Smart Sea View Brighton

3

9-12 ST. CATHERINES TERRACE, HOVE, BN3 2RZ

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (61)

51% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Alan F

  • May 2015

Did the job!

I was looking for crash space and at half the price of central Brighton hotels wasn't expecting luxury so was pretty happy with my room.

Enough room, clean aside from some mould in the shower and decent facilities. Smart Sea View is half way between a hotel and a hostel, I opted for the private room option which worked well for me. The team were polite and courteous, they didn't seem to understand the very restricted local parking around Brighton and Hove - if you go book one of the hotels fu e parking spaces out the back, or failing that there's an inexpensive multi-storey on Norton Road I ended up using, it's about half a mile away so not too bad. The breakfast was awful though. If you just need inexpensive crash space after a gig like me, ideal - if you want a nice room to relax in, then you need to trade up!

  • M hand

  • April 2015

hostel not hotel

Paying £120 for twin room, I expected a bright and modern room with hotel facilities.

The room was depressing with pound shop decoration. With an open door policy the comings and goings made this downstairs room very noisy all night,. The ugly blind did n' t fit so too much light came in early. The cold things at breakfast were good but the cooked breakfast wasn't nice. I heard a double room offered for £70 on evening I arrived and this would of been a more reasonable price.

  • Michael g

  • April 2015

Great place to stay for the money

we stayed for one night and the room was nice had a good night we did not go for breakfast so i could not comment on that but i am sure it would of been nice.

There was no parking left when we got there but we parked in the king alfred just down the road and was free till 9am from 8am and you can get a ticket the night before for the morning so only cost us £2.50 from 8pm till lunch time the next day result :)

  • M Whitworth

  • March 2015

Good for a weekend break

The hotel is very good for a couple looking to stay somewhere for a weekend break.

Our room was clean and had all the basics that we required. Customer service at reception and breakfast was very good and I recommend for others to stay.

  • E Bridge

  • March 2015

Smart Sea View Brighton

Basic but clean and friendly.

Shower looked great but issues with hot water. Slept fine tho a little bit noisy early am as shared rooms checked out earlier than private.

  • Theresa L

  • March 2015

Give the breakfast a miss

I only had one night here.

I had a single room, shower looked new, although I didn't use it as water was cold. Room was small, although did boast a tv and safe. The window was screwed shut while the door lock wasn't working. Breakfast was awful; sausage egg and beans had been kept heated even though I was one of the first down for breakfast. Brighton/Hove has recently been plagued by parking meters.

  • K Steele

  • January 2015

NYE

Very basic, but clean and all in good working order, perfect to stay on New Years Eve.

Lovely staff,great stay.

  • Daniel N

  • December 2014

Avoid

Its a hostel for middle aged men in filthy clothes and baseball caps.

Bed was the worst I've ever slept on, the whole building had a horrible smell.

  • P Humm

  • December 2014

Value for money

You get what you pay for.

This hotel was perfectly adequate for an overniht stay. It wasn't the best or the worst I have stayed in.

Positives include cleanliness of room and bathroom, friendliness of staff. Tea and coffee-making facilities are supplied as are biscuits (not always available in much more expensive hotels!)

Negatives include noisy plumbing throughout the night and an average breakfast, but hey, what do you expect for this price. Overall, a quirky (in a good way) place to stay.

  • Julia W

  • December 2014

Basic and clean

Maybe not a luxury hotel, more appropriate for younger group of people and back packers who just need a basic room to stay overnight.

So not really suitable for families with younger children. No lift available, and stairs to upper floors quite narrow and difficult if carrying large suitcases. However the Staff were friendly and helpful. Good location, few minutes walk to main shops and Hove seafront. Major issue is parking, there is NO cheap off site parking in any nearby streets as advertised, as mainly are permit holders only!. (This is a big issue with many hotels and Guest houses in Brighton and Hove, and any parking found will charge extortionate rate prices!)