No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Sheldon

4AA Assessed Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
9-11 Burlington Place, , , Eastbourne, BN21 4AS
The Sheldon offers FREE private parking with every guest room. Because the Sheldon is in the heart of Eastbourne, you really can forget your car and walk everywhere. The Sheldon's bedrooms (all en-suite) are beautifully decorated with Haitian paintings, furnished to a high standard and are completed with all the amenities you would expect from a good bed and breakfast. Rooms are serviced daily. We have 4 standard single rooms, 2 superior single, 3 spacious standard double/twin rooms, 3 budget double rooms (the same great facilities, breakfast and parking included, but slightly smaller rooms), 7 Superior double/twin/family rooms and our show stopping Luxury Suite (perfect for a romantic getaway). All doubles/twins/superiors have 26'' or 32'' flat screen wall mounted TV, singles have 22'' flat screen TV. Complimentary teas, coffees, hot chocolates and biscuits ('Cafe etc...') are provided in all our bedrooms. Sheldon guests are provided with Au-Lait (by Scottish Fine Soaps toiletries), lovely luxury white linen and fluffy towels for personal comfort. Our family rooms provide sofa bed for up to 2 children under age 12. We provide beakers with squash sticks and biscuit for children and a bath towel each. Complementary cots are available if requested. Breakfast is served in the feature dining room. The Sheldon prides itself on providing high quality, fresh cooked breakfasts with excellent service. Perfectly situated just 1 minutes walk to the beach and a few hundred yards to the theatres, restaurants, conference centre, shops, winter garden, pier, museums and Devonshire Park tennis club. The Sheldon is also just a 5 minute walk from the train and bus stations. We only change towels that have been requested to be changed or placed in the bathtub or shower tray and recycle as much as possible. Water is naturally descaled as it comes into the property and is safe to drink.
Picture of The Sheldon, Eastbourne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 57 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

visit
small room leaking shower head

Reviewed by
P Dodd

From Boston, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenient location near to seafront with own parking
Friendly staff

Reviewed by
Alastair P

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Check in & check out service distinctly average. Comfy bed highlight of room. Very attentive service at breakfast.

Reviewed by
Mark H

From Southampton , UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff very helpful and friendly, clean rooms, good location.

Reviewed by
peter b

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Match point
We were in Eastbourne for the tennis and this hotel was perfect. Very close to the venue, also the town centre and restaurants. Would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
S Sanders

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sheldon Hotel
Booked the hotel for the second year running - great location

Reviewed by
Shirley D

From Blairgowrie, Scotland
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quick stop or longer stay
Nice hotel, small single room, but had adequate en-suite. Somehow there were some men's clothes and shoes in the wardrobe, but didn't bother to mention to the owners! Did seem strange. Breakfast was good with a good selection, though the service was a bit sullen! Other staff friendly and accommodating.

Reviewed by
Lorna F

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money in a good Central Location
We enjoyed our our three night stay at this hotel, the staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast cooked and served to a quality standard.

Reviewed by
Mike Curtis

From Ipswich, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A beautiful friendly hotel.
Great room and a great nights sleep, followed by a tasty breakfast would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
N Millard

From London, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little gem in Eastbourne
Judith & Greg are superb hosts who really care about their guests. Bed and table linen were spotlessly white and the breakfast was to die for. Will stay here again next time we're in Eastbourne

Reviewed by
Ethne D'Arcy

From Ely, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next