No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Selsdon Park Hotel and Golf Club

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
126 Addington Road, South Croydon, Surrey, CR2 8YA
Selsdon Park Hotel and Golf Club is within close proximity of East Croydon train station, where it takes just 15 minutes by train to Central London & Gatwick Airport. A complimentary shuttle service runs to and from the station Monday – Friday at selected times.

The Hotel is one of Southern England’s most unique and picturesque country resorts, surrounded by 205 acres of Surrey Countryside.

The hotel has 199 comfortable, fully equipped bedrooms with a choice of Single rooms, Double/ Twin bedded rooms, Executive rooms and Family rooms which can accommodate a family of four.

All residents are invited to use our Spa & Leisure facilities including a swimming pool, Jacuzzi, Sauna, Steam room, Squash Courts and Tennis Courts, with treatments available on request. We also offer residential rates for our 18 hole Championship Golf Course, for those of you feeling more energetic.

Selsdon Park Hotel is located just 15 minutes from the M25 and is ideally situated for Chessington World of Adventures, Hever Castle, Chartwell, Epsom Races, Thorpe Park and Heathrow & Gatwick Airport

We offer Free parking onsite and Broadband and Wireless internet connection (charges will apply)
Picture of Selsdon Park Hotel and Golf Club, Surrey at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 196 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
64% recommended this accommodation to a friend 67% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

conveient luxury
Used this hotel for a quick one night before a meeting. Great setting

Reviewed by
r hayselden

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An oasis
Easy to find. Excellent welcome. Clean and tidy room. Unfortunately I didn't have time to use the gym and spa facilities, but enjoyed my stay. Very quiet and peaceful. It doesn't feel as though you're on Croydons doorstep. Will definitely use again.
Breakfast was Ok. Pretty standard fayre ,but passable.
Fantastic building though, and rich in history

Reviewed by
Gareth H

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not a 4 star hotel
Extremely disappointing stay I'm sorry to say from beginning to end:
- Only one person at reception when we arrived around 8pm, took us 20 minutes to be acknowledged on a busy evening.
- Upgraded our room at extra cost but found facilities very worn and dated with fixtures damaged or broken e.g Window curtain ripped, plug socket above table hanging off, kettle did not work, telephone was very old, dirty and some numbers did not work, carpet stained.
- Mattress very thin and full of lumps, not comfortable to sleep on with a bad back.
- Waited 30 minutes to be given a table at breakfast, once sat down waited 20 mins to get a coffee, they ran out of of food quickly, waited another 25 mins for replacements. Never an apology given by any staff even after we raised this further with staff. Their response was 'it's the weekend, happens all the time'
- once again 25 mins to check out, only one person at reception.
Definitely not a 4 star hotel, 3 at at push and not a place I will be recommending considering its price!

Reviewed by
Roger Murcia

From Woking, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

third visit
Staff friendly and helpful..food a good standard..great location..clean and comfortable accomodation..fantastic value.understandably .bar prices a bit steep!

Reviewed by
Michael S

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice experience but...
Lovely place and staff very helpful. We chose it because the location suited us and the photos were impressive. Our room was comfortable, though, like most of the building, a little tired. Also, it was very far away from reception, you really wouldn't want to forget your key! The swimming pool served its purpose, but again, the facilities were quite dated and the sauna was out of order. Food, although tasty, was very expensive. would consider staying here again but I'm not sure i would pay the prices that are being quoted.

Reviewed by
Marianne M

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was very nice,but the hotel concentrated on weddings and not individual guests. Too busy and chaotic. No bar food on arrival because of weddings. Breakfast took 45mins to get to the buffet. Next time would ask how many weddings they have on. On a plus note its in some lovely grounds.

Reviewed by
DAVID K

From Littlehampton, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This hotel is clean, comfortable and good value for money. The setting is lovely and the staff efficient.

Reviewed by
Mary W

From Dublin 14, Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A bit shabby
Sadly my single room was disappointing. The windows could have been left open more fully prior to my arrival on a very hot day, making it less stuffy. the room seemed tired and shabby although the bathroom was very nice. There was no hairdryer.

Reviewed by
chris e

From Dorchester, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Breakfast troubles....
I stayed on the hottest night of the year, which obviously is something for which I should not hold the hotel responsible; however the lack of airconditioning in a fairly small room had the effect of turning it into something of a sauna.
The real issue with this stay was the breakfast experience. Truly awful - in terms of both the food on offer and the quality of service. At the risk of boring the reader with too much information:
Grapefruit segments - clearly off, served in syrup that was "fizzy"
Scrambled egg - a lake of eggy liquid
Fried eggs - a dozen or so to choose from on the buffet, every single one with a broken yolk
Tea - arrived in timely fashion, but no milk jug on table. Asked politely for this to be rectified, gave up waiting after 10 minutes and managed to find the remnants of one on another table.
Orange juice - probably saved the worst for last here - diluted to the point where it tasted more like squash, and not very nice squash at that.
I am not by my nature much of a complainer, but when asked about my stay at the front desk all of the above tumbled out of me in a torrent of disappointment. The front desk were very apologetic, appeared genuinely concerned and gave me a significant reduction in my bill, which was much appreciated. However, I would still rather have paid the full price and have had an edible breakfast, hence the decision to post this review.

Reviewed by
Philip A

From Droitwich, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No Airconditioning!
This was the hottest day of the year and Room 234 had no AirCon. After asking 3 times I was eventually brought a Fan by the Service Receptionist which helped enormously.

Reviewed by
Michael N

From Marlow, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 Next