No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Smart Sea View Brighton

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
9-12 ST. CATHERINES TERRACE , HOVE, BN3 2RZ
Located within walking distance from Hove train station and with rooms offering spectacular views of Brighton’s famous beaches. We are Brighton’s newest and most modern hostel.

We offer a variety of rooms from Private hotel rooms to great value for money large hostel dormitories allowing us to offer a variety of services to cater any need.

Smart Sea View offers various facilities for our guests, TV room or our free WiFi service.

-The hotel reserves the right to charge credit cards prior to arrival.

-Please note that a surcharge applies for card payments made at the property.

-At check-in, each guest have to pay £10 deposit in CASH, refundable at check-out.

- At least 1 photo ID is required at check-in (passport,ID Card,Driving License).

-Breakfast is included and served from 8:00AM to 9:30AM.
Picture of Smart Sea View Brighton, HOVE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 67 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
52% recommended this accommodation to a friend 57% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic and clean
Maybe not a luxury hotel, more appropriate for younger group of people and back packers who just need a basic room to stay overnight. So not really suitable for families with younger children. No lift available, and stairs to upper floors quite narrow and difficult if carrying large suitcases. However the Staff were friendly and helpful. Good location, few minutes walk to main shops and Hove seafront.
Major issue is parking, there is NO cheap off site parking in any nearby streets as advertised, as mainly are permit holders only!! (This is a big issue with many hotels and Guest houses in Brighton and Hove, and any parking found will charge extortionate rate prices!)

Reviewed by
Julia W

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money
You get what you pay for. This hotel was perfectly adequate for an overniht stay. It wasn't the best or the worst I have stayed in.
Positives include cleanliness of room and bathroom, friendliness of staff. Tea and coffee-making facilities are supplied as are biscuits (not always available in much more expensive hotels!)
Negatives include noisy plumbing throughout the night and an average breakfast, but hey, what do you expect for this price?
Overall, a quirky (in a good way) place to stay.

Reviewed by
P Humm

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Does what it says on the Tin
It is more a hostel than a hotel but don't let that put you off. The staff on the desk are helpful and friendly while the rooms are very basic, they are clean and tidy. At the end of the day I was here from 11pm till 8am so I can say the beds comfortable and did exactly what I needed…let me sleep. Road noise out side but not much you can do with out double glazing.

Reviewed by
N Boardman

From York, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Girls take a mirror as there's only one in the bathroom if your trying to get ready

Reviewed by
S Gidney

From Gosport, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely stay near to the beach
Really impressed with our stay. The hotel was so peaceful which I didn't expect. Staff were very helpful with helping to advise on where to park and general hospitality.

Reviewed by
Laura W

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Does what it says on the tin
Polite and courteous staff, private room perfectly adequate for us seeing as we were out for much of our stay. Only complaint would be the heating was on throughout the building which made for an uncomfortable sleep as there didn't seem to be a way of turning then radiator off.

Reviewed by
Helen O

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Better then some known places
I have been to other places where you pay more but the rooms are dirty. While this was very cosy ie small it provided everything necessary and was clean. While by a main road there was not much noise and inside the hotel was quite too

Reviewed by
Elvina C

From Croydon, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Unexpectedly good
I was worried as I walked in that I had made a mistake and this was actually more for backpackers. However I was pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness of the room. It was small but perfectly adequate. There was also a sea view or at least a glimpse!

Reviewed by
Susie J

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Smart Sea View Brighton - good value at the LateRooms price.
Very little to complain about. Not a luxury hotel but I wouldn't expect that for the price. The room included kettle etc for making drinks and a fairly large TV. The bed was comfortable and clean and towels replaced daily. Part of the hotel was being re-decorated but that was easily avoided by taking a different route (choice of two staircases). The staff were very pleasant and helpful.

Reviewed by
I Brown

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Only place available
As we had not other choice as we did not want to drive home we took a chance on this hotel. As it is a kind of hostel hotel for youngsters it did not suit us as it lacked a lot in style and smartness. The room was quite small and claustophobic especially as one side of the bed was right up against the wall making any visits during the night difficult. It was also extremely noisy and was just about acceptable cleaness wise. We decided not to bother with breakfast as it was probably going to be thrown together and not, like the accommodation, of good quality and desirable

Reviewed by
Jacki B

From Sutton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next