No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Sandman Signature Hotel Newcastle

4Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Gallowgate , Newcastle upon Tyne, NE1 4SD

Simply the Guest Awards Winner

Categories: Luxury & Customer Service 2013
Based on 100% genuine guest reviews.

The Sandman Signature Hotel Newcastle sits in the city center of Newcastle, surrounded by key attractions in the city such as the iconic Newcastle United Football Club Stadium, Metro Radio Arena, China Town, city center shopping district, Newcastle University, etc. (all this within 5 minutes walking radius)
In addition we are just few minutes walk away from the Theatre Royal, the Centre of Life, the city Quayside and a great selection of restaurants and bars to enjoy this vibrant city. This allows us to appeal to a large audience of transient, corporate and leisure travelers.
Our location is suitable for customers travelling by train as the Newcastle Central Station is just 10 minutes walking distance; for those travelling by car, the motorway (A1) is 5 minutes drive from the hotel.
Our hotel amenities include: complimentary high speed internet access, complimentary coffee and tea in the guest rooms and in the lobby. Shark Club Gastro Bar is open daily from 6 am to midnight and we have 24hrs room service available as well. Fully equipped roof top fitness suite.
We offer a variety of different rooms with microwave and fridge as well as studios and suites with full kitchen amenities and some with a private balcony. Important, please note – for all Advance Purchase rates, the Credit Card used for the purchase MUST be presented at check in.
Picture of Sandman Signature Hotel Newcastle, Newcastle upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 216 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay!
Friendly staff, very clean, no complaints at all. We would definitely stay again!

Reviewed by
Chelsea W

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

GNR weekend
Came here for the Great North Run, Hotel put on some lovely little touches the day of the race,Only downside was traffic noise throughout the night.

Reviewed by
Derek G

From Corby, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stains on the carpet, net curtains and bead on the windowsill kept falling off.

Reviewed by
m robinson

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money difficult to assess as weekend of Great North Run and all rooms in Newcastle greatly inflated prices.
We found the hotel really noisy as en route to hospital and sirens heard frequently.
Usually stay on The Quay but prices prohibitive that weekend.

Reviewed by
Lorraine P

From Witney, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great experience
Had a fab nights stay. Staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough. Bed was comfortable and the room was lovely.

Reviewed by
Georgina C

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Absouloutly Fantastic
The Sandman Signature was fantastic I could not fault it in anyway.
All the staff from Reception to Restaurant and Bar and even the the Cleaning staff were all extremely Friendly and helpful.
I will be back and would recommend the hotel to anybody everything is in walking distance the location is great.

Reviewed by
Derrick Cameron

From Inverness, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal location
Ideally situated between the city centre and the RVI where my husband had been admitted for a few days, both within easy walking distance.

Reviewed by
Audrey C

From Whitehaven, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excelent accomodation central to newcastle.
Decided to book a late room and stay for a night and experience newcastle nightlife. Had a warm welcome and recieved a free £15 voucher to spend on drinks or food, free bottle of bubbly on arrival, free breakfast and late checkout which we did not expect. Rooms were to the high standard as we always expect from sandmans as this is our 4th time staying here. Only slight problem within the room was the aircon made a noise through te night everytime it fired up. Recieved out breakfast on the morning with a large selection from cerials, fruit and juice to full english breakfasts and service providing tea and coffee. Would recommend this place to anyone.

Reviewed by
Paul W

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant accommodation
Our room was comfortable if somewhat compact. All clean and tidy.
The fan didn't work in the wet room so stayed steamy. The water just went everywhere from shower so made the bath mat soaked ! Needs some thinking about ...
It was a particularly noisy area, sirens going all night long and it was a Sunday evening. Twice in the night it sounded like someone tried to get in our room

Reviewed by
Debbie Steel

From Winchester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely stay
Very impressive reception. Very polite staff. Room nice and modern but a little on the small side and the ceiling in desperate need of painting. Overall a lovely stay and enjoyable weekend.

Reviewed by
H halbert

From Gainsborough, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next