No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Amberley Castle – Relais & Châteaux

4Self Classified Country House Hotel Ratings explained
STATION ROAD AMBERLEY, AMBERLEY, BN18 9LT
Hidden away for 900 years near the picturesque village of Amberley in the chalk South Downs, Amberley Castle is a magnificent historical treasure that offers a truly unique experience. Through the Portcullis and 60 ft curtain walls you will find beautiful landscaped gardens, fine examples of medieval architecture and an unrivaled atmosphere of peace and tranquility.
Amberley Castle offers 19 luxurious hotel bedrooms and suites, many with four-poster beds and all featuring Spa bathrooms. The hotel's facilities include two restaurants, lounge areas, tennis court, croquet lawn, gardens and lakes, 18-hole professional putting course and a stunning thatched-roof tree house complete with rope bridge.

Picture of Amberley Castle – Relais & Châteaux, AMBERLEY at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 14 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful experience
We only managed to stay the one night but wished for more. A wonderful setting and the best hotel experience I have had, having stayed in quite a few. I will return hopefully for a longer stay next time.

Reviewed by
Brian McCrorie

From Wokingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect
We got engaged!!! The castle is everything you would expect. Covered in history and English heritage. Staff are very friendly and we got upgraded on arrival to the Chichester deluxe suit. I would recommend this place 100% to anyone.

ManagementResponse

Congratulations on your engagement that is wonderful news. On behalf of all the team here at Amberley castle we would like to thank you for your kind feedback and say that we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Yours sincerely, Matthew Drinkwater, General Manager

Reviewed by
s Mackenzie

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Simply Stunning
As soon as you roll up the long drive the excitement starts. When entering the castle there is a wow factor as you take in the perfectly manicured surroundings with doves flying about and the occasional Peacock.
The staff are very warming and can't do enough to make your stay a memorable one.
With only 19 rooms you feel like you have the place to yourself and the dining was superb.
We'll be back for certain.

Reviewed by
D Thomas

From Winchester, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

absolutely idyllic location exactly as id expected it to be staff very attentive the dinner amazing
Drink was a little on the expensive side and had to ask for some nibbles when we had a bottle of wine on arrival,lady who served us said they didnt usually do this managed to find us some peanuts,
it is the perfect place if you have had a nervous breakdown very quiet and secluded location.room very clean and comfortable and the dinner and service was impeccable.would i stay again?absolutely without question you wont be disappointed.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for your wonderful review on our Castle, you have shared some valuable comments that we will use during our constant re-evaluations. Many guests enjoy the peace and quiet here at Amberley and because of this I do hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to the castle in the near future. Yours sincerely, Matthew Drinkwater, General Manager

Reviewed by
deborah white

From Gillingham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

gorgeous location and wonderful staff.
Consistency an issue. Bramber noisy overlooking kitchen with loud fan. Asked for move- very accommodating and 2nd room lovely with much nicer outlook and modern facilities. Would definitely return.

Reviewed by
H Taylor

From London, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic, fantastic, fantastic
It was my boyfiend's birthday, so I thought I would treat him as he has always wanted to stay here.
What can I say, the room was wonderful, it even had a whirlpool birth. Staff were very friendly and the service was fantastic.
We both had a cream tea and dinner in the restaurant, the food was delicious and they have an extensive wine list.
I would recommend it to anyone !!!!!!

Reviewed by
Louise T

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect place for Special Occasion
We stayed here for our 20th wedding anniversary on 26th February and it was really special. We were upgraded to Superior Room and treated to dinner in King Charles room as we were the only one's dining that night. It was fabulous and we were made to feel really special. The food was wonderful and the service and ambience just perfect. We loved it and can't recommend it highly enough.

Reviewed by
s france

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

this stay was the first time we had visited since we married at the castle exactly 14 years ago> It was all that we'd remembered & more, with the courteous, professional staff & restful & calm atmosphere being most memorable benefits of our stay. The décor has been much improved whilst maintaining the feeling of having gone back in time the moment you arrive along the vast castle driveway & through the awe-inspiring portcullis. The hotel was faultless & a joy to explore & feel a part of for nearly 24 hours. Thank you, 14 years between visits was at least 13 years too long!

Reviewed by
Darren Nye

From Worthing, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful Amberley - perfect for a winter get away
We visited Amberely Castle to give my mother a treat for her 80th birthday and it was perfect. The ambience is elegant comfort - huge squashy sofas in welcoming lounges, wood burning fires, the best service I have ever encountered - nothing was too much trouble. The staff are probably Amberley's best asset but the beauty of the surroundings and the fact that you are staying in a real castle is also fabulous. If you like suits of armour, marvellous food, huge comfortable beds and baths you can swim in then this is probably the place for you. Best I would say for couples on a romantic get away (my sister and I had to share a double bed as none of the rooms are twins) - this was fine for us but might not suit some people.

Reviewed by
Sarah K

From Guildford, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful surroundings, excellent service and attention to detail, but then you do pay a lot for the privilege of staying in a castle. The food was lovely , but a little overpriced. A lovely treat for a special occasion. The afternoon tea is highly recommended. All the staff were very courteous and attentive and we had a lovely relaxing stay

Reviewed by
f c

From London, England
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next