No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Da Vinci Eastbourne

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
9-10 Howard Square, , , Eastbourne, BN21 4BQ
The da Vinci is a beautiful Grade II listed building situated off the sea front in Howard Square. The hotel is the UK's first art hotel featuring an art gallery downstairs and art themed rooms upstairs. The spacious public rooms offer an excellent art space for local professional artists while each bedroom features a guest artist. On the ground floor is the art space as well as a dining room, conference room conservatory and bar (with full licensed facilities). The rooms have all been refurbished and redecorated to a very high standard including single rooms, double rooms, executive rooms and family rooms. The rooms are all ensuite with complimentary luxury toiletries to make your stay more comfortable. Each room has a flat screen colour TV , DVD player and tea/coffee making facilities. The da Vinci is conveniently situated for a variety of local attractions including the new arts centre, theatres, shops and gardens as well as the beach with its sweeping seafront and three tier promenade. Eastbourne is a fantastic place to visit with the pier, dating back to the 1870s, complemented by Sovereign Harbour which has been turned into one of the most up to date marinas in Europe.The coastline is designated an area of outstanding beauty and the chalk cliffs of Beachy Head include a walkers route along the cliff tops. Close by are the charming villages of Alfriston, Wilmington & East Dean as well as Drusillas Zoo, Polegate Windmill, Michelham Priory, Pevensey Castle and Newhaven Fort.
Picture of Da Vinci Eastbourne, Eastbourne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 29 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My da Vinci experience
We loved staying at the da Vinci. The merging of the art works in the public rooms and the quality of the room we stayed in ensured we had a good 2 night stay. The staff were lovely, the breakfast excellent and the hotel is excellent value for money.

Reviewed by
R Collins

From Macau, Macau
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent and Different
There are a lot of hotels in Eastbourne so it is good to find one that both attempts and succeeds to be something different. This hotel with its emphasis on local art and an 'arty' distinctiveness about its decoration also rates very well in terms of front desk courtesy and support, working Wi-Fi and a delicious, cooked to order, breakfast which you don't often find in this price bracket.

Reviewed by
jim sweetman

From Bury St Edmunds, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great hotel fab artwork
Unique experience staying in a hotel set above an art gallery

Reviewed by
Robin Webb

From Welwyn Garden City, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good value
All the staff were helpful and polite.
Unfortunately the lift was out of order during our stay and that made it difficult for my wife.
It would have been nice for someone ask if we had enjoyed our stay as we were leaving.

Reviewed by
christopher e

From Morden, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Da Vinci Eastbourne
Very good value for money - friendly, helpful staff; clean, attractive room and nice big breakfast!

Reviewed by
v burke

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A truly marvelous stay!
This hotel is a lovely and welcoming place to stay.
The art and contemporary look is a great addition to a hotel.
Comfortable rooms and easy to relax in the spacious bedroom..........breakfast was delicious.. good selection of cereals/cooked breakfast/toast/yoghurts etc........and the service was exemplary!
All in all a truly marvelous stay at the Da Vinci hotel in Eastbourne.

Reviewed by
alison McCafferty

From nr bognor regis, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend stay before business meeting on the Monday
Nice hotel with unusual/interesting theme. My room was a superior double, which was nice and big, light and airy. The decoration was average, with bits of paint chipped or missing but generally functional. I wouldnt say it was tired but more overlooked. The bathroom was quite small but again adequate. Unfortunately the shower head came apart when I used it. but was quickly sorted by the manager with no fuss at all.
There was a lot of choice for breakfast, from fruit, yoghurt to quite an extensive list of cooked food. The cooked breakfast was cooked to order and very fresh.
The manager and staff were excellent, and always happy to help with advice or any issues.
When I stayed the weather was very hot and humid, and the room was very stuffy, perhaps a fan could be left in the room for summer - or air con!
Overall a very nice hotel that I will go back to again, and happily recommend.

Reviewed by
Garry M

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Super location
An excellent location with parking available outside. Room was a. It tired, had some minor issues, notably the door was loose when locked. An excellent breakfast and good front of house hosting, would mean we would stay again. Hope for a better room.

Reviewed by
Paul G

From Bexleyheath, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value,nice people
We found it comfortable and friendly .The room was well stocked with tea,coffee milks etc .the bed was very comfortable .The breakfast was very good . Generally very pleased.

Reviewed by
P Newell

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good
will stay again

Reviewed by
mick b

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next