No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Lansdowne Hotel

4Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
1 & 2 Robertson Terrace, , , Hastings, TN34 1JE
During the first half of 2010, the Lansdowne Hotel was taken over by new owners and has since been undergoing many changes and improvements. The Lansdowne is located in Robertson Terrace, which was named after Patrick Robertson, the Conservative Member of Parliament, who was responsible for the development of this very elegant area in the early 1850’s. The history of the Robertson Street/town centre area in Hastings is far richer and more extraordinary than many people would ever believe. An area covered by Harold Place, the Queens Hotel, Robertson Terrace, Carlisle Parade, White Rock, Robertson Street, Trinity Street, and Claremont, this area to the West of the Priory-Stream was outside the Hastings Borough boundary and was the result of the sea receding. The occupants living in the area hoisted the American Stars and Stripes flag which was a symbol for victory and declared independence. This is how the area became known as the America Ground. Situated in what has to be one of the most prime locations of Hastings seafront, everything you need is right on your doorstep, whatever your requirements. Since taking over in June 2010 we have made many changes e.g. all the beds has been changed with memory foam mattresses, there is WI-FI in all the the rooms. We have put all new linen, new pillows, duvets, net curtains and flat screen televisions in all rooms. We have improved the lounge area with draught beer on tap and free internet for our guests as well as new sofas.
Picture of Lansdowne Hotel, Hastings at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 36 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

much improved by new owners
we used this hotel for many years until it went so far downhill (tatty decor, indifferent staff etc) that we stopped going there. Noting it had been taken over & refurbished we decided to give it another try as it is so convenient when we are visiting friends in the area. We were pleasantly surprised, the welcome was warm & welcoming, our sea view room was clean & nicely decorated with crisp white linen on the very comfortable bed. The on-suite was also very clean. There is clearly still work to be done but we will use the Lansdowne again when visiting Hastings.

Reviewed by
S Hill

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value
We stayed for 2 nights and it was good value for money. The room was tidy and had a decent bathroom and good shower. The bed was comfortable, just a little small (double); however this is because my partner and I are used to sleeping in a King. The staff were very accommodative and friendly. We were delayed due to train delays, but this was no problem with the hotel.

Reviewed by
A Marsh

From London, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very reasonable
Lovely little room, great view, we'll located. Only issue was with the shower - long time for the water to get hot and not much pressure thereafter. But fine otherwise.

Reviewed by
m duggan

From Harrow, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

New Years Eve was made better by this hotel
Booked this room for my girlfriend and I on LateRooms and when we got there, they had upgraded us for free to a deluxe room with an amazing view of the sea. The bed was amazingly comfy and the bathroom lovely and clean. The staff were friendly and even the night porter who looked exhausted wished us a happy new year at 2:30am when we got in.
They also gave us a permit for free parking in the car parks which was a nice touch too.

Reviewed by
David H

From Poole, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Awful
Just stayed here to try it out and will never stay again. The room was tiny. The TV was the size of a match box. I had no table bar a small one with the tea stuff on.
The ironing board on the wall I tried to use as a table and it just collapsed on me. In the bathroom bit of wall were falling off. Shower was weak. The electric in the room went off 3 times! I had to phone the hotel reception and the guy had to come and sort fuse out.
My payment for the hotel was all mixed up. I arrived and the person at reception knew nothing about new alterations to my stay. And tried to charge more than the rate agreed and the new dates agreed.
The bed was tiny! I am a bigger than normal guy. I did not expect a bed that small. And the cover barely covered the bed. I was falling out of it. Apart from all that it was great. (Sarcasm) The reason I chose this hotel was for the sea view. Big mistake. the window was so small anyway it wasnt worth it.

Reviewed by
Lee B

From London, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice sea view room, good facilities and friendly staff. Our only criticism is the fridge in the room was a bit noisy a night when getting off to sleep, other than that great stay. Thank you.

Reviewed by
Daniel L

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value, great location
No complaints! Exactly what was expected!

Reviewed by
Arran A

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay
Single room with sea view, was just as it said. The room was a bit worn, the decoration tired, but the bed was comfortable. The shower worked well and the towels and linen all clean and fresh.
For an overnight in Hastings, it is good value for money.

Reviewed by
Michael B

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Met all our needs
This is the second time we have stayed here, and we find it friendly and comfortable.

Reviewed by
hazel t

From London, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lansdowne Hotel
Great value for money. Really lovely lady on the reception who helped with lost credit cards and general information. Small but adequate single room. Everything I needed was in there.

Reviewed by
Mark H

From Dukinfield, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next