No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Lansdowne Hotel

2Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
1 & 2 Robertson Terrace, , , Hastings, TN34 1JE
During the first half of 2010, the Lansdowne Hotel was taken over by new owners and has since been undergoing many changes and improvements. The Lansdowne is located in Robertson Terrace, which was named after Patrick Robertson, the Conservative Member of Parliament, who was responsible for the development of this very elegant area in the early 1850’s. The history of the Robertson Street/town centre area in Hastings is far richer and more extraordinary than many people would ever believe. An area covered by Harold Place, the Queens Hotel, Robertson Terrace, Carlisle Parade, White Rock, Robertson Street, Trinity Street, and Claremont, this area to the West of the Priory-Stream was outside the Hastings Borough boundary and was the result of the sea receding. The occupants living in the area hoisted the American Stars and Stripes flag which was a symbol for victory and declared independence. This is how the area became known as the America Ground. Situated in what has to be one of the most prime locations of Hastings seafront, everything you need is right on your doorstep, whatever your requirements. Since taking over in June 2010 we have made many changes e.g. all the beds has been changed with memory foam mattresses, there is WI-FI in all the the rooms. We have put all new linen, new pillows, duvets, net curtains and flat screen televisions in all rooms. We have improved the lounge area with draught beer on tap and free internet for our guests as well as new sofas.
Picture of Lansdowne Hotel, Hastings at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 19 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
79% recommended this accommodation to a friend 79% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great value friendly staff
I was upgraded to a luxury room and found it really pleasant. Good sea views. Excellent facilites in the room, including coffee percolator, iron and board, hair dryer, 28" TV, shampoo and shower gel in shower room. The bed was comfortable and I slept well every night.

Reviewed by
Rod Novis

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Location
Right by the Sea and in the center of Town. Nice place to stay - highly recommend!

Reviewed by
Lesley M

From Redhill, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lansdowne Hotel a bargain
Nicely situated on the sea front wth good views. Friendly staff but not intrusive. Room was reasonably quiet and facilities suited my needs. Clean shower room, well stocked tea/coffee tray, clear TV picture.

Reviewed by
Rod Novis

From Hastings, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel was clean. the room I had was on the small side and did not contain any draws as such to put my clothes. Unfortunately I was on the third floor and the lift was inadequate to use so it was a climb up the stairs for me which did put me off of going in and out much.

Reviewed by
P Wilson

From Chester, England
Who stayed in May 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Weekend in Great location
Booked a de luxe room with sea view - a must, and had the added luxury of a balcony on the hottest weekend in May!! The hotel is in prime location for Hastings but being in the quieter end of the seafront so no late night noise. Room facilities excellent for the cost - fresh coffee, most comfy bed and beautiful bed linen. Overall made the weekend perfect especially having the added bonus of sunshine. Thank you Lansdowne Hotel .

Reviewed by
Annette A

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hastings
Staff was attentive to my request for a quiet room. They'd chosen the highest they had with a sea view. (This by the way was very good). They explained that the only noise would come from other residents but that if there was a problem, we should contact the staff. In the event, all was nice and quiet. Only quibble was that the bathroom door could not be closed firmly from the outside but this was not a big deal. Tea and coffee in the room. Great. Tele all good. Parking handy. In short, a nice overnight stay.

Reviewed by
Brian E

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant Experience
Nice hotel overlooking the beach/sea, and excellent location for rail station and exploring Hastings. The room I had was small but quirky and rather nice as one could lie in bed and look at the sea. Bathroom and facilities fairly basic. Breakfast was nice, and staff were pleasant and helpful. A small lounge/bar with deep chairs, but there are plenty of restaurants, cafés etc close by, plus shops, bars etc. Very good value, and I would certainly stay here again.

Reviewed by
A Barnes

From Norway
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointed
The soundproofing in the room was poor and the noise from the bar in the street below was horrendous, the shower was too low and the bracket holding the shower head was loose so no adjustment was possible! Some wallpaper was missing from the wall

Reviewed by
R Hulley

From Leighton Buzzard, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Home from home
This hotel provided me with a good sized double room, with a very comfortable bed, balcony and sea view. The room was enjoyable to chill out in on the very windy, cold nights. I can't fault the room.
The breakfast offered a selection of starters, as well as cooked food. All was enjoyable and filling. I was happy with it.
Overall, I was very happy with the whole experience over my two night stay.

Reviewed by
r mason

From London, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Stay
Got a complimentry upgrade to a sea view room, it was perfect for my needs and the price was very good. I'd quite happily stay here again :)

Reviewed by
S Ahmed

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next