No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Norfolk Arms Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
22 HIGH STREET , ARUNDEL, BN18 9AB
In the heart of Arundel's conservation area is the Norfolk Arms Hotel, a former Georgian coaching inn, completed in 1780. Unspoilt, the hotel combines the period features of the Georgian era with the requirements of today's visitors. Within the hotel are log fires, bars serving real ales and for entertaining on a greater scale, the magnificent mirrored ballroom. Most of our rooms, which vary in size and character, are situated in the main house, whilst ground floor rooms are available in our courtyard.

The stunning sight of Arundel Castle, the ancestral home to the Dukes of Norfolk for over 800 years, dominates the historic market town, which through the ages has developed into a small but unique town, from its cobbled streets, specialist shops and beautiful Georgian architecture, to the Gothic Cathedral. Close by are the Wildfowl and Wetlands Trust, the great estates of Goodwood and Petworth, horse racing at Fontwell, the Roman ruins at Fishbourne, historic Portsmouth and the wonderful Brighton Pavilion.

The Hotel offers Free Wifi !

Picture of Norfolk Arms Hotel, ARUNDEL at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 70 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
69% recommended this accommodation to a friend 69% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Attic type room on 3rd floor,Room 22. Very low ceilings. Peeling wallpaper,rotted outer windowsill, broken door catch, stained armchair & carpet, old heater. £50 needed at start of stay to cover any possible hotel extras. Felt badly served as we were an Internet booking. Incentives offered to Forestdale customers eg.discounted price dinner on1st night + £5 p.p. off 4th night of stay.
At £79 per night not a bargain and a disappointing way to spend our Golden Wedding Anniversary.
Am writing personally to Forestdale Hotels to express my feelings.

Reviewed by
Jeanette Price

From Camberley, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Arundel relaxer ...
Great hotel, in character with the historic town.
Lovely welcome, good room, in same light of the town, historic with low beams here/there, so tall people, be careful, it part of the deal.
Lovely wood fires in this cold March.
The barman, "C" made it for us on a late nightcap.
Breakfast super, all you could want.
Recommend it for escape of 21st century bustle.

Reviewed by
Barry C

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We enjoyed the central location of The Norfolk Arms in the lovely town of Arundel. Our room in the courtyard building was clean, comfortable and warm, though a bit 'dated'. The restaurant in the main building served both continental and cooked breakfasts, with very attentive staff on hand. We had a very relaxing weekend here and would go again.

Reviewed by
H Britt

From Le Port Marly, France
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely town
Hotel is in lovely town (arunel), but the room way old fashioned, wallpaper peeling off, and the bathroom fan stayed on constantly, we had no towels and after showering had to ring reception and the wait ten minutes for towel to arrive.

Reviewed by
Aileen B

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay
Really friendly staff went out of the way to be helpful especially in the kitchen with our requests for allergy free food. Very clean bathroom and although yes the hotel is a bit 'tired' and a lick of paint here and there would freshen it up, it had a lovely relaxed feeling. Very central to the Town. Value for money superb, if it got a lick of paint no doubt it would double in price - we loved it!

Reviewed by
G Owen

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A traditional hotel in need of some updating & refurbishment. Check in area could be modernised & improved - a check in desk would be nice rather than a window into an office with a dated formica covered surface. A credit card was demanded at check in despite the room and breakfast being fully prepaid so not an inviting start to our stay. The fabric of the hotel is a little tired but clean with inviting real fires. The rooms are fairly basic but once again clean if overly hot.
Breakfast was excellent !! Wide range of cerials, juices, toast etc. Good choice of quality coffee. Very tasty full English breakfast, perfectly cooked. Our compliments to the kitchen staff.

Reviewed by
ROBERT M

From Gerrards Cross, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly Hotel
Enjoyed my stay, because of the friendly staff. Room very good, comfortable bed. The shower was tricky to get correct temperature but good flow. Interesting old Coaching house.

Reviewed by
Denis P

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First visit
The hotel itself was fine but having leant down in the bathroon I noticed the blackness inside the toilet rim, Longstanding lack of attention here! (Room 22)
Woken up with creaking floorboards outside the room on three occasions in the early hours.
Breakfast gets the prize for the worst ever and the chef?? should be ashamed. Sausage luke warm and re heated in microwave bacon and beans cold, fried potatoes obviously par boiled but still raw and cold. I stay in many hotels and if the management of this hotel thinks that this standard is ok they are sadly mistaken. I don't usually bother with reviews but this was poor.

Reviewed by
Simon Roberts

From Devizes, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great break

Reviewed by
Claire H

From Lymington, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent in every way
Would recommend this hotel for situation, customer service and satisfaction.

Reviewed by
S Long

From Woking, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next