No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Sandman Signature Hotel Newcastle

4Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Gallowgate , Newcastle upon Tyne, NE1 4SD

Simply the Guest Awards Winner

Categories: Luxury & Customer Service 2013
Based on 100% genuine guest reviews.

The Sandman Signature Hotel Newcastle sits in the city center of Newcastle, surrounded by key attractions in the city such as the iconic Newcastle United Football Club Stadium, Metro Radio Arena, China Town, city center shopping district, Newcastle University, etc. (all this within 5 minutes walking radius)
In addition we are just few minutes walk away from the Theatre Royal, the Centre of Life, the city Quayside and a great selection of restaurants and bars to enjoy this vibrant city. This allows us to appeal to a large audience of transient, corporate and leisure travelers.
Our location is suitable for customers travelling by train as the Newcastle Central Station is just 10 minutes walking distance; for those travelling by car, the motorway (A1) is 5 minutes drive from the hotel.
Our hotel amenities include: complimentary high speed internet access, complimentary coffee and tea in the guest rooms and in the lobby. Shark Club Gastro Bar is open daily from 6 am to midnight and we have 24hrs room service available as well. Fully equipped roof top fitness suite.
We offer a variety of different rooms with microwave and fridge as well as studios and suites with full kitchen amenities and some with a private balcony. Important, please note – for all Advance Purchase rates, the Credit Card used for the purchase MUST be presented at check in.
Picture of Sandman Signature Hotel Newcastle, Newcastle upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 209 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely stay
Very impressive reception. Very polite staff. Room nice and modern but a little on the small side and the ceiling in desperate need of painting. Overall a lovely stay and enjoyable weekend.

Reviewed by
H halbert

From Gainsborough, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Passing through

Reviewed by
I Suttle

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheeky night away
Hotel is super clean and tastefully decorated. Had a lovely stay and the bed was very comfertable The staff were very accommodating and i would highly recommend staying at this hotel. Would definetly stay again. Good location for night life too, overall an excellent night away.

Reviewed by
L Holt

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mostly good, would visit again
Booked Sandman at very short notice i.e. day before for a two night stay. Courteous staff and clean lobby with free tea and coffee in the lobby made a pleasant start.
The room was fine, made up with a spare bed and it had a kitchen area although that wasn't used by us.
The far side of the bedroom floor looked like it hadn't been hoovered but otherwise room was fine although the building work at the back of the hotel and the loud air units located behind the hotel made for a noisy night, early morning.
The bathroom was pleasant however there was no lock on the glass sliding door and there was a gap where anyone could see into the bathroom from one side of the bedroom. This seems like a massive design flaw.
Overall was fine for our needs and reasonably priced but wouldn't class it four star.

Reviewed by
S Pleace

From Stirling, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location and a good quality hotel
The room was a junior suite and possessed all the amenities expected of a quality hotel. An iron that worked, plentiful televisions and a great shower. The bed was firm and very comfortable and overall the hotel was very quiet. The location is excellent with pubs, restaurants and the city centre a very short stroll away.

Reviewed by
Thomas V

From York, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Impresive bedroom and bathroom but very noisy due to close traffic and poor insulated windows.

Reviewed by
Miren U

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Booked junior suite - reception suggested a family room
Very helpful staff. Moved us to a more suitable room.

Reviewed by
Luke S

From Chesterfield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really bad
Not a place I would recommend dirty rooms shaving mirror having on the war by glue maid walked in without knocking, food was cold on Monday and not enough Tuesday for 11.95 a person wasn't very impressed

Reviewed by
Jake Jefferies

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely weekend stay
Me and my boyfriend stayed at the sandman signature hotel for two weekend nights and could not have asked for a better hotel. Location was a perfect short distance into the town centre. The staff were extremily friendly especially in the hotel's bar which was a great place to eat and have a few drinks before going out. Overall had a wonderful stay and would recommend.

Reviewed by
R Fenton

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm and personal welcome at reception and the room was comfortable and clean. The service in the restaurant/bar was friendly and quick and the food was of a standard expected. The only down side was the gym being poorly equipped and not being able to adjust the air conditioning. Would recommend a higher floor if in a room facing the main road.

Reviewed by
Andy W

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next