No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Sheldon

4AA Assessed Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
9-11 Burlington Place, , , Eastbourne, BN21 4AS
The Sheldon offers FREE private parking with every guest room. Because the Sheldon is in the heart of Eastbourne, you really can forget your car and walk everywhere. The Sheldon's bedrooms (all en-suite) are beautifully decorated with Haitian paintings, furnished to a high standard and are completed with all the amenities you would expect from a good bed and breakfast. Rooms are serviced daily. We have 4 standard single rooms, 2 superior single, 3 spacious standard double/twin rooms, 3 budget double rooms (the same great facilities, breakfast and parking included, but slightly smaller rooms), 7 Superior double/twin/family rooms and our show stopping Luxury Suite (perfect for a romantic getaway). All doubles/twins/superiors have 26'' or 32'' flat screen wall mounted TV, singles have 22'' flat screen TV. ****New for 2015!, adjoining rooms and our quiet room zone***** Complimentary Refreshment tray (Cafe etc...) and Au Lait toiletries in every room. Our family rooms provide sofa bed for up to 2 children under age 12. We provide beakers with squash sticks and biscuit for children and a bath towel each. Complementary cots are available if requested. Breakfast is served in the feature dining room. The Sheldon prides itself on providing high quality, fresh cooked breakfasts with excellent service. Perfectly situated just 1 minutes walk to the beach and a few hundred yards to the theatres, restaurants, conference centre, shops, winter garden, pier, museums and Devonshire Park tennis club. The Sheldon is also just a 5 minute walk from the train and bus stations. We only change towels that have been requested to be changed or placed in the bathtub or shower tray and recycle as much as possible. Water is naturally descaled as it comes into the property and is safe to drink.Unfortunately we cannot offer late check out
Picture of The Sheldon, Eastbourne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 68 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stayed at The Sheldon on a number of occasions.
Quality and service as other stays.
Excellent property and will stay again.

Reviewed by
Peter M

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel. Very clean and staff very friendly and helpful. Room was very comfortable. Proximity was perfect for the theatres. I would definitely use this hotel again.

Reviewed by
helen r

From Brighton, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend Break
Everything as expected after reading other peoples reviews.

Reviewed by
Christopher K

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

New Year's Eve
I would recommend everything about this hotel. My single (superior) room was small but spotless with a little annex with a chair and tea/coffee making facilities. Cheerful greeting from who I assume was the owner as I went into breakfast which was provided by the attentive waiting staff.
Slight niggles were the time it took for my omelette to arrive but I did get an apology from the waitress. The lift was situated near my bedroom and was quite noisy

Reviewed by
Chris G

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

All round excellence....
Friendly staff, free off street parking. Info in rooms about hotel and area. Handy free wifi. No need to take a hair dryer as in room with a iron and ironing board. Had a walk in wardrobe and large chest if drawers. Large room. Was in basement but very quiet. Breakfast was fantastic. Cooked and cold options. Definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
M MCCULLUM

From HAILSHAM, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Sheldon
Returned for a second time. Lovely, clean and comfortable room. Hotel ideally positioned, within 5mins walk of excellent restaurants and shops. Breakfast superb. The hotel is reasonably priced and offers excellent value for money. We will be back!

Reviewed by
Paula K

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Winter visit
The Sheldon is very well decorated with adequate single room for a short necessary visit to Eastbourne. Very convenient for station, restaurants and shops but also close to seafront and theatres if visiting for a longer break

Reviewed by
Christine B

From East Cowes, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good for the money
Good value for the money.Infact I feel I cheated the hotel for the service I got.
Late checkout option would be great

Reviewed by
Oby A

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

will definately stay there again!
great value for money, v good location, hotel very clean, owners very nice i felt like i was at home :)

Reviewed by
Agnieszka H

From Hove, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Discovering a glorious old hotel modernised to feel like new
I loved this hotel. The woman at reception was so accommodating; the room had such an interesting layout, divided in two to make it larger rather than smaller. The location near the sea was fabulous. Room and premises clean and quiet. Wonderful to be able to afford a traditional seaside hotel.

Reviewed by
J Straus

From London, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next