Reviews - County Hotel

2

Townwall Street, Dover, CT16 1SZ

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

All reviews (96)

38% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • W Sturt

  • July 2015

clean, friendly, depressing

clean, but so old the shower was a trickles and the seagulls, shut out of the balcony with chicken wire, woke us very early.

everything was ancient. We were next to the lift and it kept me awake. depressing BUT the receptionist was charming and it was clean.

  • Adrian Meier

  • July 2015

Old Hotel in bad condition

  • Hanneke C

  • July 2015

Stayover hotel

Even with low expectations, I still felt let down.

Dark and carpet everywhere. Staff not always at front desk or anywhere to be seen. Good value for late arrival and early leave.

  • c Dean

  • July 2015

Awful

have to say worst experience ever.

Hotel is closing down so no one cares. Beds all springs gone slept on wood beams (not that I slept). Tap in bathroom dripped all night carpets dirty and smelt bad.

  • F. M

  • July 2015

old and bad

Reception very kind.

Hotel overall dirty, floors, windows... and needs renovation urgently. Good potential. Matrasses cannot be worse, pilows too flat, blanckets not clean, floor durty, tv defect. Towels and bedlinnen fresh and clean. reception personal very kind.

  • John Durkin

  • July 2015

We booked this room online.

Mostly that works out but this is an old hotel. The passages and rooms stink of cigarette smoke and they aren't cleaned as well as you'd hope. Reasonably priced at £40 per night. WiFi only available in the lobby area. Only positive, the staff were very friendly and helpful. I would stay there again or recommend this hotel.

  • Michael Guy M

  • June 2015

Very large basic hotel, great value for money

Very large basic hotel, great value for money.

We used it for a rest and shower before we caught our early morning ferry. Friendly receptionist and spacious room, functional bathroom and fab location.

  • Adrian W

  • June 2015

You get what you pay for...

We stayed here as we had an early ferry the next morning and it was almost half the price of the chain hotel opposite however there is a reason for that, put simply you get what you pay for.

The reception was functional rather than welcoming, the reception area and corridors were dark and tired, the room was well furnished but all the furnishings had seen better days and the bathroom basic. The kettle needed a good clean before use and considering the strict no smoking policy I was surprised at the number of cigarette burns on the furniture. Finally, being located at a set of traffic lights meant that the sound of HGV's stopping and starting outside your window was intrusive despite the two sets of patio doors. On the positive side, the hot water was hot, and the price was as low as you can get for a hotel in that proximity so you can't knock it for value for money.

Would I pay double to stay in the chain hotel opposite (as I have done in the past). Probably not. Would I get a late ferry and then stop off in a modern chain hotel in France half an hour from Calais as an alternative. Almost certainly yes. You get what you pay for so I'm not complaining but on balance I'd chose to spend my money differently next time.

  • William A

  • June 2015

Overnight stay

A tired hotel in need of an uplift.

Reception very polite though.

  • david wrigley

  • June 2015

Handy location, cheap and cheerful

Stayed here several times so know exactly what to expect, no frills whatsoever.

Just around the corner is the town centre and the docks just along the road so couldn't be better located. Hotel itself is very basic with dated décor throughout, reminds me of my childhood in the 70's but in a cute way. Never used the bar or restaurant so cannot comment. Best description of the rooms is 'adequate' and you just get what you pay for, comfortable enough and we'll be staying many more times.