Reviews - Smart Sea View Brighton



Price From 83.57 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (51)

57% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • S Gidney

  • November 2014

Girls take a mirror as there's only one in the bathroom if your trying to get ready

  • Laura W

  • November 2014

lovely stay near to the beach

Really impressed with our stay.

The hotel was so peaceful which I didn't expect. Staff were very helpful with helping to advise on where to park and general hospitality.

  • Helen O

  • October 2014

Does what it says on the tin

Polite and courteous staff, private room perfectly adequate for us seeing as we were out for much of our stay.

Only complaint would be the heating was on throughout the building which made for an uncomfortable sleep as there didn't seem to be a way of turning then radiator off.

  • Elvina C

  • October 2014

Better then some known places

I have been to other places where you pay more but the rooms are dirty.

While this was very cosy ie small it provided everything necessary and was clean. While by a main road there was not much noise and inside the hotel was quite too

  • Susie J

  • October 2014

Unexpectedly good

I was worried as I walked in that I had made a mistake and this was actually more for backpackers.

However I was pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness of the room. It was small but perfectly adequate. There was also a sea view or at least a glimpse!

  • I Brown

  • September 2014

Smart Sea View Brighton - good value at the LateRooms price.

Very little to complain about.

Not a luxury hotel but I wouldn't expect that for the price. The room included kettle etc for making drinks and a fairly large TV. The bed was comfortable and clean and towels replaced daily. Part of the hotel was being re-decorated but that was easily avoided by taking a different route (choice of two staircases). The staff were very pleasant and helpful.

  • Jacki B

  • September 2014

Only place available

As we had not other choice as we did not want to drive home we took a chance on this hotel.

As it is a kind of hostel hotel for youngsters it did not suit us as it lacked a lot in style and smartness. The room was quite small and claustophobic especially as one side of the bed was right up against the wall making any visits during the night difficult. It was also extremely noisy and was just about acceptable cleaness wise. We decided not to bother with breakfast as it was probably going to be thrown together and not, like the accommodation, of good quality and desirable

  • S Gibson

  • September 2014

Value for money stopover

Not bad if you are stuck for a place to stay.

Great location in Hove. Food, smell and overall appearance not great but you could do worse. I assume the place is pretty old and clearly needs some TLC ... I had a single room for £35 with breakfast so cant really complain as I wanted a cheap nights sleep on business

  • Iain M

  • September 2014


On arrival this hotel looks like any backpackers, but it is clean, and rooms are functional, not at all noisy.

My only problem is finding parking anywhere near the hotel. I certainly would come back.

  • W Dixon

  • August 2014

Pleasantly surprised.

The Smart Sea View was the only accommodation I could find in the Brighton/Hove area which had single night stays available over the August bank holiday.

I booked it blindly and then read some nasty reviews. However I was very pleasantly surprised on arrival. Lovely en suite, clean rooms (only gripe being a dusty wardrobe), clean bedding and my fears of the hostel dorms being noisy misguided.