Reviews - Dover Hotel


44 Belgrave Road Victoria, London, SW1V 1RG

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (32)

72% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • R Cann

  • September 2015

Nice hotel near Victoria Station

Booked this hotel on the date of arrival as emergency accommodation.

My friend and I arrived about an hour after booking.

The hotel was very easy to find and reception staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was ready when we got there despite short notice. Breakfast was what I expect from a London hotel of toast and cereal along with yoghurt. I liked that there was a member of staff serving toast instead of a large machine to make it that takes up extra space. The only downside to this hotel is that the stairs were quite narrow so I struggled to lift my suitcase up easily.

  • Elaine C

  • September 2015

Very good value - I would book again

This was a very last minute booking, I was coming from the Isle of Wight for a music concert in which a friend was a finalist.

Having been told a room at the Union Jack Club (Waterloo) was £132 I looked at the Late Rooms site.

I needed a single ensuite close to the Guards Chapel on Birdcage Walk. This hotel offered what I needed, breakfast included (but I didn't partake so can't comment on that) for only £55. Most reviews were good, so I booked it. Upon arrival I thought I might have made a mistake - the stairways and corridors to my room looked a bit tired and shabby, so I was very relieved once inside to find the room was absolutely spotlessly clean. Although small, it had all I needed. The bed was actually a small double, with a nice firm mattress. There were the usual items - kettle, TV, hairdryer. In the morning, the TV wouldn't come on and the battery cover to the remote was missing, but I wasn't worried as whizzing straight back to,work. The shower wasn't very powerful, but the water was hot and again, everything was immaculately clean. The towel was very large. No toiletries as such, just bar soap, unwrapped. The location is very close to Victoria Station and there are plenty of taxis to be flagged down if needed. All in all, very good - I'll see about customer service (getting the TV sorted) and the standard of the breakfast if I stay again.

  • Roberta N

  • June 2015

London break

Small single room but very clean.

Breakfast basic but a good enough start to the day. Convenient for Victoria Station but quiet at night.

  • Margaret McMahon

  • May 2015

Overnight stay in London

Booked room for 3 adults.

Clean and just what we needed. Enough space and everything you would expect ready clean towels etc. would have liked mini shower gel as well as soap but not absolutely essential considering space. Brekfast simple, toast, cereal, yoghurt but again good value and parking very easy at weekends. Perfect location to access anywhere in London. Tube close by but also only 20-30 minute pleasant walking distance to Sloane square, Knightsbridge, St James Park ect although would recommend buses, tubes for museums and anything a bit further.

  • elizabeth g

  • April 2015

Great Hotel

Ideal for busy Sightseeing London Trip.fabulous Location ,10 mins to buckingham palace!great value for money.comfortable bed,tea/coffee,tv and wifi in room helps after a busy day.bsthroom slightly strange ,like in a plane,but clean.very basic breakfast.would recommend!

  • A Hartshorn

  • April 2015

Ideal hotel if you don't have a very high budget and have to be in the area for the passport office

Internet could be better and they could have removed masking tape after painting and decorating

But that being said it was comfortable and clean

  • Rachel D

  • April 2015

Good value for money

My 14 year old daughter and I were in London for one night, and the Dover was great for what we needed.

Friendly and helpful staff, nice room - a little small but big enough for the two of us for one night, breakfast was good, hotel was very near to Victoria, and the facility to leave bags after check out was great. The tv in our room didn't work - the staff tried to sort it but couldn't, but did offer us another room with a working tv. I would definitely recommend staying here if you need somewhere warm and comfy to sleep for one or two nights, and you don't want to pay top price.

  • S Cheeseboro

  • March 2015

Everything was perfect.

Breakfast wasn't much. We were served toast and had access to cereal. But for the money, I would definitely stay again!

  • W Hart

  • March 2015

Dover Hotel

Dover Hotel.

  • Keith V

  • March 2015

Cheap and basic

Great value for money.

The room was clean but a little small but I didn't spend too much time there so it was perfect for me. Breakfast was ok nothing more nothing less. Staff were friendly. Would definitely stay here again