No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - New Cosmopolitan Hotel

3Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
29-31 New Steine, Marine Parade, , Brighton, BN2 1PD
The New Cosmopolitan in Brighton is a English Period Guest House with Character situated in a prime position in the New Steine, one of Brighton's famous seafront garden squares. Whether your visit to Brighton is for business or pleasure, we at the New Cosmopolitan Guest House can assure you of a most pleasurable and comfortable stay.

Superb views of the beach and Palace Pier can be enjoyed from our coffee lounge and many of our bedrooms.

St James Street with all the restaurants, bars and clubs close to hand is close. Our lounge bar Reception is open untlll 11pm. We have no lifts.

Our rooms are comfortable, and many offer fantastic sea views of Brighton's sea front. Guests are in a fantastic location for visiting the theatre and for shopping. Also, the NewCosmopolitan Guest House puts guests in the perfect position for the colourful Pride Festival, which happens every year. You will not be stuck for things to do in Brighton, and our Guest House is the perfect place from which to see everything.

:"We have a function room available for more than 50 people, if you would like organize any event(wedding hen parties,etc.) please do not hesitate to contact us."
Picture of New Cosmopolitan Hotel, Brighton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 31 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
51% recommended this accommodation to a friend 58% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good location and friendley needs some T,L,C.
over priced for what's on offer for your money needs money spending on the place.

Reviewed by
Michael F

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bargain
Sat 21st july a hott summers day in peak season. Room just for the one nihht in brighton was so expensive. Used Late room' Two nights before yhe saturday and got two twins for 4 peole (one night only) for £39.50 each!! Totslly awesome. Three stars, next to beach and pier. Staff were nice and helpful. Room clean comfortable. Had tea and coffee but I unfortunately no soap. Should have asked but a bit too (well lets just say I enjoyed the bars too much lol). Can do late check out for £20 so 1 instead of 11 (most needed).

Reviewed by
D Dexter

From Guildford, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not a good hotel
We arrived and left our luggage there as you cannot check in until 3pm which was OK. The location is great, just over the road from the beach. The room was awful, on the ground floor, so small, looked out on rubbish and no shower only a bath.
We got back to the room 1.00am ready to sleep and there was a drip outside which dripped constantly through the night, it was awful. Complained the next morning and reception said they would get a plumber, 3pm that afternoon no plumber and we refused to sleep there again so they put us in another room. This was much better, bigger and with a shower. No dripping.
Would not stay there again. Very tired, worn out rooms and expensive for what you get.

Reviewed by
Mary Quigley

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Price = experience
1. Surprised unable to check in pre 3 pm ~ offered to be called when we could access room no call , 2. Room 9 had toilet but no shower & crack in bath & wobbly toilet 3. Wifi dreadful, guests sitting on stairs to access.4. Fridges only available in reception not room, breakfast times v limited until 9 Monday w:out exception, 5. Dripping pipe meant 2 nights constant dripping 6. Don't rely on coffee room amenities. Alberto lovely always happy to help where possible.7. Price relaxedness = possible cheap return visit

Reviewed by
Natalie H

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Long weekend in Brighton
The first room we were given on our stay was horrendous for the money we had paid for a 3 night stay for two. After my partner complained to the manager we were offered a completely different room which was far better. Although why we didn't get that room first is a bit disappointing but the manager was very quick in sorting out our unsatisfactory accommodation. The breakfast is something to be desired too not a very large "full english" and not very well presented 1 rasher of bacon 1 anaemic sausage 1 bullet fried egg 1/2 hard tomato 12 baked beans and 8 slices of mushroom anaemic toast tea or coffee the jam or marmalade was in a dish on a counter away from the table which meant you had to take your toast across the dining room to put preserve on it not a very practical idea in my book. Also the milk had run out to put on cereal and there was a wait to get it replenished. Although tea/coffee/sugar/milk was supplied well in the room. In my opinion I was overcharged for our weekend stay as there are quite a few glitches that need attending and really is not worth the 3 stars claimed. If the problems were sorted out and all rooms were habitable and the charges were in line with service's offered then I would stay again the staff were as helpful as they could be with what they had to work with these glitches are down to owners not staff.

Reviewed by
Judy meanwell

From Bury St Edmunds, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fab location very friendly staff
Great location 2 minutes walk to see front, can see sea from room.
hot breakfast included which we were not expecting.
all staff very friendly & helpful.
big bright room.
Easy to find.
Enjoyed time at the hotel many thanks

Reviewed by
G Ottewell

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

value for money
my wife and i stayed at the new cosmopolitan guest house which was a little tricky to find as the signage was small.we had three flights of stairs to climb luckily we were only staying the one night so not much luggage.the place could have used a lick of paint as well as new carpet which in some places was really threadbare.the room was in need of some tlc as some of the walls were stained.bedding was clean and the beds were comfy.the best part of the stay was a fresh cooked breakfast which was very nice.the room cost £39 which was a good price if you just want somewhere to crash to sleep this is a good value room.

Reviewed by
d lindsay

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Horrendous!!!!!!!! Waste of money do not go!! Go to sea spray 2 doors down!
So bad that we asked to change room but there were no more rooms available so we asked for a refund and the manager would only give us 20% back which was ridiculous! I was only checked in for an hour I put my things upstairs n went to park the car. When my partner and I went into the room again we just couldn't bare to stay there. Nothing was used! Bed was dipping in the middle, paint off walls, shower looked old, lighting bad, room smelled and we had a horrendous court yard view! Where u hear a buzzing noise from outside and the squeaking of the fire door outside the door! I've been to many hotels in Brighton and would not match this with other 3 star hotels I've been 2!
Late room originally said this room was over £200 there's no way this could be true!! Manager said it's because it's off peak season so the room is cheaper but no way would anyone pay over £200 for that room in peak season! I understand no refund policy but we were not happy with the room and even the receptionist said in this case we would move you but we can't so it was unfair we couldn't get a full refund especially when the manager said "can you hurry up and make a decision if you are going to leave or not as I have someone potentially interested in the room" .... So he had a replacement yet couldn't give us a full refund?! Outrageous!!!!! Even the carpet on the stairs was coming off which isn't hotel standard! We went to sea spray instead 2 doors down 100% times better! Looked and smelled fantastic!
The photos on late room were misleading! The staff were nice just unfortunately unreasonable when it came to this!

Reviewed by
Megan K

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We were made to feel very welcome, the room was very basic but clean and comfortable
The hotel was rather tired as regards to decoration the room we had was a standard double which was very basic but spotlessly clean a couple of chairs in the room would made all the difference to us as the bed was rather low for just sitting on. The position of the hotel was good with regards to walking into town for the main attractions.

Reviewed by
M Martin

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Worse than I even imagined it could be
From the downtrodden, rude man at reception to the light fittings falling off the wall in the room, the dirty floor, the hot tap that didn't work, the layers upon layers of mould in the shower, the cracks in the wall, the heating that threatened to cook me alive, the window that wouldn't fully close and the toilet that had the flushing power of a crying child. I can safely say this is truly the worst guest house or hotel experience I've ever endured and given the choice I feel next time I may just kip on the pier.

Reviewed by
Colin R

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next