No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - White Horse Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
2 The Square , Storrington, RH20 4DJ
Located in a rural village in the heart of West Sussex, this sympathetically restored and fully refurbished coaching inn has retained all of the 'olde worlde' charm and quaintness that makes buildings of this era so special. The hotel offers 13 comfortable and well designed bedrooms that boast the perfect blend of traditional style with modern home comforts, ensuring you are treated to a relaxing base for your visit to the area. The White Horse Hotel has built a strong local reputation with its recently redesigned restaurant and also offers visitors its relaxed Ebony Bar for taking time out over a drink and recharging batteries after a long day's exploring. The local area offers a wealth of pursuits, including The South Downs Way and the beaches of Worthing.

All bedrooms have been sympathetically restored in keeping with style and ambiance of the hotel offering the quintessential English charm. Rooms include en-suite bathroom equipped with power shower, heated towel rail and hairdryer, plus all other modern facilities guests would expect from a hotel of this calibre. The White Horse offers the ideal break for those wishing to truly experience the rural Village lifestyle.

The Hotel has a strong reputation for good quality food at affordable prices using locally grown and produced food wherever possible along with good cuts of meat and quality fish. There is a varied range of English cuisine with something to suit every taste. The restaurant provides a warm and friendly atmosphere, staff are around to offer excellent service and guidance without being intrusive. On Sundays a traditional roast is served alongside the menu from 12:00 to 16:00.

The stylish Ebony Bar, with its red leather sofas, atmospheric lighting, Steve McQueen pictures and 'shoot scripts' taken when he made the 1970 film Le Mans, offers the perfect oasis away from the day to day hustle and bustle. A fine selection of wines from around the world are on offer along with Continental Beers which compliment the wide range of snacks from the bar menu, be it a Croque-Monsieur, crayfish salad or B.L.T. Speciality coffees, cakes and pastries are also on offer throughout the day. The hotel are proud to feature in The Sunday Times' "Top 20 Restaurants".

There are many things to do and enjoy in the local area; running for more than 100 miles between Winchester and Eastbourne, the South Downs Way provides the main access to the new National Park, opening up the landscape, wildlife and culture of the area. Despite never rising above 700 feet the miles of chalk downland offer views for some 40 miles in all directions, along with orchids and butterflies in the summer. A short journey away are the historical towns of Arundel, Chichester and Steyning, plus just eight miles away is Worthing and its well-known beach. In Goodwood there are a wide range of activities including horseracing, motorsport, golf, aviation and health club and spa. There is sure to be something for every taste.

Please note the hotel does not accept American Express.
Picture of White Horse Hotel, Storrington at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 12 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 75% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Was slightly concerned reading the reviews of this hotel but decided to book as it looked nice and it was close to my destination the following morning. The overall experience was good and the staff were very friendly despite previous comments. The food was very good and drinks were reasonably priced. Breakfast was good though a menu would be helpful.
My only negative was that there were a lot of cobwebs around the window and a small amount of black mould in the corner of the shower cubicle. This would not put me off staying again.

Reviewed by
S Cottiss

From St Neots, England
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quiet and comfortable, good food and atmosphere

Reviewed by
Sim S

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fist time we had stayed here and were pleasantly surprised. We were working in Brighton but because of the labour party conference and nothing else was available.
We will probably make this our hotel of choice for future visits as the food was excellent and staff could not do enough for us.

Reviewed by
paul andrews

From neath, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

pleasant, comfortable, a pleasure
On first impressions of reception experience not very successful., left waiting while another couple paraded toi accommodation. them left waiting for reception to deal with our arrival while talking with another member of staff although holding booking documents in hand. When eventually dealt with a pleasant and comfortable although noisy stay.(traffic noise) only. Staff were pleasant and very efficient in all aspects. Would not hesitate to stay again or recommend to friends.

Reviewed by
Barrie C

From Ashford, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The twin room that I had booked turned out at the front of the hotel overlooking a very busy, narrow main road. We like the window open in the warmer weather. This would have been impossible due to traffic noise. No problem with changing for a room at the back. Much quieter but a double which didn't suite us as we both have sleeping problems. Two windows in the room. One didn't open at all and the other overlooked the outdoor seating and could get noisy if the bar was busy.
The room was extremely clean and tidy and but we found the mattress uncomfortable.
Breakfast was good and the owners were very pleasant. This hotel would be far better if it was out of town instead of in the busiest part of Storrington. Good onsite parking was a bonus.

Reviewed by
D Newman

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Early disappointment.
On arrival we were taken up several flights of stairs to our room, it's quiet as you requested. This was the only information we recieved. From then on we had to ask for information regarding mealtimes,extra tea and milk for the room and eventually if we could have a new toilet roll!! On day three the girl who had booked us in was not on duty and a new man took over breakfast duties and suddenly the service improved 100%. What a shame we had to wait till day three to be looked after and see the hotel in a favourable light.

Reviewed by
Robert Roberts

From Grantham, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Weekend
We had three very nice rooms for the August Bank Holiday, clean good quality rooms, good bed and linen, nice bathroom, great shower; very hospital staff with a very nice english cooked breakfast. Lovely resturant and bar, good car parking. Not cheap but exellent value. Strongly recommended.

Reviewed by
Barry Grange

From Liversedge, England
Who stayed in August 2012

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Welcoming
All the staff were helpful, friendly and very considerate at all times. Being the building was built over 300ys ago it has in my opinion been kept to a high standard.

Reviewed by
J Green

From Farnborough, England
Who stayed in August 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sleepless in storrington
Our cramped twin room was in the front of the hotel, and overlooked the busy through road which ran past about 5 metres away, so noise was a problem and ventilation impossible, however the general ambiance of the hotel was good the staff friendly and the restaurant excellent.

Reviewed by
w matthews

From France
Who stayed in July 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent clean and friendly Hotel with very helpful staff. Nice quiet room and superb food.
Decent size car park, helpful staff who changed my room as I wished a quiet one with no fuss. The room was spacious with all the usual facilities. The restaurant provided very good food both in the evening and for breakfast, with the bar having a good selection of beers, overall a nice hotel.

Reviewed by
Nick R

From Leamington Spa, England
Who stayed in June 2012

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next