No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Sheldon

4AA Assessed Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
9-11 Burlington Place, , , Eastbourne, BN21 4AS
The Sheldon offers FREE private parking with every guest room. Because the Sheldon is in the heart of Eastbourne, you really can forget your car and walk everywhere. The Sheldon's bedrooms (all en-suite) are beautifully decorated with Haitian paintings, furnished to a high standard and are completed with all the amenities you would expect from a good bed and breakfast. Rooms are serviced daily. We have 4 standard single rooms, 2 superior single, 3 spacious standard double/twin rooms, 3 budget double rooms (the same great facilities, breakfast and parking included, but slightly smaller rooms), 7 Superior double/twin/family rooms and our show stopping Luxury Suite (perfect for a romantic getaway). All doubles/twins/superiors have 26'' or 32'' flat screen wall mounted TV, singles have 22'' flat screen TV. ****New for 2015!, adjoining rooms and our quiet room zone***** Complimentary Refreshment tray (Cafe etc...) and Au Lait toiletries in every room. Our family rooms provide sofa bed for up to 2 children under age 12. We provide beakers with squash sticks and biscuit for children and a bath towel each. Complementary cots are available if requested. Breakfast is served in the feature dining room. The Sheldon prides itself on providing high quality, fresh cooked breakfasts with excellent service. Perfectly situated just 1 minutes walk to the beach and a few hundred yards to the theatres, restaurants, conference centre, shops, winter garden, pier, museums and Devonshire Park tennis club. The Sheldon is also just a 5 minute walk from the train and bus stations. We only change towels that have been requested to be changed or placed in the bathtub or shower tray and recycle as much as possible. Water is naturally descaled as it comes into the property and is safe to drink.Unfortunately we cannot offer late check out
Picture of The Sheldon, Eastbourne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 66 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a charming place right near the sea and handy for the town centre - lovely friendly service
Stayed one night on business in July. Single room - small but really tastefully furnished, very clean, kettle, full length mirror, tv, armchair. Only thing stopping me giving it a 6 is that it was small and bathroom tiny, but single rooms are never the biggest. Reception were incredibly friendly - helpful with directions, drew me a map etc. Didn't eat breakfast as don't really care for the "full English" but kettle in room meant I could do my own porridge and tea, so no problem for me. Had a sea view and woken at 5am by the gulls! Would recommend and stay again. Car park a huge plus.

Reviewed by
Claire Wood

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An excellent choice!
A quiet and very well located hotel just off the seafront and within easy walking of town centre. Having elderly relatives accompanying, the hotel carpark was important to us, as was ease of access to the rooms via a lift. The staff were friendly and helpful at all times. Couldn't ask for more and would definitely use again.

Reviewed by
C Bellamy

From Amersham, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A short but sweet stay!
Very impressed with The Sheldon Hotel right from the moment we arrived as there was ample off street parking at the rear. We loved our room and the very large bathroom too and appreciated the separate side entrance at ground level which meant that we didn't have to lug our cases up and down stairs! Staff were very friendly and could answer all the questions we had about our stay. Very minor criticisms?... only a couple. One being the lack of a large full length mirror in the room as we were a family trying to get ready for a wedding and had to struggle with a very small shaving mirror and a picture frame sized one on the wall. The other being the cooked portion of the breakfast which could have maybe been a bit larger although I admit that all of my family hate mushrooms, so that may have made the difference there!. All -in- all a brilliant place to stay for a family as the room was at ground level and thus was a lot cooler and had its own entry/exit!

Reviewed by
A Browning

From Maidstone, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fit for a king + queen
This hotel was very nice.from the moment we opened the front door to the moment we departed.the owners were first class.gave us a warm welcome and made us feel at home.very helpfull and made our one night stay one to remember.the rooms were very big lots of space beds were very comfortable clean good shower and toilet in room.and shampoo and soap .the breakfast was great. plenty of choice on the breakfast menu.i think this hotel should be a 5 star for what you get for the money.

Reviewed by
S WALLACE

From SLOUGH BERKSHIRE, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

room with a view
On arrival, booked in, stayed on the top floor, room was clean, tidy, little compact but a lovely hotel.

Reviewed by
Stuart H

From Sittingbourne, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sheldon at Eastbourne
We had an excellent stay, the staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly. The location was ideal for the sea front and good restaurants were within easy walking distance. "The owners are new to the catering business and they certainly stepped up to the plate." THey deserve to succeed in their venture.

Reviewed by
john white

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Hotel
We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of May 2013 and the hotel and staff were great. We were made to feel very welcome and the room was an excellent standard. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Reviewed by
Andrew C

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent accommodation very friendly and helpful staff.would highly recommend this hotel. Could not fault it.

Reviewed by
Howard S

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic Stay
Very very comfortable hotel!, and spotlessly clean, with tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer, Large flat screen TV and satellite channels.
Bed was very large was superbly comfortable!
Breakfast was lovely and the staff were all friendly, nothing seemed to be too much trouble!
It was very good to be able to park at the hotel too (no additional costs to use car park) as parking in Eastbourne is notorious for parking meters and it's wardens!
We were so impressed with hotel we have booked to go again, as we like the south coast and this hotel ticks all the boxes!

Reviewed by
C Doe

From Chelmsford, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Hotel
I enjoyed my stay, the breakfast was lovely and freshly cooked to order, the room was cosy and comfortable. I will stay here again. My only request would be for a mug in the room rather than a cup - but it seems that all but a few hotels give us cups.

Reviewed by
Helen B

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next