No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Lansdowne Hotel

4Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
1 & 2 Robertson Terrace, , , Hastings, TN34 1JE
During the first half of 2010, the Lansdowne Hotel was taken over by new owners and has since been undergoing many changes and improvements. The Lansdowne is located in Robertson Terrace, which was named after Patrick Robertson, the Conservative Member of Parliament, who was responsible for the development of this very elegant area in the early 1850’s. The history of the Robertson Street/town centre area in Hastings is far richer and more extraordinary than many people would ever believe. An area covered by Harold Place, the Queens Hotel, Robertson Terrace, Carlisle Parade, White Rock, Robertson Street, Trinity Street, and Claremont, this area to the West of the Priory-Stream was outside the Hastings Borough boundary and was the result of the sea receding. The occupants living in the area hoisted the American Stars and Stripes flag which was a symbol for victory and declared independence. This is how the area became known as the America Ground. Situated in what has to be one of the most prime locations of Hastings seafront, everything you need is right on your doorstep, whatever your requirements. Since taking over in June 2010 we have made many changes e.g. all the beds has been changed with memory foam mattresses, there is WI-FI in all the the rooms. We have put all new linen, new pillows, duvets, net curtains and flat screen televisions in all rooms. We have improved the lounge area with draught beer on tap and free internet for our guests as well as new sofas.
Picture of Lansdowne Hotel, Hastings at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 25 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
79% recommended this accommodation to a friend 79% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our lovely stay at the Lansdowne
My friend and I had a very enjoyable stY at this hotel. Staff couldn't have been more friendly and very helpful. Rooms excellent. Lovely sea views and balconies. Breakfast was the best I have had in years. Will certainly stay again

Reviewed by
Sue Claydon

From Canterbury, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great for Leisure
I had a great sea view, the room was clean and bed was comfy. They have great tea and coffee making facilities. Staff were attentive and friendly but not brilliant customer service.
The negative comment I would give are concerning how thin the walls are. Overall the hotel is great value for money, warm and homely.

Reviewed by
S McCallum

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lively outside
Room was small, and had everything for a decent nights sleep. The location of the room was to the back and the noise from the pubs etc...etc..etc.. did not stop till after 2pm. Not the hotels problem but made for a very late night, drunk people, loud , etc. If you are a party animal then fine, you'll probably be with the crowd, If you want an quite peaceful rest, not the room for you

Reviewed by
W Mawson

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fine for a night.

Reviewed by
C Perry

From Aberdar, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great budget B&B
Great location with a sea view room. Nice service. A little dated in décor and furnishings, but great value for money. Would stay again.

Reviewed by
Matthew H

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room good size , great view of the sea front , double bed really comfy

Reviewed by
Scott F

From Bracknell, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great value friendly staff
I was upgraded to a luxury room and found it really pleasant. Good sea views. Excellent facilites in the room, including coffee percolator, iron and board, hair dryer, 28" TV, shampoo and shower gel in shower room. The bed was comfortable and I slept well every night.

Reviewed by
Rod Novis

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Location
Right by the Sea and in the center of Town. Nice place to stay - highly recommend!

Reviewed by
Lesley M

From Redhill, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lansdowne Hotel a bargain
Nicely situated on the sea front wth good views. Friendly staff but not intrusive. Room was reasonably quiet and facilities suited my needs. Clean shower room, well stocked tea/coffee tray, clear TV picture.

Reviewed by
Rod Novis

From Hastings, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel was clean. the room I had was on the small side and did not contain any draws as such to put my clothes. Unfortunately I was on the third floor and the lift was inadequate to use so it was a climb up the stairs for me which did put me off of going in and out much.

Reviewed by
P Wilson

From Chester, England
Who stayed in May 2014

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next