No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Selsdon Park Hotel and Golf Club

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
126 Addington Road, South Croydon, Surrey, CR2 8YA
Selsdon Park Hotel and Golf Club is within close proximity of East Croydon train station, where it takes just 15 minutes by train to Central London & Gatwick Airport. A complimentary shuttle service runs to and from the station Monday – Friday at selected times.

The Hotel is one of Southern England’s most unique and picturesque country resorts, surrounded by 205 acres of Surrey Countryside.

The hotel has 199 comfortable, fully equipped bedrooms with a choice of Single rooms, Double/ Twin bedded rooms, Executive rooms and Family rooms which can accommodate a family of four.

All residents are invited to use our Spa & Leisure facilities including a swimming pool, Jacuzzi, Sauna, Steam room, Squash Courts and Tennis Courts, with treatments available on request. We also offer residential rates for our 18 hole Championship Golf Course, for those of you feeling more energetic.

Selsdon Park Hotel is located just 15 minutes from the M25 and is ideally situated for Chessington World of Adventures, Hever Castle, Chartwell, Epsom Races, Thorpe Park and Heathrow & Gatwick Airport

We offer Free parking onsite and Broadband and Wireless internet connection (charges will apply)
Picture of Selsdon Park Hotel and Golf Club, Surrey at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 188 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
64% recommended this accommodation to a friend 67% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Busy Weekend Hotel
There were several functions booked at the time of our stay and the receptionist, very thoughtfully, asked us if we would like a room away from the hussle and bussle of the evening entertainment. The first room that was allocated had a 'funny' smell and the heating didn't work. They promtly and efficiently moved us to another room which, although warmer, only had one bed side table, which when there are two of you sharing a room doesn't work. The room definitely needed updating with plumbing, etc. but the charm of the hotel and public areas were as you would expect for this 4* hotel. The cooked buffet breakfast was cold, but had we had the time to wait, I am sure the staff, who were all very helpful, would have rectified that.

Reviewed by
Linda D

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent
Because of two weddings that was going on the hotel, the car park was full, extending the parking lot will be a good idea .And the swimming facilities should be a 24 hour service.

Reviewed by
A Akerele

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Have grand hotel entrance. Staff really ploite. Enjoyed the breakfast
NONE

Reviewed by
sasha b

From ramsgate, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tired, dated, dirty and very disappointed
I stay away with my job in different hotels across the south of England every week.
My partner and i were staying here as we were attending a family wedding at the hotel.
I can honestly say this is one of a handful, of the worst hotel rooms I have ever been given.
We were on the ground floor, number 63. I am not exaggerating when I say it took 5 minutes down a rat run of hallways to finally get to our room, from what I saw it I believe it was the furthest room on the side of the hotel.
The carpet was stained in many different places, the £90 double room we booked was two singles squished together at an angle with a 7inch (thereabouts, didn't take a tape measure to it!!) height difference between the two matress' in the middle of the bed.
In the middle of the room on a tacky, dusty stand was a very old box tv which looked as though it had not been used in years.
The room was dark and dingy and smelt musty.
The bath was one of the worst I had ever seen, it had brown stains across the bottom of it, all of the fixtures in the bath, bee day and sink were covered in white lime scale and the walls were mouldy.
The bed only had two pillows with no spares in the cupboard.
The door was pretty disheveled all down the side with wood chipped off were someone has clearly shut it one too many times whilst in a mood..
The room was so vile I walked back and eventually arrived back at reception and informed them I would either like to be moved or given a full refund as I was appalled at the state of the room I had been given. (Remember this is a *luxuary spa hotel*..
When the lady on the front desk asked what room we were in, her face said it all... Clearly we were put in a 'bad' room.
We were moved to room 16 which was again down a rat run if corridors but we eventually got there.
The room was marginally better- we had a double bed, the size if a postage stamp, there was barely any room between the bed and the dressing table so you couldn't sit down to use the vanity facilities, you had to stand with the chair tucked under.
The bathroom was clean, although there were around 5 daddy long legs taking residency..
The windows looked out on to nothing, a wall, and the taps were the wrong way round, hot on cold and cold in hot- meaning I scaled my hands when I went to wash my face.
The shower head dribbled a measly amount of water out and the curtain looked as though it had never been washed.
Again there were only 2 pillows but we requested more and they were delivered.
We were advised by vat staff that there would be bottles of water in our room, however when we arrived after the party there was none- I was so tired of walking backwards and forwards I could not be bothered to go and get any - when I saw the color of the tap water in my glass I was disgusted and had a parched nights sleep!!
At the wedding itself the food was nice, however the serving was slow and when mine arrived it was cold.
The drinks were hideously expensive.
The one saving grace was the nice gentleman, dressed in his red tails leading the day and welcoming the bride and groom etc.
Upon leaving the hotel my friend noticed some damage to her new car, whilst being parked in the hotel theives had tried to break in, it transpired they had ripped the handles off and picked out a number of locks.. She informed the hotel who said they had taken pictures and informed the police- I am unsure of the action now being taken by the hotel, but judging by the signs in car park they will do anything to worm out of it.
Being well travelled in uk hotels, I can honestly say I would NEVER reccomend a stay in the hotel... It was horrendous, I felt dirty when I left and had a very poor nights sleep.
Oh and one last thing.. If your booking as part of a wedding party being held at the hotel, you are not allowed to check in any earlier than 3pm.. Meaning you cannot get ready at the hotel and have to leave half way through the wedding to check in to your room... Very poor service.

Reviewed by
R Bacon

From Hailsham, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Laterooms.com let down
The Hotel was fine, the only problem was that the booking had not been passed on to the Hotel by Late Rooms.Com. Apparently, this was not the first time according to the hotel staff.

Reviewed by
Alan Davis

From Uckfield, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

In need of refurbishment
This hotel is long overdue for a face lift if not complete re-building. The fact that we were placed in the 'Lord Archer' suite gives some idea of the time warp we had entered.
The staff were friendly and helpful but this is not a place you would return to in a hurry. The food was average and the décor in the dinning room definitely from the 70's.
Rooms are clean and spacious. This is a dull conference centre and not a hotel where you would wish to stay in a hurry.

Reviewed by
Hugh H

From Faringdon, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good accommodation but breakfast only average, plates were cold on the first morning.

Reviewed by
G Lawrence

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bit like going back in time
The hotel was reminiscent of the kind you would find 30 years ago. Despite the place being vast and obviously not bursting at the seams we were given a room miles away that had seen better days. The decor would not have been out of place in the 70s and the beds were small and uncomfortable. The leisure centre opened at 07.00 but only for guests aged over 16 so my 13 year old son was refused entry in a pretty peremptory fashion. The hotel building has a faded grandeur and with ome money spent could be rather lovely. There was little impression of much money having been spent or some little while. My view might have changed had I had time to make use of the golf course!

Reviewed by
M Picton

From Bristol , UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place to stay
although we were very pleased with our holiday, there were one or two thing that I wasn't that happy about, it was one hell of a walk through a maze of corridors to reach our room with heavy bags and two small children, the room wasn't looked at one day, so we had dirty cups when we came home, one of the banisters was coming away, and there was mold on the bathroom ceiling

Reviewed by
Isabel Nelson

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay
Very satisfied with the experience

Reviewed by
David S

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 Next