No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Motel Schmotel

3AA Assessed Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
37 Russell Square , Brighton, BN1 2EF
We had always wanted to bring our own contemporary style, warmth and comfort along with a family welcome to a Brighton guest house. So we sold our souls to the man, took a leap of faith and on 20th April 2007 got the keys to our lovely 5 storey Regency town house. It was very tired, unloved and just not happy at all. So we set about bringing back the love and turning it into what it is today, a very happy guesthouse indeed.
We are very proud to have been recently awarded 3 stars from the AA which have even more recently become more shiny after receiving an AA Highly Commended Yellow Star award for reaching the top 10% within our star rating for overall quality – and that’s before we completed the en suite refurb!
Situated on pretty Russell Square, smack bang in the centre of it all, you will be 2 mins walk from the main shopping centre, Brighton's fantastic beach, car parks, The Lanes, Hove and The Brighton Centre for gigs and conferences. We are constantly improving our green policy and hope to soon be one of Brighton's few green flagship guesthouses.
All our rooms are ensuite (en suites refurbished in May 2008), with clean fresh bed linen, fluffy white towels, tea and coffee making facilities with fresh milk. Freeview and wi-fi are in all rooms for those who may wish to work, surf the net or just chill out after a hard days shopping.
We offer a choice of locally sourced (where possible – subject to avaliability) & organic breakfasts delivered to your room along with piping hot coffee if you need a gentle nudge into your day. So what you waiting for, book already!
Big love
Amsy, Paul, little Jackson and baby Alabama
Picture of Motel Schmotel, Brighton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 41 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great little place!
Great little homely space. The warm team will make your stay as enjoyable as possible. It's also mighty good value.

Reviewed by
a mccarthy

From England
Who stayed in November 2012

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Motel Schmotel is just a joy!
My Girlfriend and I recently decided to stay at Motel Schmotel for a second time. I could not recommend it enough. The rooms have so much character and it's obvioius that a lot of hard work and effort has gone into keeping everything clean and tasteful. Owners Paul and Amsy are so accommadating and helpful. They made us feel completely welcome and it actually felt like a home from home. We can't wait to go back again!

Reviewed by
Ben M

From Romford, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel schmotel suitably adorable!
This hotel is ideally located for the both the lanes and the seafront alike! Staff both friendly and helpful! Our room was very clean and tidy, and had everything you could need with a real cost feel to it! Offering great value for money we couldn't really fault the hotel schmotel and would not hesitate to book another stay!

Reviewed by
Jamie S

From Peterborough, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Simple but perfect
I had the best night's sleep at motel schmotel I've had in a long time. It was so simply done up yet such great little touches. I will definitely be back.

Reviewed by
Andrea Shufflebotham

From London, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cosy and comfortable
Lovely stay. Welcoming, warm and lovely food. Very friendly. You might be a bit challenged in some of the rooms if you are overly tall or bigger than the average person as the en suite is bijou, but there's plenty of hot water and a lovely shower. The rooms at the ground floor and below look bigger so it would be worth asking or putting it on the request when you book. In very easy reach of the station ( walking) and all the shops, Laines, very central, but nice and quiet at night. Very comfortable bed.
Would stay here again and recommend to a friend. It was especially nice as I was traveling alone and didn't want to stay in a large hotel.

Reviewed by
Susan S

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in November 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brighton break
Great warm friendly place to stay,room a little tight but enjoy the
Breakfast in bed,real treat,made to feel very welcome.

Reviewed by
Carl Davies

From Bewdley, England
Who stayed in November 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely, friendly, homely stay at motel schmotel
My hubby and I stayed for two nights, was lovely. Paul was really helpful, nothing was too much, we were offered a room exchange as soon as we arrived, due to ours bein a small en suite. It was very small but we were warned about this upon booking. Hotel was clean and very homely, I was walking to brekkie without shoes. Breakfast was lush, really different. Will def be staying here every time we visit brighton which is often. Paul told us all the good clubs n pubs to hit and was very friendly and helpful. Thanks guys

Reviewed by
Ria Pordes

From England
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Big welcome, but rather compact room
A lovely welcome on arrival and staff could not be more helpful throughout our stay. One of the best breakfasts we have ever had in any hotel, but the room although comfortable was very, very small with micro bathroom and mini TV. Very little space to put suit cases or hang up clothes. Ideal for Hobbits wanting to experience the excitement of Brighton.

Reviewed by
William B

From England
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A warm, cute and charming place to get away from it all
Motel Schmotel is a fantastic little place tucked away in Brighton! The warm and friendly greeting from Paul was fantastic and he really couldn't do enough for us. The room was small, but very cosy, clean and had a nice vibe to it. I would come back here again and plan too in the future. Thanks to Paul and Amsy for a great stay.

Reviewed by
Gary D

From England
Who stayed in October 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

really cute and central
really liked the place, very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay again

Reviewed by
R Gibbs

From Bankside, England
Who stayed in October 2012

Group of men

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next