Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.
94% would recommend it to a friend
No1 The Laurels B&B
First impressions were not overly good, as I arrived at 4pm (the time we are able to check in) only to be basically 'told off' by the owner that I was 'too early'.
I didn't mind waiting while he cleaned and hoovered my room (something I thought should have been done already as check out for previous guests is 11am?!) but he made such a fuss about my 'early' arrival that I felt like I had put him out and that is surely no way to greet guests?. Anyway once the fuss had died down I found it was a nice quiet house with spacious rooms. Parking could prove difficult as there is limited space, and unfortunately our room wasn't as clean as I would hope to find. There were many cobwebs all over the room and dust absolutely everywhere, the fold out chair was broken, hot chocolate sashays were way out of date and there was a rather unpleasant smell from toilet, like it was in desperate need of a good bleach.
I would advise to get to breakfast early if you have somewhere to be as we went for 9.30am but the breakfast didn't actually arrive until 10am, I understand the gentleman who runs the place was working on his own so it was at a leisurely pace...but leave a little more time if you have somewhere to be. The food was of a good standard once it arrived, although the toast was rock hard. All in all it was ok and served its purpose,but i won't be rushing to book to go back any time soon.
Response from hotel
Oh dear! You never get a second chance to make a first impression! I regret that that day had not been a good one-I was called out in the morning to an elderly friend who had collapsed and was several hours away from the house which put me well behind with chores and it snowballed. I had expected this customer at 17.00 according to the booking details given and was working on the room when she arrived and I have to admit I was harassed and let it show---I do not like rooms not being ready when guests arrive. I did offer tea/coffee while she waited and tried to redeem my fluster. I take on board all the comments about the room -I rushed the clean to get the customer in . It is a cobwebby house -lots of trees around and I have to check every day and I did not. Mystified about loo smell, that was cleaned and I use appropriate cleaners so I will investigate. I will also check the fold-up chair and replace as necessary. There is a parking space for each room. I can only apologise and admit that their stay was not up to my usual standards as other reviews will testify.
Great stay in Henfield
Had a very comfortable three nights stay at the Laurels.
Received a warm and friendly welcome and nothing was to much trouble for Malcolm. A very tasty breakfast awaited us each morning. The double ensuite room was clean,cosy and very quiet. We will be sure to stay again when in the area. https://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/ShowUserReviews-g1006579-d568353-r359741001-No_1_The_Laurels-Henfield_West_Sussex_England.html#
We just had a one night stay after dropping our son off in Brighton.
We'd had an awful journey down from Yorkshire - what should have taken a maximum of 6 hours, took 10 hours so we arrived at No.1 The Laurels a lot later than we'd planned. Nevertheless, Malcolm was very welcoming and showed us to our room, which was tastefully furnished, clean and comfortable. On Malcolm's recommendation, we managed to get a meal at The White Hart in the village which was very tasty and the service was great. After a good night's sleep, we had a lovely breakfast and a chat with Malcolm when we put the world to rights. Would definitely stay again.
Best B&B we have stayed in!
Everything from location to comfort was 100%.
The landlord /host very pleasant. Our room was beautifully furnished (flowers were a lovely touch ). The shower room spacious,new and clean. We wwould certainly stay again.
The Proprietor, Malcom, was very friendly and helpful.
My room was very comfortable and clean. The surrounding area is very picturesque and I would definitely stay there again.
Best Value B & B in Henfield
Malcom makes one feel most welcome, despite him still recoveribg from flu, but he was just as attentive as he was the first time we stayed at 1, The Laurels.
A very comfortable and homely accommodation.
My daughter and I absolutely loved our stay. We totally recommend it to anyone going that way. Its a clean, home away from home cosy apartment. The owner is an exceptionally pleasant and warm man, with a cheery dispositon. Absolutely fabulous
Response from hotel
To whom it may concern here is my response to this lovely review ,as I would like it to appear, as per your guidelines.
Thank you so much for taking the time to write these lovely-rewarding comments. I aim to keep the place as homely as possible as, it is indeed, my home. It is always a pleasure to welcome and look after appreciative guests and share life for a while. I do not often get time to respond to reviews but here is a thank you to all those who take time out to give this feedback-it a great boost to ego and an incentive to continue. It is also rewarding when people come back so please do.
No1 The Laurels B&B
Friendly welcome and a very comfortable room for our one night stay.
Great friendly & quality B&B at good price
I have been to No 1 The Laurels many times.
Always a very friendly welcome, nice accomodation and great breakfast. It's a great place to stay for visiting Sussex and surrounding areas. Henfield is a pleasant little town and situted amidst the wooded countryside of the Low Weald, the Adur river valley, and South Downs.
Lovely little gem
Comfortable accommodation, good shower, good breakfast, excellent host, thoroughly recommended,