No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Norfolk Arms Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
22 HIGH STREET , ARUNDEL, BN18 9AB
In the heart of Arundel's conservation area is the Norfolk Arms Hotel, a former Georgian coaching inn, completed in 1780. Unspoilt, the hotel combines the period features of the Georgian era with the requirements of today's visitors. Within the hotel are log fires, bars serving real ales and for entertaining on a greater scale, the magnificent mirrored ballroom. Most of our rooms, which vary in size and character, are situated in the main house, whilst ground floor rooms are available in our courtyard.

The stunning sight of Arundel Castle, the ancestral home to the Dukes of Norfolk for over 800 years, dominates the historic market town, which through the ages has developed into a small but unique town, from its cobbled streets, specialist shops and beautiful Georgian architecture, to the Gothic Cathedral. Close by are the Wildfowl and Wetlands Trust, the great estates of Goodwood and Petworth, horse racing at Fontwell, the Roman ruins at Fishbourne, historic Portsmouth and the wonderful Brighton Pavilion.

The Hotel offers Free Wifi !

Picture of Norfolk Arms Hotel, ARUNDEL at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 87 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
68% recommended this accommodation to a friend 68% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A traditional hotel in need of some updating & refurbishment. Check in area could be modernised & improved - a check in desk would be nice rather than a window into an office with a dated formica covered surface. A credit card was demanded at check in despite the room and breakfast being fully prepaid so not an inviting start to our stay. The fabric of the hotel is a little tired but clean with inviting real fires. The rooms are fairly basic but once again clean if overly hot.
Breakfast was excellent !! Wide range of cerials, juices, toast etc. Good choice of quality coffee. Very tasty full English breakfast, perfectly cooked. Our compliments to the kitchen staff.

Reviewed by
ROBERT M

From Gerrards Cross, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly Hotel
Enjoyed my stay, because of the friendly staff. Room very good, comfortable bed. The shower was tricky to get correct temperature but good flow. Interesting old Coaching house.

Reviewed by
Denis P

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First visit
The hotel itself was fine but having leant down in the bathroon I noticed the blackness inside the toilet rim, Longstanding lack of attention here! (Room 22)
Woken up with creaking floorboards outside the room on three occasions in the early hours.
Breakfast gets the prize for the worst ever and the chef?? should be ashamed. Sausage luke warm and re heated in microwave bacon and beans cold, fried potatoes obviously par boiled but still raw and cold. I stay in many hotels and if the management of this hotel thinks that this standard is ok they are sadly mistaken. I don't usually bother with reviews but this was poor.

Reviewed by
Simon Roberts

From Devizes, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great break

Reviewed by
Claire H

From Lymington, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent in every way
Would recommend this hotel for situation, customer service and satisfaction.

Reviewed by
S Long

From Woking, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

hotel very dated, lovely location, would vist arundel again, lovely place, hotel was clean people nice, but could do with a lick of paint,

Reviewed by
gary b

From Barnet, England
Who stayed in February 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

If You Liked "Life on Mars" You will love room 14
Finding the room was the first challenge. Largely unsigned for most of the way. The directions at the check-in were of little help.
Room décor – green wallpaper over red, separated by a boarder. Very dated. About 1985 I’m guessing. Even the Tardis gets the occasional makeover. The furniture was generally tired and worn, the carpet dirty in places and the nylon quilt had holes in it and would never stay on the bed for any length of time.
The heating in the room was via a wall mounted device. I looked at it and thought “Oh my God” but when turned up full it really packed a punch.
The bathroom was as dated as the main room, and without a window or any form of heating. Try going from a warm bedroom into a fridge in the middle of the night. It might work in August but the middle of February – NO.
The full English breakfast was disappointing. It had all the component parts but failed to impress. Day 1 my sausage arrived burnt and on the last day there was a large unexplained lump in my scrambled egg that defied description and rightly belonged under a patio. On other days the food arrived luke warm. Then the final breakfast on Sunday when the hotel was quite full and they ran out of croissants, mushrooms and potato. In addition we had to endure a 20 minute wait for their disappointing offering. Come on people the reason we book in advance is so cock ups like this don’t happen.
We did look at the evening meal menu but once again it nothing but unimaginative pub menu; beef burgers, mixed grill, etc. Arundel is full of excellent restaurants (and some poor ones) and they are full every night. I know as I tried to get into them. The menu at the Arundel Arms did nothing for us and in the end we did not dine in. Whoever is responsible for this selection is really missing the point and a business opportunity.
My wife and I had a special affection for the Arundel Arms. We stayed there 33 years ago at the start of our honeymoon and some 15 years ago on our anniversary. Booking here was a spur of the moment thing. Nothing beats planning. The room was clean but very disappointing. We booked it last minute via LateRooms.com, which is just as well as I would hate to think I had paid full price. We love Arundel and the surrounding countryside but we have finally been cured of the Arundel Arms.

Reviewed by
Nigel M

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Need Help
Well all i can say is this hotel has seen better days and needs a lot of investment in money and especially customer service.
All I will say is that I will never stay there again................enough said.

Reviewed by
N Savage

From UK
Who stayed in January 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We had a room at the top of the hotel. It was clean and very pleasent although a little warm!
I would recommend this hotel, staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was very pleasent, clean and comfortable. It was at the top of the hotel, which was Georgian design so we had a good view over the surrounding area. Only complaint was that it was a little warm with a large heater on outside the room but this was easily remodied but opening the window. Would definately stay again.

Reviewed by
Jacqueline M

From Guildford, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Old World character and charm
Loved this hotel. Some reviewers say it should be modernised but that would surely destroy so much of its character..Lovely family friendly lounge where we played boxed games by the real fireside. Found beds comfortable and being in the annex were at the back of the hotel and quiet. Will definately return soon..

Reviewed by
P Wylde

From Twickenham, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next