No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Hop Inn

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
6 Westcliff Rd Westcliff, Bournemouth, BH2 5EY
A newly refurbished boutique style hotel located in the heart of the westcliff area just minutes from the BIC and Town centre and 250 metres from the clifftop. The accommodation is spacious and well appointed featuring flat screen tvs and free wifi. The hop Inn bar is a smart place to relax and have a drink featuring all major sporting events. the Hop inn also serves home cooked food featuring Great British pub classics and Fish and chip shop favourites. this property is a very convenient base to explore this beautiful area and is an ideal business location. Neighbouring The Mariott and the new travelodge makes this area a popular destination. Friendly service, an ideal location and modern rooms make a stay at The hop Inn memorable when visiting Bournemouth or Poole. There is some on site parking.
Picture of The Hop Inn, Bournemouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 68 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Night near the sea
Everything was just right for us:we only wanted a night away before a wedding but it was more and better than we expected. Fabulous king size bed and big flat screen TV, quiet, relaxing and a real treat as we had an evening walk by the beach which was so close.

Reviewed by
Julie P

From Trowbridge, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bournemouth visit
Our stay at the Hop Inn was pleasant, with obliging hosts and staff. We had an evening meal in the bar and the food was of excellent quality, hot and plentiful. We had the full English breakfast, which again was of very good quality, but we were disappointed that there was no cereal or fruit as an option, also no offer of fruit juice, and extra toast with marmalade or jams. We appreciate that the price we paid was an offer, but we have stayed in other b&bs costing similar and have had a much better option of breakfast items. There were quite a few trades people staying at the time, and we found that the showers were not very hot or efficient by about 8.30 a.m. As a last minute booking, it served our purpose. Would we stay again? Yes!

Reviewed by
Ian P

From Littlehampton, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

late late booking
Having previously stayed at the Hop they are now a first choice for any short term stop overs. Always a friendly welcome and you can guarantee the rooms will be fresh and clean. Disappointed that TV had very poor reception but was able to watch the footy in the main bar ( busy but again a good atmosphere) . Parking continues to be a issue and hard if you are arriving late in the day. If you are looking for great value, a friendly smile and hearty breakfast, the Hop is for you

Reviewed by
iain j

From Ashford, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very clean and spacious rooms, beds very comfortable.
downstairs bar area a bit scruffy and dated although very clean.

Reviewed by
Roger T

From Newton Abbot, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pub was very noisy and there was a extractor can outside going all night but room was hot and we had to open window!!! Door to pub was left open constantly so room was quite noisy, will not be staying again

Reviewed by
Barry C

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our stay was short - only for one night - but comfortable.
We had to ask for a plug for the ensuite bowl as there was none there, but otherwise pretty good.
Close to the sea top and to the centre of Bournemouth.
Not enough car parking, but the side streets did offer free parking without restrictions.

Reviewed by
John Allen

From Lichfield, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good, caring and pleasant staff

Reviewed by
David S

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fab little hotel! Enjoyed my stay, would recommend and would return!
When you arrive it looks like a pub, but when you get inside you see the beautiful decore and The ladies who worked there were absolutely friendly and lovely! A lady name begging with D, couldn't have been more helpful. She remembered details about what I was doing whilst staying there, then asked me how my activities went when I next see her the next day. That was really nice! The hotel part is aside from the pub and is unexpected. As the outside appears to just be a pub, but then it's a cute little hotel!
The room was very clean! With a friendly maid service! Which came around every day.
The breakfast was reasonably priced, and tasted amazing! Top quality ingredients was used!
Pro's:
Great location, on the west cliff. Seconds away from the beach. Just walk down the cliff and your by the peir and promenade you're also like 5 minutes away from the town centre where there are a range of shops!
If I leaned out the window I even had a sea view! 😁
The beach is amazing, so clean and soft!
The hotel was clean, well decorated.
Great breakfast
Friendly /helpful staff
Small selection of tea/coffee and a kettle in the room
Plenty of plug sockets
Nice shower
Clean towels provided daily
Clean bathroom
Nice bar area, with pool table
Families welcome
Convience store right across the road (comes in handy)
Comfortable beds
Clean white linen
Things to do in the area:
I went jetskiing in pool (www.jetskisafaris.co.uk), which was only 10mins away in a taxi. It was absolutely amazing. Defo something to do whilst staying there!
I also went go ape. Where me and my 14 year old nephew did the tree top adventure. We also had a ride on the segways! Which was so much fun, even my mum took part and enjoyed. Again something to look up while in the area. Only 20 minutes away in Moors Valley.
Cons:
The only downside is that there are only 3 parking spaces, which are on a first come first serve basis. There is a lot of parking on the road, but in a road full of hotels it is near on impossible to get a parking space!
I arrived the day before the annual airshow was on and for that event the borough shut down parking on the road of the hotel and near by roads. I had phoned up about 3 times to enquire about parking, prior to my visit/arrivial, but not once was I told about this! Because if I had known I wouldn't have drove- I would have got the train. As driving around and around looking for a space is not how I intended to spend my holiday.
Also, when I phoned up, the guy I spoke to was very dismissive and seemed somewhat rude. Although I'm not sure who he was because I phoned at different times which were at night, in the morning and in the afternoon the day I arrived - it was always the same person who answered. But the people who I checked in with, who I dealt with throughout my stay were women! (who may I say again were lovely, totally helped make my stay much more pleasant!)
I had a leak in the bathroom every time you turn the shower on and a leak from under the sink which would make a big puddle on the floor every time you used the bathroom sink. However i forgot to notify the staff of this.
No lift and lots of stairs. I stayed in room 7 an had to climb 4 large flights of stairs to get to get to my room. Which is quite difficult with lots of luggage.
Tip:
when checking in, go into the bar but don't bring your luggage. You should wait till you've got your key, that way you can bring your luggage through to your room without having to lug it through the bar as there is no reception to check in with. Once you have the key you have your own door you can enter, which you can avoid walking through the bar with your luggage.
Overall, I enjoyed staying at this hotel. The staff I met were lovely. The room was clean and comfortable. The room was decorated really nice. Food was yummy. Meal times were very busy so that's a good sign! I had no major issues or problems. I would recommend this hotel to my friends and would defo come back!

Reviewed by
Hayley F

From London, England
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay, great location, value for money
The location of The Hop Inn was brilliant. Walk to the end of the road then down some steps and you're on the beach. Really lovely.
The parking wasn't great, they only had 3 parking spaces outside. Theres plenty of streeet parking too.
The owners and bar staff were lovely, they let us check in early which was great as we got rained on so that was very kind.
The room was imaculately clean and tidy. Great bathroom facillities, comfy bed. Bar food was great. I cannot fault this place at all!
I would 100% recommend it to anyone whose going to bournemouth for a few days. I would definitly stay again.

Reviewed by
Ana C

From Stevenage, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing location, great atmosphere in bar, friendly staff
We spent the bank holiday weekend here and were very pleased. The room was nothing spectacular but not at all bad. Literally 2 minutes from the beach and also close to a few good restaurants (Cristallo - the Italian opposite was particularly good). The food in the bar was very good too. Only slight issue was that it was a bit loud on Saturday night with a group of lads on a stag do in the room next door. But that's fairly typical on a Saturday night anywhere in Bournemouth. Overall impressed and would definitely return.

Reviewed by
Steve G

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next