No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Grand Brighton

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
97-99 Kings Road , Brighton, BN1 2FW

Simply The Guest Awards Winner

Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

The Grand Brighton is located just under an hour from London and 25 minutes from Gatwick Airport. Brighton Train Station is less than one mile and is easily accessible from M25 and M23 motorways.

With its sumptuous Italian Renaissance style, The Grand Brighton is a masterpiece of Victorian splendour and has been lovingly restored following a multi-million pound investment including refurbishment of all lounge areas, cocktail bar, restaurant and guest bedrooms. The hotel stands proud on Brighton's seafront, boasts panoramic sea views and is just a stones throw away from the famous Lanes, Brighton Pier, The Royal Pavilion, theatres and nightlife.

The 201 newly decorated bedrooms have been furnished with fabrics and interiors to a very high standard featuring luxury Egyptian linens and bathrobes, free Wi-Fi, flat screen TV’s with satellite and some Sky channels.

For pure indulgence and total relaxation guests can head down to The Sp@ The Grand, the elegant new Day Spa. The Grand’s new spa is impressive at first sight. Plus, if you want to work out as well as relax there is a modern air-conditioned gym on the first floor. The luxurious Spa at The Grand, run by our own experienced and professionally trained therapists, provides the perfect relaxation retreat, offering treatments in calm and tranquil surroundings.

One of Brighton's most glamorous culinary hotspots, GB1 Seafood Restaurant and Bar offers the south coast's finest and freshest fish and seafood caught daily. GB1 is open 7 days a week for lunch and dinner, offering an a la carte menu, specials from the blackboard and affordable set lunch menus. Whether you want a quick bite and a glass of bubbles from the restaurant's stunning champagne and oyster bar, a quiet dinner or celebratory feast, GB1 offers the perfect dining experience for all. Quality meat dishes from the grill, classic British favourites and vegetarian dishes are available.

If it is something less formal you're after try the Victoria Lounge and Terrace with its tantalising array of classic British dishes and light lunchtime favourites. This is where you can indulge in our famous Grand Afternoon Tea, whilst enjoying uninterrupted views of the seafront, mere yards away. Traditional Sussex Cream Teas are available from Monday to Friday: 3pm-6pm and on Saturday and Sunday there are two sittings at 2.30pm and 4.30pm It is essential to pre-book afternoon tea prior to arrival.

Boasting old world elegance, The Victoria Bar offers an extensive cocktail, wine and drinks list including the classics you'd expect and a few that might surprise. You can sit back and check your e-mail using the Wi-Fi and mull over the big decisions, like will it be the Mojito, a refreshing glass of Pimms or a glass of Champagne.
Picture of The Grand Brighton, Brighton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 167 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place to stay
Had a lovely weekend away. The bed was so comfy I didn't want to leave it. Had drinks and a snack in the bar area of the hotel too and the bill was less than £9 which was a nice surprise. Well worth a visit and value for money.

Reviewed by
R Morgan-Penney

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Grand old dame
Which has benefited from quite a nice refurb

Reviewed by
Graeme C

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing
Air conditioning didn't work
Room next to noisy fan so couldn't leave windows open
Four little pots of UGT milk -yuk
Buffet breakfast ok but if you want it fresh it's an extra £5
Sky TV turned out to be just sky news unless you upgraded for an extra £30

Reviewed by
ken piper

From Skegness, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel
Everything you would expect from a quality hotel. The staff were attentive and impeccably well mannered. The room was light and airy and very comfortable. The food at breakfast was first class. Altogether a very enjoyable overnight stay.

Reviewed by
S Wilson

From Southsea, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel
The hotel was excellent and our stay most enjoyable.

Reviewed by
Elizabeth Bird

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Grand stay at a grand hotel
Everything perfect, cant wait to come back!

Reviewed by
Glenn Carter-Parry

From lamberhurst, England
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful break!
We had a three night stay at the Grand and loved it! It is a beautiful hotel in a great location. The staff really looked after us and the food is amazing - we can't wait to return!
The only negative comment I can make is that car parking is expensive and a little bit of a nuisance - though this seems to be a problem across the whole of Brighton as not many hotels along the seafront include free parking.

Reviewed by
Lynne B

From RIPON, England
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very hot bedroom!
Room 309 is very hot. The window is nearly above some sort of extractor (which emits a low hum).
Everything else about it is lovely though.

Reviewed by
Sara B

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A high quality experience
The hotel provided a very comfortable and elegant experience for our son's 21st birthday. Friendly and attentative staff were able to accommodate our needs during our stay. A twin room was much roomier than the standard double bedroom which was slightly cramped. The twin beds were pushed together to form a massive double bed in a very spacious room. Shame about the queues for breakfast after 9 am. In future I would prefer to book rooms only and spend the money on the sumptuous tea rather than breakfast.
It was very disappointing to find there was no swimming pool.

Reviewed by
Najaf & Faizana Syed

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The name lives up to it's reputation
I took my husband here for his Birthday. I requested at the time of booking, a newly refurbished rooms as it stated that the sea view rooms had not been refurbished as yet. I thought he would prefer this rather than a seaview as we would not be spending much time in the room anyway. We got a refurbished room and it was lovely. Very comfortable bed, large room, large wardrobe and complimentary water and tea and coffee making facilities. I called reception to let them know there was no hairdryer in the room and they brought one up for me whilst we were out of the room.
The customer service was excellent. We did not eat at the hotel but we did have a drink in the bar and again the table service was excellent.
I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyway. We paid £140 for the room but it was well worth it and would return with no hesitation.

Reviewed by
L Hume

From Leigh on Sea, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next