guests an idea of what there is to see and do in Brighton.
If there were any positives, the hotel is well located close to the seafront and Brighton Pier in Kemp Town. Brighton itself is a lovely city and I would highly recommend it as a destination, if not at this hotel.
It was a shame that the hotel was kept so badly as the staff were generally friendly. I really hope that they can carry out the many necessary improvements.

Reviewed by
A York

From Darlington, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location friendly staff a work in progress......

Reviewed by
Morag McLeod

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A value for money hotel
The reception staff were very pleasant. The room was adequate. [Single rooms are never very spacious]. the bed was comfortable and clean, and the bathroom was clean with a very efficient shower. Overall good value for money.

Reviewed by
geraldine cook

From Shrewsbury, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next