You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter your destination and perform your search again.

Reviews - Innkeeper's Lodge Tunbridge Wells, Southborough


The Hand & Sceptre, London Road, Southborough, Tunbridge Wells, TN4 0QB

Price From 127.06 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (17)

71% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • William Khoury

  • September 2016

Strongly recommend and will stay there again for sure

The place was nice cozy, very clean, accessible.

Staff were amazing, helpful, and courteous.

Would definitely stay there again. William Khoury


  • August 2016

A curate's egg - very good in places

There were 11 of us playing a golf match at nearby Nizels.

The first thing to say is that the Hand & Sceptre is what you are looking for and not Innkeeper's Lodge which is the name of the chain. It is on the left hand side of the road at the entrance to Southborough travelling south. The rooms are nicely decorated and clean as is the whole hotel. The bar/lounge area and restaurant are both nice places to sit and there is an outside terrace. It was the hottest day of the year so this was used. The meals that we all had were good to very good and no complaints. So far , so good but it is by the side of the feed road into Tunbridge Wells and there is some traffic. I was in room 12 on the top floor and although there was triple glazing I could still hear the traffic noise early in the morning. It didn't bother me but it might bother others. The shower was very weak. It was one of those which you stand under and the pressure simply wasn't up to it. I was able to wash rather than shower. There is free wi-fi but the signal is a bit like the water pressure. I gave up. When I paid for the meal, the waitress had to take the card machine to a different part of the room to get a signal. We enjoyed our stay here and the staff were helpful. We paid £67.50 which is a little more than a Premier Inn but the communal areas were much better and the restaurant was hugely better (but more expensive)

  • Paul A

  • July 2016

Not enough staff

The staff were all friendly helpful and hard working, there just aren't enough of them, whether it is ordering a beer or waiting for service at breakfast and dinner you just had to be very patient.

The Innkeepers Lodge, Tunbridge Wells is a lovely place to stay and eat but the poor management with regard to staffing levels lets it down.

  • L Gray

  • May 2016

Last stay here

I have stayed here many times and over the last couple of years seen it going down hill.

This last stay was my last stay as it felt tired and dirty, there was a broken rail in the bathroom, tissues boxes etc were not filled, stains on carpet and what really upset me was the fact that when I came to blow dry my hair in the morning ready for a meeting I found the hairdryer broken.

You have to que at the bar hopeing the bar tenter sees you to check in.

I used this hotel as close to my head office and value for money but I am now going to pay £20 extra for a better hotel down the road.

Shame to see it so dirty and so unloved.

  • David H

  • April 2016

A pleasant and relaxing stay

A great hotel in a very pleasant village, smart decor, efficient and friendly staff, thought there might be a lot of noise from the main road outside but hardly noticed it, slept very soundly.

  • Simon Mcneill

  • February 2016

Lovely wee hotel

We used hotel as a base to attend a wedding.

We were warmly welcomed liked the rooms , it is old outside and new and modern inside. I would recommend this hotel to others and I would use again if staying in this area.

  • Dave W

  • December 2015


hotel was fine.

our only comment would be that our request for non feather bedding did not get passed on, the hotel put the matter right but claimed that had not passed our request on to them?

  • H Cockerill

  • November 2015

Great hotel

I've stayed here a few times now and it's great is certainly go back again.

  • Frank B

  • September 2015

Wedding guest accommodation

Very good value for money, nice food

  • Chris W

  • July 2015

Poor Breakfast and indifferent staff.

We stayed at the Innkeepers Lodge, Southborough.

(The Hand & Sceptre). Whilst the bar & restaurant were very nice, the room was adequate, but quite tired, but not a problem. However breakfast was very poor. Only continental included in the price even though it said breakfast included, it did not specify continental. (You can of course pay extra for a full breakfast!). The "continental" breakfast provided was sparse, they had run out of orange juice & marmalade. I had to ask for ordinary teabags. The containers for yoghurt and jams,etc, were mainly empty. The staff were indifferent about the situation and there was no management available to speak to. We left feeling rather ripped off.