Smart Sea View Brighton

3

9-12 ST. CATHERINES TERRACE, HOVE, BN3 2RZ

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (59)

49% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • W Dixon

  • August 2014

Pleasantly surprised.

The Smart Sea View was the only accommodation I could find in the Brighton/Hove area which had single night stays available over the August bank holiday.

I booked it blindly and then read some nasty reviews. However I was very pleasantly surprised on arrival. Lovely en suite, clean rooms (only gripe being a dusty wardrobe), clean bedding and my fears of the hostel dorms being noisy misguided.

  • Louise R

  • August 2014

Good value for money if not expecting anything fancy

nice breakfast and great location

  • H Bowden

  • August 2014

Cheap and cheerful :)

Customer service is very good here.

The price was very reasonable and for this was expecting not alot. I was pleasantly surprised as the rooms were clean, nice bathroom, tele with many channels and memory foam mattresses!. If you want somewhere cheap and close to the beach it's a great place to stay :)

  • John K

  • August 2014

Tell people where breakfast is!

This was a decent place for such a modest charge.

The only complaint was that I followed the smell of the toast in the morning and went to the wrong end and got hostel breakfast. Only when I was leaving did I see people having a much more luxurious breakfast at the other end of the hotel. It would be nice if guests were told where to go for breakfast given that there are two possibilities. Bit of a waste really.

  • Jennifer P

  • August 2014

Not what I was looking for!

I was visiting my Dad who has relocated to Hove and is renovating a house, so I didn't want to spend a lot of money, but this hotel was pretty grim.

The beds were comfortable and clean, the bathroom was clean. It was more the communal areas that were shabby, faded and worn out. My friend and I did sleep ok although the windows were single glazed onto the busy main road... But that was more to do with the night out we had!. Next time for another £20 or so I will pick somewhere else.

  • A Poore

  • August 2014

Nice room, shame it was in darkness

The main issue of our stay was that none of the lights worked, so shaving and getting ready in the bathroom was almost near impossible.

When we asked at reception if this could be looked at we was assured it would be fixed by the time when returned a few hours later, which wasn't the case so late at night torches were needed.

  • K Gardiner

  • August 2014

Not good

After paying £120:00 for one nights stay i did expect to have at least a warm shower!.

I let the water run for 10 minuets on what i thought was hot but it still ran cold so i then tried turning the control the other way and after another ten minuets only cold water.When i had a shave i did get luke warm water but had to keep the water running as the plug would not hold the water in the basin.

When i checked out the man on reception asked if let the water run long enough i explained what i had done and he just shrugged his shoulders and said "i'm sorry". The room needed a deep clean as all the way around the bed base the floor was very sticky,a very cold room without a picture on the wall to brighten it up and a big water stain on the celling obviously from a leaking roof as i was on the top floor. I would never recommend anyone to stay here or stay here myself again

  • Paul Barton

  • August 2014

low quality everything!!

I wasn't expecting a 5* hotel for the cost but what I actually got was little better than a backpackers hostel.

A"double "room where the only thing double was the bed, my wife had to climb over me to get out.The shower room not finished , ceiling half paneled then bits fallen off. I've been in work mens tea rooms on building sites that are nicer than the "dining" room. But by far the worst thing was the hotel laundry directly under our room with machinery running late into the night and on our last night the sound of high volume water pipes suddenly being operated then stopped and started again up to 3:30 am, when I complained I was told it wasn't the hotels fault no hint of apology!!

  • anthony n

  • July 2014

Ask if your room has proper curtains

room was ok and clean with a nice ensuite-but very peculiarly had badly fitting vertical blinds (the type you find in offices) on the windows, letting in lots of light-so don't expect much sleep.

The breakfast was a first come , first served affair, so get there early if you want something to eat.

  • Daniel A

  • July 2014

itisaweredhotelamazetogetaroundtheshowerroomisnicebutthebeddinglookslike1970sthebreakfastisnice

the safe deposit box doesent work in the room.

the tv changes channel by itself and not every channel works on every channel.some floors i noteist you would had to had a shared bath room whitch i would not have wont as i had a onsuite