Reviews - Smart Sea View Brighton

3

9-12 ST. CATHERINES TERRACE, HOVE, BN3 2RZ

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (55)

53% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Elvina C

  • October 2014

Better then some known places

I have been to other places where you pay more but the rooms are dirty.

While this was very cosy ie small it provided everything necessary and was clean. While by a main road there was not much noise and inside the hotel was quite too

  • Susie J

  • October 2014

Unexpectedly good

I was worried as I walked in that I had made a mistake and this was actually more for backpackers.

However I was pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness of the room. It was small but perfectly adequate. There was also a sea view or at least a glimpse!

  • I Brown

  • September 2014

Smart Sea View Brighton - good value at the LateRooms price.

Very little to complain about.

Not a luxury hotel but I wouldn't expect that for the price. The room included kettle etc for making drinks and a fairly large TV. The bed was comfortable and clean and towels replaced daily. Part of the hotel was being re-decorated but that was easily avoided by taking a different route (choice of two staircases). The staff were very pleasant and helpful.

  • Jacki B

  • September 2014

Only place available

As we had not other choice as we did not want to drive home we took a chance on this hotel.

As it is a kind of hostel hotel for youngsters it did not suit us as it lacked a lot in style and smartness. The room was quite small and claustophobic especially as one side of the bed was right up against the wall making any visits during the night difficult. It was also extremely noisy and was just about acceptable cleaness wise. We decided not to bother with breakfast as it was probably going to be thrown together and not, like the accommodation, of good quality and desirable

  • S Gibson

  • September 2014

Value for money stopover

Not bad if you are stuck for a place to stay.

Great location in Hove. Food, smell and overall appearance not great but you could do worse. I assume the place is pretty old and clearly needs some TLC ... I had a single room for £35 with breakfast so cant really complain as I wanted a cheap nights sleep on business

  • Iain M

  • September 2014

Functional

On arrival this hotel looks like any backpackers, but it is clean, and rooms are functional, not at all noisy.

My only problem is finding parking anywhere near the hotel. I certainly would come back.

  • W Dixon

  • August 2014

Pleasantly surprised.

The Smart Sea View was the only accommodation I could find in the Brighton/Hove area which had single night stays available over the August bank holiday.

I booked it blindly and then read some nasty reviews. However I was very pleasantly surprised on arrival. Lovely en suite, clean rooms (only gripe being a dusty wardrobe), clean bedding and my fears of the hostel dorms being noisy misguided.

  • Louise R

  • August 2014

Good value for money if not expecting anything fancy

nice breakfast and great location

  • H Bowden

  • August 2014

Cheap and cheerful :)

Customer service is very good here.

The price was very reasonable and for this was expecting not alot. I was pleasantly surprised as the rooms were clean, nice bathroom, tele with many channels and memory foam mattresses!. If you want somewhere cheap and close to the beach it's a great place to stay :)

  • John K

  • August 2014

Tell people where breakfast is!

This was a decent place for such a modest charge.

The only complaint was that I followed the smell of the toast in the morning and went to the wrong end and got hostel breakfast. Only when I was leaving did I see people having a much more luxurious breakfast at the other end of the hotel. It would be nice if guests were told where to go for breakfast given that there are two possibilities. Bit of a waste really.