No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Norfolk Arms Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
22 HIGH STREET , ARUNDEL, BN18 9AB
In the heart of Arundel's conservation area is the Norfolk Arms Hotel, a former Georgian coaching inn, completed in 1780. Unspoilt, the hotel combines the period features of the Georgian era with the requirements of today's visitors. Within the hotel are log fires, bars serving real ales and for entertaining on a greater scale, the magnificent mirrored ballroom. Most of our rooms, which vary in size and character, are situated in the main house, whilst ground floor rooms are available in our courtyard.

The stunning sight of Arundel Castle, the ancestral home to the Dukes of Norfolk for over 800 years, dominates the historic market town, which through the ages has developed into a small but unique town, from its cobbled streets, specialist shops and beautiful Georgian architecture, to the Gothic Cathedral. Close by are the Wildfowl and Wetlands Trust, the great estates of Goodwood and Petworth, horse racing at Fontwell, the Roman ruins at Fishbourne, historic Portsmouth and the wonderful Brighton Pavilion.

The Hotel offers Free Wifi !

Picture of Norfolk Arms Hotel, ARUNDEL at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 89 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
69% recommended this accommodation to a friend 68% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great break

Reviewed by
Claire H

From Lymington, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent in every way
Would recommend this hotel for situation, customer service and satisfaction.

Reviewed by
S Long

From Woking, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

hotel very dated, lovely location, would vist arundel again, lovely place, hotel was clean people nice, but could do with a lick of paint,

Reviewed by
gary b

From Barnet, England
Who stayed in February 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

If You Liked "Life on Mars" You will love room 14
Finding the room was the first challenge. Largely unsigned for most of the way. The directions at the check-in were of little help.
Room décor – green wallpaper over red, separated by a boarder. Very dated. About 1985 I’m guessing. Even the Tardis gets the occasional makeover. The furniture was generally tired and worn, the carpet dirty in places and the nylon quilt had holes in it and would never stay on the bed for any length of time.
The heating in the room was via a wall mounted device. I looked at it and thought “Oh my God” but when turned up full it really packed a punch.
The bathroom was as dated as the main room, and without a window or any form of heating. Try going from a warm bedroom into a fridge in the middle of the night. It might work in August but the middle of February – NO.
The full English breakfast was disappointing. It had all the component parts but failed to impress. Day 1 my sausage arrived burnt and on the last day there was a large unexplained lump in my scrambled egg that defied description and rightly belonged under a patio. On other days the food arrived luke warm. Then the final breakfast on Sunday when the hotel was quite full and they ran out of croissants, mushrooms and potato. In addition we had to endure a 20 minute wait for their disappointing offering. Come on people the reason we book in advance is so cock ups like this don’t happen.
We did look at the evening meal menu but once again it nothing but unimaginative pub menu; beef burgers, mixed grill, etc. Arundel is full of excellent restaurants (and some poor ones) and they are full every night. I know as I tried to get into them. The menu at the Arundel Arms did nothing for us and in the end we did not dine in. Whoever is responsible for this selection is really missing the point and a business opportunity.
My wife and I had a special affection for the Arundel Arms. We stayed there 33 years ago at the start of our honeymoon and some 15 years ago on our anniversary. Booking here was a spur of the moment thing. Nothing beats planning. The room was clean but very disappointing. We booked it last minute via LateRooms.com, which is just as well as I would hate to think I had paid full price. We love Arundel and the surrounding countryside but we have finally been cured of the Arundel Arms.

Reviewed by
Nigel M

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Need Help
Well all i can say is this hotel has seen better days and needs a lot of investment in money and especially customer service.
All I will say is that I will never stay there again................enough said.

Reviewed by
N Savage

From UK
Who stayed in January 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We had a room at the top of the hotel. It was clean and very pleasent although a little warm!
I would recommend this hotel, staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was very pleasent, clean and comfortable. It was at the top of the hotel, which was Georgian design so we had a good view over the surrounding area. Only complaint was that it was a little warm with a large heater on outside the room but this was easily remodied but opening the window. Would definately stay again.

Reviewed by
Jacqueline M

From Guildford, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Old World character and charm
Loved this hotel. Some reviewers say it should be modernised but that would surely destroy so much of its character..Lovely family friendly lounge where we played boxed games by the real fireside. Found beds comfortable and being in the annex were at the back of the hotel and quiet. Will definately return soon..

Reviewed by
P Wylde

From Twickenham, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Value
We paid just £59 for a double room with breakfast included. Great location being right on the High Street and the receptionist was very friendly and helpful as were all the staff we had dealings with.Our room was clean and the bed comfortable but we were at the top of the building and the ceilings were extremely low gave a rather claustrophobic feeling. The Hotel dates from the Georgian period and is very quirky but it really does need updating. The carpets were threadbare in places and the decor from the 70s. There was also a musty smell in the stair/hall area probably caused by the rotting window frames and the damp which is so hard to control in an old buillding. However, for what we paid it was good value especially as the breakfast was very good.

Reviewed by
j tait

From Orpington, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a nostalgic visit
this hotel is very central and ideal for a short stay, Due to our visit being just between Christmas and New Year, there was a reduced dinner menu and one of the bars was closed. However, this did not spoil our little trip 'down memory lane'. I was evacuated to Arundel from East London in 1943 but, as a baby, I have no memories of it. Love the town now!

Reviewed by
avril r

From Eastbourne, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

3 days in Arundel
The hotel urgently needs updating and redecoration. The staff location local area were all very good but the hotel is let down by its lack of upkeep Yes it was raining but if your roof leaks or your doors /windows let in water at home you get it repaired I understand some people may say it adds to the charm of the place but we prefer a dry well maintained hotel to stay at on our travels.

Reviewed by
bob f

From Billericay, England
Who stayed in December 2012

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next