Reviews - The Grand Brighton


97-99 Kings Road, Brighton, BN1 2FW

Price From 193.32 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (123)

80% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • S Gilbey

  • November 2014

Great Service

The service is fabulous.

A special mention to Adam the bartender, who went out of his way to make a cocktail that was not on the menu. The room was nothing special, (we had an inland double room) however, it was clean, and the bed was extremely comfortable. We ate in the GB1 restaurant and the food was very nice and the service excellent. Unfortunately, the buffet breakfast was nothing special. We chose the hot English breakfast option. It was very bland. The bacon had no colour or taste and we had a better quality of cooked breakfast at a local café the next day. Overall, I would highly recommend a stay at this iconic hotel. The service from the moment you arrive to when you leave is excellent. The ambiance is wonderful and you are made to feel very welcome and special.

  • m barnes

  • November 2014

Great hotel and staff were excellent.

  • Dominic F

  • October 2014

A fantastic hotel in a very convenient location near most of the sights in Brighton.

Door staff, waiting staff and desk staff all very polite and professional. We ate out at a pre-arranged function, but the evening menu looked very good and the breakfast we had was excellent, quick service and a great variety of foods to tempt you with. All in all a good place to stay and if driving to the hotel if you get there early they have their own car park. We arrived late and had to park at the nearby NCP multi storey, but this was very close by, only a little way behind the hotel

  • Ken Musgrave

  • October 2014

The only place to stay in Brighton

We received excellent service throughout our stay, we will return.

  • c dowdell

  • October 2014

good weekend

the day was spot on from when we turned up outside .

the staff was at car are to open the door for my wife then took are bags out in to the hall. as we were signing in they took are bags up to are room so we can relax at the bar .there was no rush as we relax at the bar . when we got are room the case was put on a case holder so we could unpack. room service was great as asked for drinks in room turned up asap.Bathroom was very clean and lots of towels small and big, liked the little soap and bits. The meal at nite was great. my wife loved the ham, egg and chip starter. grilled steak was cooked to how we both wanted it done. the staff did not keep asking how meal was all the time. had nice music in background. bed was comfortable and big, slept well. as for breakfast all hot and fresh. from the cold cereal to the hot food. when time to leave the staff were on hand to help with the bags back in to car then opened door for my wife. all in all a great weekend .Mr and Mrs Dowdell.

  • J Cobb

  • October 2014

Poor room, horrible breakfast and really anoying lifts

Booked in early but was told that the room was ready for us - result.

After fighting with one of the two lifts we finally arrived in our room and found it wasn't in fact ready, ho hum. Told a passing member of staff and headed out to the town.

Got back to our room and found we were now locked out (please no, not the weird lifts again!) Back to the desk and sorted that out, back to the room to find we were just above the massive extractor fans for the kitchen, you really would have not believed the noise. It was like, well, having a huge bank of very, very large extractor fans just outside your window. Contacted the desk and to give then credit, we were moved... to the sixth floor, even more scope for the lifts to have their fun. This room was fine, except that the pull out knob thingy to switch from shower to taps in the bath was missing. It took ages to fill the dang bath up as the water was locked in shower mode. I suppose we could have contacted the desk again but at this point we were both apprehensive as to what yet another room would bring. Out for the evening then back to the hotel for a drink seemed like a good idea. Ordered my wife a white wine... and got given a red - gave up at that point. Got to the room, which was peaceful and quiet. Up the next morning for the included breakfast. Got to the restaurant and found a scene reminiscent of someone herding cats. A huge dining room (which was a tad tatty on the decorating front) with many, many tables, a large hotel that was pretty busy and they put one person on the restaurant desk, yup just the one. Once at the table we ordered tea and coffee (which was cool when it arrive if I'm generous), then went to the buffet for a cooked breakfast. To say we were both disappointed is a true statement. OK, we don't have that much experience with a 'Full English' but we have had way better pretty much at any greasy spoon we'd care to name...

Nothing stand out horrible, just very salty, eggs you could have used as body armour, weird muffin thing that the egg was on which was tough as shoe leather and the cheapest sausages money could buy. We booked this as a special deal (£150 instead of £300'ish, £300+ for goodness sake), but I resent paying even that. This is the Grand Hotel in Brighton not a Premier Inn, actually I take that back. We've stayed in Premier Inns and always found them to be OK. Would we stay at the Grand again. A resounding no. Would we recommend the Hotel to our friends and family. Again a resounding no.

  • S Webster

  • October 2014

Great value and location

Staff very friendly and helpful.

Hotel perfect for our short trip. This very old hotel is well decorated and clean throughout despite. Side room quiet, apart from bottles being emptied into lorry in the early hours. Would definitely stay there again.

  • P Winn

  • October 2014

overnight stay

We (husband, mother-in-law and Murphy, the dog) had a very enjoyable short stay.

The staff very friendly and helpful. When one staff saw we had a dog he offered a bed, and as I had forgotten Murphy s I accepted. The bed arrived extremely quickly and Murphy was very happy. I loved the decor and our room was very comfortable. Plenty to choose from the breakfast menu. On the whole a very good experience.

  • Andrew C

  • October 2014

Weekend at The Grand

Good location and a lovely old building but decor very tired in public areas and in need of a lick of paint and a good clean.

Shower in bathroom was very poor for a hotel of this supposed star rating, along with a filthy extractor fan. Nice food in the GB1 fish restaurant, but ridiculously long queues at breakfast meant we had to eat elsewhere one day and take room service the next.


  • October 2014

enjoyable experience, staff very friendly , very attentive especially Martin one of your bar waiters working in lounge area ,