No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - County Hotel

2Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Townwall Street , Dover, CT16 1SZ
Set in a great location in the centre of Dover The County Hotel is within a few minutes walk into the main town centre and 5 minute walk to the Eastern/Western docks or Dover Priory train Station. The County Hotel offers a wide range of spacious en suite rooms consisting of double, twin, triple and quad, an indoor heated swimming pool and a well equipped gymnasium. All rooms feature TV, tea and coffee facilities, work and seating area and room services 24hrs to make your stay as comfortable as possible. After a tiring day unwind in our indoor heated swimming pool or for those of us that like to keep fit our gymnasium. Why not start the day with a full English/Continental Breakfast in Christo restaurant or take advantage of room service with a continental breakfast in bed, Join us in the evening choosing from our ala carte menu or season special board and enjoy the panoramic sea views. Louelles Bar with a large screen TV offers a wide selection of drinks, snacks and light meals.

With a great location and all the facilities you will require the County Hotel is a great ideal place to stay.

Picture of County Hotel, Dover at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 112 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
36% recommended this accommodation to a friend 40% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

calais day trip
very helpful staff

Reviewed by
richard kell

From abingdon, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel is in a scruffy area, clearly ripe for renovation. Despite first appearances, it is actually quite acceptable and conveniently located.
The car parking is limited but I found a space OK.
Breakfast service was a wee bit slow and the choice mundane but about what I expected.

Reviewed by
Philip H

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Awful !
Hotel looked so bad and in an awful, unsafe area, we didn't even go in, found a much more suitable hotel near Deal. £50 wasted :-(

Reviewed by
joy l

From Eastbourne, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Immigrants holding pen !!
Hotel only has 7 parking spots for the whole hotel (100+ rooms), the corridor and lift area stank of stale cigarettes, the room was quite clean, however the 2 double beds had collapsed in the middle, which meant that the cleaner must have seen it but not bothered to report it to the management or they didn't care!! Some people we met told us that the hotel was due for demolition 10 years ago but was kept to house the influx of immigrants flooding into England while they were processed. You have been warned !!!

Reviewed by
mark r

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Never Again
Website and pics of hotel look lovely, when we arrived it was a totally different story..!
The building looks like an abandoned office block, there was no parking and that was just the start.
Our room smelt awful, the bath was dirty and we couldn't even get extra pillows as they had "run out."
The bed was so uncomfortable that we couldn't sleep, we tried watching TV to help us pass-out due to our early morning start but that wasn't working properly either. So despite our 2 x nights booked originally, we checked out at 1am on the first night and stayed at a lovely Premier Inn instead.
This is a 2 star hotel and to be honest in our eyes it didn't even justify that...

Reviewed by
Ronnie Browning

From Woodford Green, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Don't book a room here
Late Rooms should remove this hotel from its site. It is filthy, so very rundown. Bedding was quite appalling. Curtains were hanging off the rails. I was bitten badly on the shoulder. Fleapit is indeed an accurate description of this hotel. We arrived at midnight and would not have stayed if we could have found somewhere else at that late hour.

Reviewed by
Sharon Walters

From Craven Arms, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Itsa cheap hotel and it shows
Both our rooms stank as if they were ex smoking rooms, one tv did not work and the tv in the other room kept freezing, inadequate tools and drinks supplied for number of people in each room.
Rooms v dated and linen looked v tired, basically a hotel that has seen better days.
The pool is fab although the changing facilities are minimal!
Good job this hotel was cheap as anymore money per room per night and I would have felt cheated!

Reviewed by
Mark T

From England
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice and clean room. Nice hotel as well with swimming pool. Everything was perfect, except that I think for this price, the breakfast must be included

Reviewed by
J Duru

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

avoid if you can
A decent sized family room but really let down by mattresses on single beds where you could feel every spring in them, all the bedding smelled like it hadn't been washed in a while and bathroom had mould on ceiling shower curtain was dirty. I would not recommend. I think I would rather have slept in the car.

Reviewed by
a moore

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Never again
Restaurant when arrived was closed. Bedroom service phone was broken. I didn't even step foot in the shower due to it being filthy. Mould on the doors to balcony (if you can call it a balcony) chicken wire on outside just hanging to stop pigeons. Car park is Bascially side of hotel if u can find a space on the grass (dreadful) no toilet roll on arrival!!!! Had to collect my self... This hotel is not suitable for anyone. The cutlery and glasses well....say no more....

Reviewed by
P Waterman

From Croydon, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next