No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Motel Schmotel

3AA Assessed Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
37 Russell Square , Brighton, BN1 2EF
We had always wanted to bring our own contemporary style, warmth and comfort along with a family welcome to a Brighton guest house. So we sold our souls to the man, took a leap of faith and on 20th April 2007 got the keys to our lovely 5 storey Regency town house. It was very tired, unloved and just not happy at all. So we set about bringing back the love and turning it into what it is today, a very happy guesthouse indeed.
We are very proud to have been recently awarded 3 stars from the AA which have even more recently become more shiny after receiving an AA Highly Commended Yellow Star award for reaching the top 10% within our star rating for overall quality – and that’s before we completed the en suite refurb!
Situated on pretty Russell Square, smack bang in the centre of it all, you will be 2 mins walk from the main shopping centre, Brighton's fantastic beach, car parks, The Lanes, Hove and The Brighton Centre for gigs and conferences. We are constantly improving our green policy and hope to soon be one of Brighton's few green flagship guesthouses.
All our rooms are ensuite (en suites refurbished in May 2008), with clean fresh bed linen, fluffy white towels, tea and coffee making facilities with fresh milk. Freeview and wi-fi are in all rooms for those who may wish to work, surf the net or just chill out after a hard days shopping.
We offer a choice of locally sourced (where possible – subject to avaliability) & organic breakfasts delivered to your room along with piping hot coffee if you need a gentle nudge into your day. So what you waiting for, book already!
Big love
Amsy, Paul, little Jackson and baby Alabama
Picture of Motel Schmotel, Brighton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 35 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Little Gem
Motel Schmotel really is a lovely place to stay in Brighton. It is a family run establishment and is very friendly and informal. The rooms are charming and individual and the breakfasts are simply excellent. The Motel is well located with easy walking access to the town centre. This was our second trip and we will certainly be returning in the future.

Reviewed by
Mike S

From Enfield, England
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not worth money spent.
The hotel rooms are pretty small, they gave me a room in the basement which has an extremely tiny bathroom. The room has no chair! The cupboard was also extremely tiny.
One of my friends room stayed in room no 10 which has bathtub next to the bed in the bedroom!! He could easily roll over to the bathtub in the morning. The toilet was outside the room below the stairs.
I think they are trying to maximise the number of bedrooms while compromising on the space required for basic facilities in the room.
Besides all this the staff is friendly and takes care of your breakfast.

Reviewed by
S Munjal

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Compact and bijou!
We had such a warm welcome from the staff. In fact, they were texting us before we were even there. Very sweet.
Upon arrival we were told that we'd been given another room due to a mistake on their booking system. We would now be in Room 7, on the top floor. They took a generous £30 off our bill for this, which we appreciated.
The room itself was tiny. Simple, with a big, comfy bed and lovely soft, white bedding. What more do you really need for a one night stay in Brighton?!
The bathroom was possibly the smallest bathroom I'd ever been in! But, the loo works, the shower is warm and powerful and does its job. It's worth noting, though, that there's little left to the imagination of the person not in the loo! You may want to be on very familiar terms with your partner for a stay in number 7!
Breakfast was amazing - generous and very well prepared. We opted for veggie sausages, served in bed. Bliss!
I recommend Hotel Schmotel. It's central, handy for the Lanes and sea front, yet in a quiet little square with no loud bars or clubs near by.

Reviewed by
Iain H

From London, UK
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great little place!
Great little homely space. The warm team will make your stay as enjoyable as possible. It's also mighty good value.

Reviewed by
a mccarthy

From England
Who stayed in November 2012

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Motel Schmotel is just a joy!
My Girlfriend and I recently decided to stay at Motel Schmotel for a second time. I could not recommend it enough. The rooms have so much character and it's obvioius that a lot of hard work and effort has gone into keeping everything clean and tasteful. Owners Paul and Amsy are so accommadating and helpful. They made us feel completely welcome and it actually felt like a home from home. We can't wait to go back again!

Reviewed by
Ben M

From Romford, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4