No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Motel Schmotel

3AA Assessed Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
37 Russell Square , Brighton, BN1 2EF
We had always wanted to bring our own contemporary style, warmth and comfort along with a family welcome to a Brighton guest house. So we sold our souls to the man, took a leap of faith and on 20th April 2007 got the keys to our lovely 5 storey Regency town house. It was very tired, unloved and just not happy at all. So we set about bringing back the love and turning it into what it is today, a very happy guesthouse indeed.
We are very proud to have been recently awarded 3 stars from the AA which have even more recently become more shiny after receiving an AA Highly Commended Yellow Star award for reaching the top 10% within our star rating for overall quality – and that’s before we completed the en suite refurb!
Situated on pretty Russell Square, smack bang in the centre of it all, you will be 2 mins walk from the main shopping centre, Brighton's fantastic beach, car parks, The Lanes, Hove and The Brighton Centre for gigs and conferences. We are constantly improving our green policy and hope to soon be one of Brighton's few green flagship guesthouses.
All our rooms are ensuite (en suites refurbished in May 2008), with clean fresh bed linen, fluffy white towels, tea and coffee making facilities with fresh milk. Freeview and wi-fi are in all rooms for those who may wish to work, surf the net or just chill out after a hard days shopping.
We offer a choice of locally sourced (where possible – subject to avaliability) & organic breakfasts delivered to your room along with piping hot coffee if you need a gentle nudge into your day. So what you waiting for, book already!
Big love
Amsy, Paul, little Jackson and baby Alabama
Picture of Motel Schmotel, Brighton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 36 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

feel like a home from home
I had left a previous review for a stay at this hotel saying the shower could be improved one month on the shower has been improved!!
Fabby feels great to revisit this welcoming comfortable hotel. thanks

Reviewed by
Christine K

From Prestonpans, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful guest house, staff/owners laid back and lovely, sounds strange but the place smelt wonderful - like sweeties! Bed was amazingly comfortable - must find out brand of mattress/mattress topper for bed at home ;) Breakfast in bed was fun and delicious. Bathroom was just a bit tiny for my 6 foot 2, broadly-built partner to manouvere around in but that can't be helped!
A lovely stay and will stay again for sure :)

Reviewed by
H Green

From Gosport, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

value for money,nice people,quite area,central to the attractions

Reviewed by
chris b

From St Agnes, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hosts! Very friendly and imformative and helpful! Would go back again just for the fab customer service!

Reviewed by
TRACEY T

From London, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

DAMN FINE QUIRKY GUEST HOUSE IN LOVELY PERIOD SQUARE
The owner paul was very friendly and very helpful.
parking available nearby in a locked up warehouse, great! other parking avaiIable but ring ahead location is really good for beach, pavillion, conference centre, shops, etc. yet pretty quiet area.

Reviewed by
n robinson

From , England
Who stayed in February 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice friendly place
Staff were very helpful and friendly, and breakfasts were very nice! Good central location. Only downsides were that the room was very small (to be fair to them it does say that on their website) and our ground floor room was a bit noisy as people came back from drinking / got up for breakfast.

Reviewed by
Ian N

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lots of caring attention to detail
I enjoyed my stay at this hotel. Preonalised texts and notes. Fresh cut flowers in the room. An extra heater put in room as bad weather had been forcast (completely unpromted).
bed linens, towels, furntiure all of good quality. loved having a fridge in the room. Only to very picky points - the angle of the tv mounted on the wall meant you could actually see the picture properly when you were lying down and as the room I stayed was one of the smaller room there really wasn't any other way to watch telly. The shower head wasn't very good.
The food was excellent as was the service. thankyou.

Reviewed by
c Knox

From Prestonpans, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfy beds, fantastic food and brilliant location. We'll be back!
The title says it all. We had 2 really comfortable nights stay, in a small but perfect room. The breakfast in bed service made a real treat for 2 tired parents, on a weekend away. And the realistic breakfast time from 8am - 10am, ment we didn't have to rush or wake early to benefit from the service. Ooh and you have to try their chilli jam, yummy! A great location and brilliant bar recommendations. Thank you for a wonderful weekend.

Reviewed by
Lucie Hackney

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel... Schmotel...Not Holiday Inn.
Good location, but on the wrong side of a 60s monstrosity of a car park. The room was a little small (but with enough room, just about)for what we paid, to be honest, and the bed was small and quite uncomfortable. However, the helpfulness of the staff and its convenient location nullified that. The food was nice, but no better. There was also not that much of it. The security of the hotel could be better too, with a more sturdy front door needed to be honest. On the plus side, there was free wi-fi and a DVD player attached to the TV, with a book in the room containing all kinds of good ideas for activities and places to eat.

Reviewed by
Owen M

From London, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great little place to stay
Room and breakfast first class. Bit of a mix up with parking when we arrived but sorted very quickly. Staff all very friendly and helpfull. Very central location.

Reviewed by
Ian M

From West Byfleet, England
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 Next