Cecil House Hotel

2

126 Kings Road, Brighton, BN1 2FA

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

All reviews (8)

38% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Anthony L

  • January 2014

OK for one nights stay

We bought the room for one night through Laterooms in mid January 2014.

Price was OK but did not include breakfast, not really a problem though. Room was generally clean but smelt musty. Odd to have an on suite toilet and shower without a door. A bit embarrassing when going to the toilet with anyone else in the room. As the room was cheap we had a a back room overlooking the vent of the restaurant downstairs. With the window open all we could smell was cooking all night. Very convenient for central Brighton, parking nearby in Regency Square. Would only stay again if we could get a sea view (non smelly room).

  • Charlotte B

  • November 2013

Great location, terrible smell!

As soon as you enter this hotel there is an overpowering and pungent smell of ham.

It never goes away. We discovered towards the end of our stay it's due to the pig spit roast in the restaurant in the basement. This smell was so strong it came all the way up to our top floor room. Our room was very, very warm and stuffy, with the radiator completely off. The window opened only a few inches and didn't stay open (we had to prop it open with an object). Our room (301) was very badly laid out, it was difficult to fit around the beds and the toilet in the bathroom was plumbed in diagonally so as to provide just enough space to sit on it, the toilet water also filled up to the top of the toilet when flushed. One day, when we were in bed, a room service worker knocked on the door several times, we politely asked if he could not come in and said we didn't need the room cleaning; he came in anyway to find us in bed. We had a reasonably comfortable stay nonetheless. The guy on reception was efficient and pleasant and helpful. Nice range of dvds that the hotel provide for viewing in rooms.

Although I'm saying I wouldn't stay here again, nor recommend it to friends, it's not hideous and it was the cheapest option for a seafront hotel I could find and is ok to stay in.

  • A Reade

  • September 2013

small dirty big hole in carpet were iron had been rest of carpet was very dirty

  • B Bhagat

  • July 2013

I was not happy with room !!according to the price that I paid for.. Room was to noises at the night

  • Faye K

  • June 2013

Stayed here with my friend as a birthday trip, the staff were all friendly and helped with everything we asked for.

Great location, really close to the centre, easily within walking distance. Only downsides were the wifi didn't reach to the 3rd floor and the radiator in our room was stuck on the hottest setting ( even after a member of staff tried to fix it) which wasn't very nice in the humid weather we had. Overall a very acceptable hotel and we had a lovely stay.

  • Isabel C

  • June 2013

cheap

ugly room, cheap and dirty communal areas, bed clean but squeaky, shower cool, wardrobe space a joke -you get what you pay for.

  • D Bowen

  • June 2013

An ideal stay if you are budgeting

Happy with most things.

I got quite a big discount through laterooms.com, so I wasn't expecting royal treatment. The only issue for me (not usually a fussy person at all), was that we had no control over the radiator. With the weekend being a hot one, I wasn't too impressed when the radiator was on full blast during different parts of the day. After being in the Sun all day and walking up two flights of stairs to then be struck by sauna heat wasn't the best feeling. The window opened which was fine, but still we didn't fancy leaving the window open whilst we was out (no lock on the window when it was shut either, but a closed window is always less attractive to thieves I guess). Anyway I decided not to complain about anything, as I said it was cheap, and we had no issues with customer service or noise, so all in all happy as larry!