No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Cecil House Hotel

2自行分類 酒店 Ratings explained
126 Kings Road , Brighton, BN1 2FA
The Cecil House Hotel is the friendliest and most affordable seafront hotel in Brighton. With good old-fashioned B&B hospitality, modern and clean en-suite rooms, a great location and, with low prices, the luxury of money in your pocket to spend on enjoying yourself out and about in Brighton.
Picture of Cecil House Hotel, Brighton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 22 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
64% recommended this accommodation to a friend 72% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

OK for one nights stay
We bought the room for one night through Laterooms in mid January 2014. Price was OK but did not include breakfast, not really a problem though. Room was generally clean but smelt musty. Odd to have an on suite toilet and shower without a door. A bit embarrassing when going to the toilet with anyone else in the room.
As the room was cheap we had a a back room overlooking the vent of the restaurant downstairs. With the window open all we could smell was cooking all night.
Very convenient for central Brighton, parking nearby in Regency Square.
Would only stay again if we could get a sea view (non smelly room).

Reviewed by
Anthony L

From Bexleyheath, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location, terrible smell!
As soon as you enter this hotel there is an overpowering and pungent smell of ham! It never goes away! We discovered towards the end of our stay it's due to the pig spit roast in the restaurant in the basement. This smell was so strong it came all the way up to our top floor room. Our room was very, very warm and stuffy, with the radiator completely off. The window opened only a few inches and didn't stay open (we had to prop it open with an object). Our room (301) was very badly laid out, it was difficult to fit around the beds and the toilet in the bathroom was plumbed in diagonally so as to provide just enough space to sit on it, the toilet water also filled up to the top of the toilet when flushed. One day, when we were in bed, a room service worker knocked on the door several times, we politely asked if he could not come in and said we didn't need the room cleaning; he came in anyway to find us in bed!
We had a reasonably comfortable stay nonetheless. The guy on reception was efficient and pleasant and helpful. Nice range of dvds that the hotel provide for viewing in rooms.
Although I'm saying I wouldn't stay here again, nor recommend it to friends, it's not hideous and it was the cheapest option for a seafront hotel I could find and is ok to stay in.

Reviewed by
Charlotte B

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

small dirty big hole in carpet were iron had been rest of carpet was very dirty

Reviewed by
A Reade

From England
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I was not happy with room !!according to the price that I paid for.. Room was to noises at the night

Reviewed by
B Bhagat

From Hayes, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stayed here with my friend as a birthday trip, the staff were all friendly and helped with everything we asked for. Great location, really close to the centre, easily within walking distance. Only downsides were the wifi didn't reach to the 3rd floor and the radiator in our room was stuck on the hottest setting ( even after a member of staff tried to fix it) which wasn't very nice in the humid weather we had. Overall a very acceptable hotel and we had a lovely stay!

Reviewed by
Faye K

From Farnham, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

cheap
ugly room, cheap and dirty communal areas, bed clean but squeaky, shower cool, wardrobe space a joke -you get what you pay for!

Reviewed by
Isabel C

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An ideal stay if you are budgeting
Happy with most things! I got quite a big discount through laterooms.com, so I wasn't expecting royal treatment. The only issue for me (not usually a fussy person at all), was that we had no control over the radiator. With the weekend being a hot one, I wasn't too impressed when the radiator was on full blast during different parts of the day. After being in the Sun all day and walking up two flights of stairs to then be struck by sauna heat wasn't the best feeling. The window opened which was fine, but still we didn't fancy leaving the window open whilst we was out (no lock on the window when it was shut either, but a closed window is always less attractive to thieves I guess).
Anyway I decided not to complain about anything, as I said it was cheap, and we had no issues with customer service or noise, so all in all happy as larry!

Reviewed by
D Bowen

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Exactly as expected
The reviews gave me the impression that the hotel was basic but clean and valued for money, especially considering the excellent location. And this is exactly how my boyfriend and I experienced it: basic but everything was there, the shower worked well, the room was clean, just nothing special. Warning: there is a £150 fine for smoking - so only take if you are a non-smoker.

Reviewed by
Kristina K

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Staff - Poorly maintained rooms
The hotel Staff were polite and helpful.
The bed linen was clean and the bed was confortable but other than that the room was very poorly maintained with dirty carpet, walls, doors and shower. They told us that they "upgraded" us and we had a room with view of the sea, which was great as an idea if there was no scaffolding just outside of the already dirty windows. Definitely no value for money..

Reviewed by
Angeliki K

From London, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

STEVE
ROOM CLEAN AND WARM 'STAFF FRIENDLY ,FOOD VERY GOOD.

Reviewed by
steven m

From Mansfield, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next