No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hilton Royal Parade

2Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
35-42 Royal Parade , Eastbourne, BN22 7AN

Simply the Guest Awards Winner

Category: Most Improved 2013
Based on 100% genuine guest reviews.

A delightful hotel, occupying one of the most prestigious locations on the seafront overlooking the English Channel and only a short walk from Eastbourne Pier, restaurants and shops. This spacious hotel offers excellent, affordable, good value accommodation with a choice of restaurants and function rooms.
Picture of Hilton Royal Parade, Eastbourne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 116 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
45% recommended this accommodation to a friend 52% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hilton Royal Parade - Stay away
Thought the deal through Laterooms.com was too good to be true!!!
Shown to our room and we nearly cried. It was a birthday treat but not the one expected. There was stains on the carpet, paint flaking off part of the wall and the bed looked as though it would fall apart if sat on or even put our bags on. We went downstairs to find the manager he gave another room having told us we had paid the Premium Price and should have never been put in there in the first place. The second room, slightly cleaner but unless you were a child or at least not a six foot man you could take a shower. Dreadful night sleep in the most uncomfortable bed where the lumpy pillows and hairs in the bed made it even worse. Breakfast - if you are happy with the cheapest of ingredients served by staff with stains on their clothes and un-ironed shirts then enjoy. Otherwise avoid at all costs. Receptionists unhelpful and unfriendly and housekeeping needs a massive shake up. Oh and by the way the manager did not bother to turn up the following day when he promised us he would be.
Good points stayed one night and a refund for the second pre-booked night.

Reviewed by
c Lloyd

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hilton hotel it is definitely not!!!
Staff friendly and professional and to be honest I felt sorry for them as they had a lot of complaints to deal with . Even the bar man told us they had a lot of unhappy guests . The hotel is set back in a time warp . Carpets dirty and furniture very dated and damaged . My bedside table had a drawer but the drawer front was broken off and missing .plus the dressing table was covered In Water stains ..Shower room had mould round the seals of the tray ..Bed was very old and creaky and the lifts were so tiny only two people a time could use them so if you have luggage then best use the stairs . Completely different to all the photos online and In the leaflets supplied at the hotel x send in Alex politzi ..... Used plenty of hotels in this price range before and been happy but this hotel really needs an update and refit ....shame really as staff were great x had we had the money we would have give else were within 5 minutes of arrival .

Reviewed by
denise naish

From Farnborough, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was very cheap, clean but there was damp or mould on one of the walls and it looks like that most of the work was done by hotel staff rather than professional builder. It was ok to stay one night but it would be better to pay little bit more for nicer room elsewhere

Reviewed by
Jindrich B

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short Break
Staff were polite and helpful. Room was bright and airy. Linen clean. However can't be positive about anything else. I booked because it was a "Hilton" It wasn't. Main thing wrong with the room was the washing facilities. The bathroom was split into 2 rooms [cubicles] one with a toilet and basin and the other a shower room, the shower leaked and if I had been a slightly larger lady both the rooms would have been unusable due to lack of space. I have never seen a wash basin so small. No shelf in the bathroom either. Kettle was same size as basin so it wasn't going under the tap to fill. The television, I thought a little small for this day and age, although a huge amount of channels was a bonus. The lighting in the common parts was suspect , eg only came on when a sensor was triggered so some time spent in a completely dark corridor.
We understood the hotel had new owners. It was in sad need of some TLC as it was a "mish-mash of rooms downstairs with a whole lot of chairs that looked comfortable but were not. A reception area which had no bell and an excellent receptionist trying to do a million and one jobs at once whilst remaining calm and happy and making you feel that nothing was too much trouble.
In your favour was the entertainment. This was excellent although he only did an hours slot as the management had tried to cancel this due to insufficient guests.
All-in all a hotel in need of refurbishment or at the bare minimum an overhaul room by room as ours was not up to scratch

Reviewed by
s whitby

From Carshalton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I would certainly recommend staying here!
Brilliant room and extremely comfortable bed! With a brilliant sea view!
My only one criticism would be that the shower isn't big enough and the water didn't get very warm!

Reviewed by
a bray

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Hilton Royal Parade not very good
I found the hotel to be humid and claustrophobic there was no air conditioning. The lift could only fit to people and was extremely humid and claustrophobic. Although the room was clean and tidy the beds was hard and uncomfortable and four £64 per night for my wife and myself. I feel was extremely overpriced. On top of this there was no Wi-Fi in the room as one had to go to a public area to have Wi-Fi access. There was no reserve parking at the hotel we had to park a kilometre away and after appearing at a show all day. I was very tired. I did not enjoy the hotel at all the hotel receptionist was foreign and was difficult to understand and I found she did not have the finesse of a three star hotel I will not be staying at this hotel again.

Reviewed by
Raymond Worthy

From Croydon, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Grim
Grim

Reviewed by
Timothy R

From Halifax, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very small room, very hot, no air conditioning and didn't sleep well at all.
Breakfast served too late to eat as going to work that morning (started at 8am)

Reviewed by
d smith

From Eastbourne, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Don't stay here
This is worse than fawlty towers, the manager is very rude and the food we couldn't eat, as it was served cold and wouldn't cook refresh, would only heat it in the microwave.
Feel sorry for the staff, they are trying their best but with such a poor manager. This hotel needs shutting and sorting out.

Reviewed by
paul l

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hilton it a'int!!
Hilton by name only. Frankly I don't know how these places get away with it. I booked a double room but got a twin room. As we were staying for one night only we thought we could push the beds together but discovered one bed was higher than the other. Plus one mattress was bigger than the base it was on therefore it was hanging off the edges and if you sat at the edge of the bed you'd end up on the floor.
When we moved the bed we found that the floor underneath had probably not been cleaned for months.
Next morning we ended up queuing for about 20 minutes to be seated for breakfast. The hotel was pretty full and yet only three members of staff were working in the dining area. There were lots of empty tables but no one to lay them or to serve you.
The only positive thing I can say about this place is that it is on the sea front. Then again so are rubbish bins, public toilets....

Reviewed by
Narayana H

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next