No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Grand Brighton

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
97-99 Kings Road , Brighton, BN1 2FW

Simply The Guest Awards Winner

Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

The Grand Brighton is located just under an hour from London and 25 minutes from Gatwick Airport. Brighton Train Station is less than one mile and is easily accessible from M25 and M23 motorways.

With its sumptuous Italian Renaissance style, The Grand Brighton is a masterpiece of Victorian splendour and has been lovingly restored following a multi-million pound investment including refurbishment of all lounge areas, cocktail bar, restaurant and guest bedrooms. The hotel stands proud on Brighton's seafront, boasts panoramic sea views and is just a stones throw away from the famous Lanes, Brighton Pier, The Royal Pavilion, theatres and nightlife.

The 201 newly decorated bedrooms have been furnished with fabrics and interiors to a very high standard featuring luxury Egyptian linens and bathrobes, free Wi-Fi, flat screen TV’s with satellite and some Sky channels.

For pure indulgence and total relaxation guests can head down to The Sp@ The Grand, the elegant new Day Spa. The Grand’s new spa is impressive at first sight. Plus, if you want to work out as well as relax there is a modern air-conditioned gym on the first floor. The luxurious Spa at The Grand, run by our own experienced and professionally trained therapists, provides the perfect relaxation retreat, offering treatments in calm and tranquil surroundings.

One of Brighton's most glamorous culinary hotspots, GB1 Seafood Restaurant and Bar offers the south coast's finest and freshest fish and seafood caught daily. GB1 is open 7 days a week for lunch and dinner, offering an a la carte menu, specials from the blackboard and affordable set lunch menus. Whether you want a quick bite and a glass of bubbles from the restaurant's stunning champagne and oyster bar, a quiet dinner or celebratory feast, GB1 offers the perfect dining experience for all. Quality meat dishes from the grill, classic British favourites and vegetarian dishes are available.

If it is something less formal you're after try the Victoria Lounge and Terrace with its tantalising array of classic British dishes and light lunchtime favourites. This is where you can indulge in our famous Grand Afternoon Tea, whilst enjoying uninterrupted views of the seafront, mere yards away. Traditional Sussex Cream Teas are available from Monday to Friday: 3pm-6pm and on Saturday and Sunday there are two sittings at 2.30pm and 4.30pm It is essential to pre-book afternoon tea prior to arrival.

Boasting old world elegance, The Victoria Bar offers an extensive cocktail, wine and drinks list including the classics you'd expect and a few that might surprise. You can sit back and check your e-mail using the Wi-Fi and mull over the big decisions, like will it be the Mojito, a refreshing glass of Pimms or a glass of Champagne.
Picture of The Grand Brighton, Brighton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 186 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Half Term Chill Out
We booked this hotel on the day before we went, for 2 nights. planned what to do before we went and filled our time. The hotel was incredible, really welcoming and all the staff were remarkable in their customer service and we had such a good time. We only ate breakfast in the hotel but the food was exceptional and the service was very good. The facilities in the room were excellent and all in all we would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to any one.

Reviewed by
Samuel F

From Rayleigh, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel will definitely stay again
Really enjoyed our stay at the Grand. The staff were very welcoming and the room was clean and spacious.

Reviewed by
Carl Vernalls

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel
Very nice hotel, great location although the shower could do with a bit more power. Would thoroughly recommend...

Reviewed by
Adam F

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect for a mid week treat at a reasonable price for such a lovely hotel

Reviewed by
Joanna Jones

From Godalming, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel in great location

Reviewed by
PAULA M

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Its nice to stay in such an iconic hotel in Brighton.
The room was large and very clean. Reception staff were friendly and helpful.
We had breakfast in the morning which was excellent.
Definite value for money.

Reviewed by
N Smith

From Southsea, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

comfortable stay
we had a very comfortable night although we could hear the ventilation plant outside our room with the windows shut. The breakfast was very good, and the staff very friendly and helpful. We had a good late offer price; we wouldnt have wanted to pay the normal room rate.

Reviewed by
andrew w

From Cranbrook, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brighton Stay
Valet parking very good but not cheap at £30 on top of the room. All in all service was very good and the hotel was clean and comfortable.

Reviewed by
A Mansfield

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfy bed but for the price expected pristine room!!
I went away for a weekend with my best friend. We thought we would treat ourselves and stay at The Grand. The room was spacious but overlooked roofs. The beds were very comfy so a good nights sleep was had. The bathroom needed some attention. A cupholder was missing off the wall and the shower head was obviously badly corroded. This meant most of the water poured out at the edges and unfortunately flooded the bathroom floor even with the show curtain in place. The cupboard that used to house the fridge was badly scratched when it was removed!! We did report these problems to reception on our departure and they said they would get them seen to but at these prices they should have been sorted before we arrived! Breakfast was very nice and we had a lovely view over the sea. The staff at reception were very nice as was the concierge who valet parked our car.

Reviewed by
Sandra G

From Epsom, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room with a view!
We booked the De Vere Grand as we are regular visitors to De Vere venues, and thought we'd give this a go. An old fashioned hotel on the seafront, there is an air of luxury about the place - a piano player, afternoon tea, very attentive staff and quiet corridors and rooms. We upgraded on arrival as it was a special occasion and were given one of the corner rooms and what a room! Five floor to ceiling sea view windows, one with opening doors, a living area and a huge bed - throw in a large bathroom with his and hers basins, bath and shower - and we were well satisfied.
We ate at the GB1 seafood restaurant one night - great service and food. Breakfast is a bit of a disappointment - still the rush at breakfast and on occasions a queue to get in. Still the hot food is replenished regularly and if you can grab a waiter, tea and coffee is plentiful.
We had a great time and were sad to leave our beautiful room with amazing views.

Reviewed by
c kind

From Sheerness, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next