No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Travellers Inn

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
999 WOLVERHAMPTON ROAD , BIRMINGHAM, B69 4RJ
Recently built the Travellers Inn offers 76 comfortable rooms at sensible prices. Our rooms are modern and functional. All rooms have tea/coffee facilities,power showers,free Wifi, irons,hairdryers and flat screen TV's.

Onsite car parking is free as is use of our gym. We have our own on-site restaurant and conference room suitable for up to 60 delegates.

A choice of cooked and continental breakfasts are available at £5.50 or £3.00 per person.

Within a 5 minute walk there is a supermarket, two pubs and two restaurant. Langley train station is a mile away and Sandwell and Dudley train station is just over 2 miles away. The NEC and Birmingham airport are 23 miles away, approximately 40 minutes by car.
Birmingham City Centre is just over 5 miles away. Walsall and Wolverhampton are 8 miles away and Dudley 2 miles.

Payment is taken in full on arrival. All guests are welcome to pay by cash but will be required to leave a £50 deposit which is refundable on check out.
out
Picture of The Travellers Inn, BIRMINGHAM at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 161 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Travellers Inn Experience
The hotel is not set in the most picturesque surroundings, what with the end of the M5 slip road just a couple hundred meters from the building. It is almost lost by other signage for the restaurant & gym. First impressions were it needed a good cleaning up, the reception area is too dark and dingy. The carpet runners on the landings need replacing (& in the rooms) & the rooms & wardrobes are small. The rooms were not totally clean. There was a bad odour on entry (cured by emptying a 1/3 of a bottle of Savlon disinfectant in the shower cubicle).
The first night we had food from the restaurant (buffet) which was nice. The restaurant seems to be popular. However, the next day when you come down for breakfast, the service area has not been cleaned. Deliveries are made from the front of the restaurant and pass straight through it. it just looks unprofessional (but I guess if there is no other entrance it has to be like that). It took a long time to get service for the breakfast and not a lot was set out. The next day though was much, much better.
All this said the place strangely grows on you, the staff are nice, if a little hard to find at times. It is ok value for money. Though wardrobe space is small, storage overall is good, there's an iron & board in each room, tea, coffee, all the basics that you need.
It could be a really good hotel, but too many things are happening on the site, what with the gym & restaurant.

Reviewed by
M Francis

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would recommended 100%
Had a great night , hotel was very clean and friendly staff.
Our room had everything we needed even had iron and ironing board which was a bonus !
The bathroom was very clean with there own shower gels and shampoos & shower was hot which I loved.
Room came with free view and a DVD player built in
Also came with a hair dryer which is a bonus if you forget yours
Would stay there again !

Reviewed by
Ashton Southwell

From Brierley Hill, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the maneger and staff put them selfes out to get my self and partner a supper as i got there about 10 30 pm thay were very kind and helpfull

Reviewed by
GARRY HOOK

From Pontypridd, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

never again again again.
shower great.every thing else bad.room tired and needs up grading .electrical socket hanging off the wall.emergency light loose at one end. bathroom light had no cover .

Reviewed by
trevor h

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money
We were allowed to check in early (approx 1 hour), plenty of free parking, staff were friendly, even though it is close to motorway the room was quiet and clean.
Signage to the room could be improved.

Reviewed by
susan a

From Nr Ashbourne, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

cheap for a reason.
Hotel room was dirty ( mould on skirting boards). Possibly the noisiest hotel I have stayed in with doors slamming till 4am. Staff didn't seem to want to be there and I don't blame them. Its cheap for a reason and I won't be going back

Reviewed by
G Dykes

From Sudbury, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

should have gone camping
Horrible experience. Checked in all fine, walking through the corridor i noticed the carpet area probably had never been introduced to a hoover. Inside the room there was a large crack down the side of the door and a hole in the plaster that ressembled the grand canyon. in the bathroom the toilet roll holder was loose and bent, the plug hole was broken, no towels supplied, no fan supplied (both as stipulated by staff.) Nice evening meal in the restaurant, the to the local pub. Come back and into bed, very lumpy and uncomfortable. I rolled over 1 way and went the other. Turns out the bed (very cheap ikea style) was broken. Helpful staff changed room but too little too late. Didnt manage to sleep. Breakfast was a shamble. Chef was late, served cold, uncooked sausages. Bread was mouldy. 50% discount on the room wasnt really enough to be honest

Reviewed by
m houghton

From Oldbury, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Can't help but feel disappointed with the overall experience
I was greeted by friendly staff and was very happy with my choice to stay at your hotel until I got into my room and attempted to log in to the wifi, a critical service that was a key factor in my choosing the hotel. On an overnight stay in Birmingham due to business, it was very important for to have internet access. On not received any wifi service, I called reception to be told that due to some maintenance, the wifi had been playing up and that the router had been restarted. To my disappointment this had no affect on receiving any signal at all. In today's 'internet age' I would have expected some sort of room connection.
The following morning, I went down for breakfast, I arrived in the restaurant at 730 and was soon presented with the cooked breakfast. Unfortunately, the cooked breakfast was warm at best and was hardly palatable. I ended up leaving the vast majority and simply eating toast.
The location of the hotel is easy, the hotel was clean and the staff were friendly, but despite all this I can't help but feel disappointed with the overall experience.

Reviewed by
T Hamilton

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

was clean and tidy but i would say a bit overpriced for what it is

Reviewed by
john d

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

26/4/14
To be fair to this hotel the staff were really nice and accommodating to us. The cleanliness of the place though was not very good. Our bathroom toilet had dried urine stains on it, the shower mat was a dark grey colour and looked filthy. The carpets and furniture around the whole place was very tired and dirty and there was an overall sense of dust being everywhere.
Thankfully for us we were a stag party so we didn't really care, but I wouldn't recommend it for a family.
It's a shame really, because if the place was cleaned properly it would be a really nice place to stay.

Reviewed by
J Smith

From Frodsham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Group of men

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next