No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Grand Brighton

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
97-99 Kings Road , Brighton, BN1 2FW

Simply The Guest Awards Winner

Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

The Grand Brighton is located just under an hour from London and 25 minutes from Gatwick Airport. Brighton Train Station is less than one mile and is easily accessible from M25 and M23 motorways.

With its sumptuous Italian Renaissance style, The Grand Brighton is a masterpiece of Victorian splendour and has been lovingly restored following a multi-million pound investment including refurbishment of all lounge areas, cocktail bar, restaurant and guest bedrooms. The hotel stands proud on Brighton's seafront, boasts panoramic sea views and is just a stones throw away from the famous Lanes, Brighton Pier, The Royal Pavilion, theatres and nightlife.

The 201 newly decorated bedrooms have been furnished with fabrics and interiors to a very high standard featuring luxury Egyptian linens and bathrobes, free Wi-Fi, flat screen TV’s with satellite and some Sky channels.

For pure indulgence and total relaxation guests can head down to The Sp@ The Grand, the elegant new Day Spa. The Grand’s new spa is impressive at first sight. Plus, if you want to work out as well as relax there is a modern air-conditioned gym on the first floor. The luxurious Spa at The Grand, run by our own experienced and professionally trained therapists, provides the perfect relaxation retreat, offering treatments in calm and tranquil surroundings.

One of Brighton's most glamorous culinary hotspots, GB1 Seafood Restaurant and Bar offers the south coast's finest and freshest fish and seafood caught daily. GB1 is open 7 days a week for lunch and dinner, offering an a la carte menu, specials from the blackboard and affordable set lunch menus. Whether you want a quick bite and a glass of bubbles from the restaurant's stunning champagne and oyster bar, a quiet dinner or celebratory feast, GB1 offers the perfect dining experience for all. Quality meat dishes from the grill, classic British favourites and vegetarian dishes are available.

If it is something less formal you're after try the Victoria Lounge and Terrace with its tantalising array of classic British dishes and light lunchtime favourites. This is where you can indulge in our famous Grand Afternoon Tea, whilst enjoying uninterrupted views of the seafront, mere yards away. Traditional Sussex Cream Teas are available from Monday to Friday: 3pm-6pm and on Saturday and Sunday there are two sittings at 2.30pm and 4.30pm It is essential to pre-book afternoon tea prior to arrival.

Boasting old world elegance, The Victoria Bar offers an extensive cocktail, wine and drinks list including the classics you'd expect and a few that might surprise. You can sit back and check your e-mail using the Wi-Fi and mull over the big decisions, like will it be the Mojito, a refreshing glass of Pimms or a glass of Champagne.
Picture of The Grand Brighton, Brighton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 175 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent 5 Star Feel
Was well looked after and did feel like a five star hotel (rated 4) a little expensive for a business trip but one to revisit as a couple.

Reviewed by
Stephen R

From Rotherham, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fabulous break
this is probably the best hotel in Brighton and certainly lived up to it's reputation, a rear view from the window was not super but we hadn't asked for a sea view and the price reflected this, the service was excellent throughout from all the staff we encountered and breakfasts and the one evening meal were excellent too, the room had been refurbished and with excellent décor and facilities, free wi fi didn't connect straight away but was resolved by a personal call from the ISP provider in minutes, on site parking at a cost but cheaper than NCP and can be a deal breaker and worth having, have stayed at similarly priced hotel in Brighton before but this has the edge, will definitely come here again.

Reviewed by
J Laycock

From Halifax, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Hotel
Polite attentive staff. Room was spacious and well serviced. Good selection of food for breakfast , something for everyone. Dining staff friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
Elizabeth C

From Gainsborough, England
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very disappointing
Unfortunately, the Grand does not live up to its name or reputation. In the first instance we were met with an unhelpful receptionist who, when asked when our room was likely to be ready (we arrived at 12.30 and asked politely) responded with "rooms are guaranteed from 3 pm" - true but not exactly what you expect from a 5 star establishment. When we did get our room, our first impressions were that it was wonderful - but first impressions are not always correct. There was no air conditioning (very warm September weekend but thankfully a lot cooler than July/August!); no in room safe (even though it was promised in all the hotel blurb); the floor to ceiling windows and french doors looked good but, as well as making the room an oven on a sunny day, they kept out virtually no road noise so sleep was very difficult; no mini bar; no make up/shaving mirror in the bathroom; very poor light in the bathroom; no towel rail in the bathroom to put used towels on so they just lay on the floor in a soggy mess; only two hand and two bath towels supplied; no turn down service so the soggy towels stayed there and weren't replaced, meaning that showering in the morning was not very pleasant and also, no water left at the bedside (as is the case in most 5 star hotels). Overall, a not very pleasant experience - especially at the price charged for a "Chambre Unique" - and one we will not be repeating.

Reviewed by
M Gates

From Bedford, England
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Class Act
Yes this hotel is pricy, but you get what you pay for. Excellent all round. Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
Wendy Ingamells

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fab stay
Lovely experience, friendly staff despite being exceptionally busy.

Reviewed by
Victoria T

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

iconic hotel with slight imperfections
I rarely stay in such a prestigious traditional British '' grand'' hotel, so I possibly had unrealistic expectations... the public areas of the Grand Hotel are very impressive indeed, but I was a little disappointed with the room. I was in the standard '' inland'' room ( no sea view or '' superior'' extras), but I still thought it was very plain, a little tired looking, adequately spacious, but with very basic furnishings for a hotel of this distinction, creaky wardrobe doors, scuffed woodwork, inadequate lighting, windows that didn't seem to open or close properly, ill fitting curtains. The bathroom had an excellent '' monsoon'' shower, but otherwise very plain and outdated.
The staff were excellent and the breakfast was superb.The price I paid was very reasonable by comparison with lesser rated hotels in the same vicinity, so perhaps Im being a little nit picky, but an upgrade of the furnishings would help the accomodation to match the quality of the public areas.

Reviewed by
Steven G

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay at the Grand
The hotel was charmingly decorated. The staff were helpful and polite. I found the room to be clean very well presented and spacious.
I will be recommend it to my friends and will be returning.

Reviewed by
paul b

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a grand break
Staff were all very friendly; room was well appointed; a reasonably quiet night, excellent breakfast.
What else could I say?

Reviewed by
richard milner

From Haddington, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Meh
Average. I think the 'Grand' is relying on its reputation too much.
We paid extra for the 'Chambre Unique' package - which was something of a rip-off. The "Special drinks package" consisted of 6 dog-earred tea bags that looked like they had been there for over a year. You'd expect to find in a Travel lodge; and the "Verrisimo coffee machine" loudly delivered a cup of undrinkable "coffee". Very poor.
Breakfast was good, apart from the Hotel's enfuriating policy of escorting everyone individually to their tables. They only had one person on duty though, which led to long queues outside the breakfast room, whilst couples patiently waited to be escorted to their table and told (every day) how the buffet system 'worked'... This then just left lots of empty tables inside. Very strange.
Beware if you like to walk around your hotel room in your underwear... A window cleaner appeared at our window one morning at 9.30am (we were on the fifth floor). I appreciate that they need to clean the windows - but they should inform the guests when this is going to take place.

Reviewed by
Mark B

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next