Reviews - The Seaview Hotel

127 Sea Road, East Preston, BN16 1NX

Price From 136.58 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (70)

74% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Robert M

  • May 2014

Small Hotel By the Sea

A small hotel by the sea offering a good satisfying breakfast but only from 8.30 am.

Although advised no food Sunday or Monday when we booked unless you like Indian food there was nowhere close where you can obtain a meal. The hotel does not even offer sandwiches and we had to buy from a local shop.

Unfortunatly we did not find the very small room very clean, it was very tired and in need of redecoration as was the rest of the building, our room was on the side of the building with the kitchen extractor outside our window overlooking a very untidy unattractive yard, good job the kitchen was closed as it would no doubt have been very noisy. Sorry would not choose to stay again.

  • philip williams

  • May 2014

poor quality

landlady finally had a conversation with us as we checked out whilst landlord didn't bother to introduce himself at all.

Hallway smelt of stale mops and stagnant water. Our room door was left wide open after being cleaned we got an apology two days later. Shower pressure was inconsistent varying between a trickle and adequate. Breakfast time was brought forward one day to accommodate a meeting so we felt as though we were being rushed to finish and were only told about it because we went to the bar for a drink the previous evening. We were asked to move tables in the pub area 20 minutes before closing time so they could set tables for following days breakfast. All in all very poor value for money in a hotel where we were not made to feel as though our stay was important to them.

  • Michael T

  • April 2014

Pleasantly surprised

Downstairs smelt pretty weird, but the room was phenomenal - would definitely go back

  • J Bland

  • April 2014

Good food and friendly people

The only drawback for us was the shower we had to kneel down as the pressure wasn't good.

  • K Scholes

  • April 2014

Enjoyable stay

Friendly landlady food lovely.

Very welcoming. Comfortable clean room. Nice full bathroom.

  • R Loake

  • April 2014

Great value and friendly staff

I stayed at the Seaview as a last minute booking due to being double booked somewhere else.

The staff and owners were very friendly and did all they could to make me feel welcome. The room was very clean and comfortable. Would book again.

  • Charles P

  • April 2014

April 2014

Room basic but comfortable, food very good but public areas could do with some T.L.C.

  • J Kelly

  • January 2014

Means to an end

We needed a room for 3 adults at short notice before Christmas and new year in order to visit a relative in a local hospital - this accommodation was dirty, shabby, the wardrobe was falling down and the basin in the bathroom was cracked.

The radiator was not switched on when we arrived and the room was freezing - we eventually found the control and managed to get some heat through. The lamp on the table between the 2 beds worked intermittently and the shade was disgustingly dirty. We chose not to eat an evening meal but did have a freshly cooked breakfast - we were shown to our table by a polite enough young man but he was dressed in sweat pants and a hoodie and never took his hands out of his pockets. They did kindly phone us to say that we had left something in the room, which we collected but this was not a good experience. Also, the car park is a nightmare to get into and out of, especially with a sizeable 4 wheel drive car. If this was on Three in a Bed we would have paid £20 for all of us, including breakfast!

  • T Garrod

  • January 2014

Pleasant hosts but rooms need refubishing

arrived early and room was ready so checked in.

the owners were friendly and engaged you in conversation especially over breakfast. The rooms need updating as furniture had seen better days, the wardrobe was more like the Leaning Tower of Pisa.

Could not fault the location as almost on the sea and was in a quiet road but close enough to local shops.

  • M Woodroffe

  • December 2013


We found the hotel to be homely and we felt at ease.

Being allowed to take the dog into the bar area added to the stay saved having to leave her in the car.

Overall we enjoyed our stay and would stay there again.