No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Milford Street, Salisbury, SP1 2AN
This hidden treasure of Salisbury was originally a 13th century coaching inn that offered a warm welcome and convivial atmosphere. Though a few centuries older now, the hospitality and heart of BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel is stronger than ever. Our elegant and comfortably designed bedrooms will exceed even the highest expectations and our antique filled accommodation means public areas are full of character and charm. Our Vine Restaurant has a rosette to show for its deliciousness, while modern conference facilities have also been sympathetically incorporated to bring businesses the best! Ideally situated in the heart of the city of Salisbury, near its Cathedral, the hotel is a stone's throw from Stonehenge (two miles to be precise), so easy access is a given!
Picture of BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel, Salisbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 27 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disturbed night
We have stayed here several times a year for the past 26 years. Sadly our experience this time was disappointing. The ongoing refurbishment has taken away the character and charm of this old coaching in. We wait for completion prior to coming to a final conclusion. The room we were allocated was over the carpark and extremely noisey throughout the night.

Reviewed by
P Chown

From Deal, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overall quite good
The hotel has a fantastic location - very close to the bus stop U which is the first stop of a bus taking you to Stonehenge (this was very relevant to us heading off there for the Summer solstice using public transport which was already packed by the time the bus reached the train station in Salisbury). The hotel has a nice feel to it, the walls and floors in the hallways leading to the rooms are not straight/symmetric, which in its own way is sweet. The only thing we really had a problem with was the bath- it was so narrow that it was actually dangerously slippery. There was not enough flat area on the bottom of the bath for somebody to safely turn around and grab a towel.

Reviewed by
Tanja S

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A clean and comfortable room and a good breakfast. A bit more in the way of fresh fruit at the latter would have been welcome and the shower was a bit basic but both were completely adequate. The hotel is a bit of a rabbit warren involving number codes at doors and a confusing number of staircases if you've had a drink too many but I'd happily recommend it at the price.

Reviewed by
P Allen

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely weekend away
We stayed 3 nights in the hotel and found it to be everything we were looking for. We were given a nice room with a bath, overlooking the courtyard so it was very quiet. We regularly used the Bar for drinks and food which was really handy and very tasty (especially the Steak!). The hotel was worth every penny and we would definitely stay again. Great location and very easy to find.

Reviewed by
Kathryn B

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful room, noisy morning!
Was amazed with our room, big and lots of character!
Friendly reception and nice bar.
Issue with noise in morning..... From 6am-checkout (11am) the door next to our room (security door that you put number in) was creaking and slamming! We were in room 17 and would recommend thatthe hotel doorstop it open in morning! We could also hear some male staff moving and chatting above our ceiling.
Good luggage room that's locked if you wish to explore during day.

Reviewed by
Tara S

From Bromley, England
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Noisey room as close to road. Room was in new part of hotel yet pictures of old part so misleading.

Reviewed by
N Gridley

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Red Lion
had a good all round experience with the staff and accommodation, will return in the future.

Reviewed by
Raymond Baker

From Woking, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Theatre break
Service was apalling. Staff always complainung of being short staffed!!

Reviewed by
David H

From Petersfield, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

If all rooms are like room 77, then this hotel provides excellent levels of comfort and value for money.

Reviewed by
Michael C

From Beckenham, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tea/Coffee Making Facility
I was pleasantly surprised to find that I could make a cup of filter coffee instead of the usual instant coffee one normally gets. Excellent idea!

Reviewed by
A Au

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next