No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Marlin Apartments - Aldgate

4Self Classified Serviced Apartments Ratings explained
58 Commercial Road , LONDON, E1 1AJ
These newly built serviced apartments boast unrivalled convenience to the financial hub of the City, and the lively Shoreditch area. Many of the world's largest banking and financial service firms are located in Aldgate, an area traditionally known for its diverse artistic community. Historic cobbled courtyards and a wide range of restaurants and bars are frequented by local workers and tourists alike.

These apartments offer the same premium quality furnishings that can be found throughout the Marlin Apartments range. Designed with space and comfort in mind, Marlin Apartments Aldgate offers a range of apartments to suit every individual need, catering for individuals or couples in our one-bedroom apartments (450 sq ft). Alternatively, for families or groups that demand greater space, our larger two-bedroom apartments boast 850 sq ft as standard. Sofa-beds are available and sleep an additional two guests. All apartments offer twin bedding at en extra cost. 24-hour concierge is also located on-site.
Limited car spaces available at GBP20 per night, must be secured prior to arrival.
Picture of Marlin Apartments - Aldgate, LONDON at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 28 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It was a nice room with friendly staff but unfortunately my trip somewhat affected by the building work surrounding the apartment block. I would have expected at least a mention of this during the booking process given that work started at 7am every morning, and when I emailed to suggest this, there was no acknowledgement of it at all. I wouldn't advise staying here until the surround building work is completed... and it didn't look too close to that!

Reviewed by
Ross P

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No coathangers or toilet roll but plenty of candles!

Reviewed by
Becky M

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Worst customer service ever!
I have never experienced worse customer service than I received from staff working on the front desk of this establishment.
My character and good name were called into question and this has never happened to me before.
There are better hotel nearby.
Staff at these hotels won't treat you like a piece of first that is getting in the way if them chatting to their friends.
The better nearby hotels don't have stupid policies and rules for incompetent and unfriendly staff to hide behind.

Reviewed by
W Holmes

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sofa bed to review
The mattress used for the sofa bed is terribly uncomfortable.
Also the Marlin Apartments staff does not reply to enquiring e-mails which makes it terribly difficult for an expected service by the customer.
Where is the pre-paid parking area? Directions to it should be given accompanied with the London Transport regulations for foreign travellers.

Reviewed by
STEPHEN D

From ST JUST LE MARTEL, France
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great apartment. Lousy internet connection
I stayed here on a business trip and the apartment itself was faultless. However the internet connection dropped away quite badly later on in the evening making working quite frustrating. There were options to upgrade to more expensive packages but if free wi-fi is offered it should be good enough for people to use. Other than that it's a great place to stay.

Reviewed by
Brendan Miles

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money, great location, nice apartment . Downside noisy from traffic outside allnight,
Not a lot of hot water 2 shower

Reviewed by
John R

From Knottingley, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The apartment was incredible. You had everything you would need including a washing machine, dishwasher, fridge freezer, micro , oven toaster etc etc. Both rooms had en-suite plus another toilet upstairs. Incredible value.

Reviewed by
L Lorentzen

From Corby, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Stay
Was very impressed, nice and clean and the apartment was a good size. Very good value for money, I would recommend this place to anyone wanting to stay in London.

Reviewed by
James S

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value stay
This is the second time we have stayed in the Marlin Aldgate apartments and we were really happy with the accommodation on both occasions. The apartment was very spacious and clean and we had a very comfortable stay.

Reviewed by
Dayna R

From Horsham, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

At last - good London accommodation!
From the beginning this was a good find. We wanted to leave our bags at the concierge hours before checking in - handled efficiently and with a smile.
The apartment itself was absolutely superb - very well equipped, immaculate and you could almost think that you were the first guests in it. On entering the apartment we had the feeling we could have lived there for a month; it had the potential to be a home from home. We were on the 11th floor and the night view over London was brilliant. We've never been enthusiastic overnight travellers to London, even though we only live in Milton Keynes: the thought of getting ripped off always puts a damper on plans. Not any more - we're already thinking of other weekend excursions, almost as an excuse to use Marlin again!
Other reviews have made adverse comment on the reception staff. Our experience was 100% positive. One sometimes wonders whether the reception staff's attitudes reflect the way they are treated by the guest...?
Some may consider the location to be less than ideal for, say, the West End. That may be so but with only a few minutes' walk away from the Aldgate tube stations you can easily reach most of central London very quickly. And if you like a variety of cuisine you have a world of choice without ever needing to catch a tube!
Overall a very enjoyable overnight stay. Thanks very much - we'll be back!

Reviewed by
DAVID NEWMAN

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next