Reviews - The Grand Brighton

4

97-99 Kings Road, Brighton, BN1 2FW

Price From 474.73 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (137)

80% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • S Webster

  • October 2014

Great value and location

Staff very friendly and helpful.

Hotel perfect for our short trip. This very old hotel is well decorated and clean throughout despite. Side room quiet, apart from bottles being emptied into lorry in the early hours. Would definitely stay there again.

  • P Winn

  • October 2014

overnight stay

We (husband, mother-in-law and Murphy, the dog) had a very enjoyable short stay.

The staff very friendly and helpful. When one staff saw we had a dog he offered a bed, and as I had forgotten Murphy s I accepted. The bed arrived extremely quickly and Murphy was very happy. I loved the decor and our room was very comfortable. Plenty to choose from the breakfast menu. On the whole a very good experience.

  • Andrew C

  • October 2014

Weekend at The Grand

Good location and a lovely old building but decor very tired in public areas and in need of a lick of paint and a good clean.

Shower in bathroom was very poor for a hotel of this supposed star rating, along with a filthy extractor fan. Nice food in the GB1 fish restaurant, but ridiculously long queues at breakfast meant we had to eat elsewhere one day and take room service the next.

  • LORRAINE WILLIAMS

  • October 2014

enjoyable experience, staff very friendly , very attentive especially Martin one of your bar waiters working in lounge area ,

  • f lane

  • September 2014

Innattentive bar staff

Inattentive bar staff and reported to management before leaving.

Also when asked for something like crisps or nuts about 2am in late bar was given direction to a 24x7 local store. The Grand had none.

  • John B

  • September 2014

In need of some refurbishment and staff organisation

I attended a conference in the hotel with a large number of other delegates many of who were staying in this hotel.

Our room had a cracked sink and the shower did not function properly. We were on the third floor, as were others in my party there was no ventilation or air conditioning and the rooms were stuffy requiring us to use a provided small electric fan. Otherwise the rooms were both clean and comfortable. On the 2 evenings we stayed there was insufficient bar staff on duty and on the Friday Morning - the day of the conference - many guests including myself and party were kept waiting for over 20 minutes to be seated for breakfast. On entering the restaurant there was a large number of vacant tables and food available but insufficient staff to clear or lay them. This causing the delay. The provided packed lunch for the conference is best described as poorly prepared and lacking. The ground floor men's public toilets were dirty and smelly the urinals unusable and a number of sinks were cracked.

  • H A J

  • September 2014

An excellent hotel for the business traveller with helpful staff

Service and cleanliness excellent.

We were originally put into an impossibly noisy room. The sound was coming from huge extractors immediately outside our window. Fortunately a quieter room was available and we moved promptly. The breakfast was plentiful and with wide choice but the cold bacon and cardboard stale foccaccia were disappointing. On reflection I think this is a hotel more suitable for the business traveller. After talking to other visitors to the town we'll try one of the have boutique hotels next time.

  • Rachel Cooper

  • September 2014

We stayed two weekend running with your special £99 per night break. We really enjoyed ourselves

As above and the staff were all extremely helpful and polite.

  • Susan B

  • September 2014

Could do better!!

I booked a standard room only one day before travelling, which was on the back of the hotel and overlooked the multi storey car park.

Fortunately I could not see the car park due to the filthy window on the outside. The room was small in comparison to many others I have stayed in for the same price, but adequate for our needs. Also please clean the lift, it too was filthy and gave a very bad early impression of the hotel, although the rest of the hotel was clean. Good breakfast and friendly staff.

  • Melissa Wright

  • September 2014

Elegant & relaxing

Having stayed in The Grand previously I knew what to expect, and again I was not disappointed.

The staff are extremely helpful & friendly & the atmosphere is very relaxed from the minute you arrive. The bar is lovely & the room was spacious & luxurious, a real treat to spend time there!