No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Artist Residence Brighton

2Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
33 REGENCY SQUARE , BRIGHTON, BN1 2GG
Fun and quirky rooms with imaginative design, free WI-FI, a cocktail shack bar and café deli are featured at this unique townhouse hotel in the heart of Brighton. Located on the seafront in the historic Regency Square this hotel is a 10 minute walk from Brighton train station.

Each of the 23 guest rooms at Artist Residence are either individually designed by an artist or by the house and feature vintage and upcycled furniture, limited edition prints, graphic murals, flat screen tvs and en-suite bathrooms. Some rooms have sea views overlooking the West Pier.

In addition to being a home from home and unique place to sleep, The Artist Residence serves as a gathering place and hub of community activity for locals and visitors alike.
Picture of Artist Residence Brighton, BRIGHTON at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 12 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 77% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great guest house
Cracking place. Friendly staff, nice feel to the place. Room little on the small side but then decent hot shower and nice bottle of water and tea cake provided.
Good solid place located in a great place for the beach and conference centre. Certainly will be staying their again next year.
Food in the morning was nice too.

Reviewed by
Martin p

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very basic accommodation
Very basic room. Not at all quirky or artistic as stated on the website. Was not at all like the website stated. Incredibly noisy throughout the night. We asked if we could move rooms but were told there was no more vacancies. The noise continued until about 6am. Not good value for money unfortunately.

Reviewed by
G STEVENS

From London, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great little hotel, very pleased
We had a great time at the Artists Residence - having had some iffy experiences with Brighton Hotels over the years this was one of the most customer-friendly and pleasant experiences yet. Perfectly situated, well decorated and boasting very courteous staff!

Reviewed by
Nick F

From Waterlooville, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We really enjoyed staying at this hotel, it has a friendly,homely feel and the breakfasts are delicious! The only down side was the cost of parking but that's a Brighton problem not really the hotels fault.

Reviewed by
D Patchett

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great palce and vrey clean, the decor is amazing
The room had no air conditioning and it was impossible to keep the window open - and in the morning the noise outside with the bin lorries and deliveries was very loud even through the closed window. Bathroom very small - more like a closet than a bathroom but quite adequate for one nights stay.
All of which was a shame as the overall experience was very good.

Reviewed by
Caroline W

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful room and a wonderful location
Breakfast was limited and of average quality, which was a little bit of a let down, given the wonderful accommodation.

Reviewed by
A Patel

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Broken window and boiler!! and no refund

Reviewed by
J Santos

From England
Who stayed in December 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely place, excellent breakfast views
Got 'updated' to free breakfasts but possibly lost out somewhat on not having an individually designed room. The room itself was perfectly comfortable for three adults, very clean and superb views.
Staff was friendly and breakfast generous.
worth returning and recommending to others!

Reviewed by
Lorenza C

From , Switzerland
Who stayed in November 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Jean's reflections
I loved the name of the hotel, which was what led to my booking a room there. The room turned out to be near the top of the house, with a magnificent view over the sea. After the first day it was an angry, wild sea and more easily enjoyed from the window than by walking along the front. I liked having a spacious room with character, not the conventional box you get at most hotels. The staff were delightful and I hope to stay there again.

Reviewed by
Jean Evans

From Chester, England
Who stayed in September 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location, great funky style, highly recommended!
I almost hesitate to recommend this hotel because then it might be booked up the next time I want to go! But it is absolutely worth the visit and I've been telling people all about it.
Located at the top of Regency Square, the hotel is easy walking distance from the fun of the beach and the lanes, but away from the noise and carousing. I guess each room has a different decorated theme, and the room I was in featured a fabulous and fun mural wrapping around all 4 walls. The common area downstairs doubles as an art gallery and the breakfast room, and there is a lovely patio garden out back as well. Breakfast is not included in the room cost and I didn't eat there so cannot comment on the food. But it certainly looked like a nice area to spend some time with a coffee.
My only quibble is that unlike previous LateRooms bookings, I was charged in advance of my stay instead of paying when I arrived. Not a major problem but it could have been if the bank account wasn't ready for it!
All in all, my expectations were quite high and they were very definitely met. A huge comfy bed, good hot water, free wifi, great rates and friendly staff make this likely to be my Brighton hotel of choice from now on.

Reviewed by
Jason M

From London, England
Who stayed in September 2012

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next