No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Tophams Hotel

4Self Classified Town House Hotel Ratings explained
24-32 EBURY STREET , LONDON, SW1W 0LU
Originally a nineteenth century town house located in the heart of Belgravia, the hotel is renowned for its old-world charm and modern luxury.

All 48 guest bedrooms are tastefully decorated and ensure the ultimate in comfort and relaxation. If you are looking for a traditional yet modern English hotel experience, this is the place for you.

The Tophams Hotel enjoys an ideal location close to Buckingham Palace with Knightsbridge, the West End, and numerous shops and restaurants just a short walk away. The underground network, the bus terminal and all major airports are also easily accessible making this refurbished establishment an ideal starting point from which to discover the bustling city.

SPA will be closed on 24th 25th 26th Dec 14 and 1st Jan 15

Bar & Grill
Xmas Eve. 7am – 10.30 Breakfast, 12.30 – 22.00 ala carte ( also serving Festive Period Menu as an option )
Xmas Day. 7.30am – 11am Breakfast only. Closed the rest of the Day.
Boxing Day. 7.30am – 11am Breakfast, 12.30 – 22.00 ala Carte (also serving Festive Period Menu as an option )
New Years Eve. 7am – 10.30 Breakfast, 12.30 – 22.00 ala carte. Close at 11pm
New Years Day. 7.30am – 2pm Brunch ( Breakfast, Sandwiches and Favourites Menu ), 2pm – 22.00 ala Carte.
Our Festive Period Menu will be available as a dining option from Sunday 21st December as opposed to the Daily Pre- Fixe

Fitness Club
Monday 22nd Dec 6:30am – 10pm
Tuesday 23rd Dec 6:30am – 10pm
Wednesday 24th Dec 6:30am – 5pm
Thursday 25th Dec 8am -12pm
Friday 26th Dec 8am – 5pm
Saturday 27th Dec 8am – 8pm
Sunday 28th Dec 8am – 8pm
Monday 29th Dec 6:30am – 10pm
Tuesday 30th Dec 6:30am – 10pm
Wednesday 31st Dec 6:30am – 5pm
Thursday 1st Jan 8am – 8pm

Picture of Tophams Hotel, LONDON at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 147 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
48% recommended this accommodation to a friend 51% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The worst hotel i have ever experienced
I travel a lot with work and have stayed at countless numbers of hotels all around the World over the last 15 years. This is the worst. From a Health and Safety perspective, I am pregnant and had to carry my bag down a very steep, narrow set of stairs to a basement room. It had mould growing on the walls and the smell of mould was quite strong so i slept with the (part broken) window open to air the room. There were two very bright spotlights in the middle of the room leaving the rest in darkness, the two lamps both had broken bulbs, the phone to call reception was also broken. Paint was peeling off the walls, revealed as you closed the curtains. The bed was very low, i think it may have been a matress on the floor with a faux leather base build around it. Very difficult to get in and out of, especially when pregnant. The TV was not tuned properly and could only get 3 random sky stations. The universal remote did not have an option for re-tuning. There were no towels in the room at all and when I asked for them they were delivered with umbridge. The loo was under the steep stairs in a small cupborad, the shower seperate in a walled off area - when you stepped in your head almost touched the (mouldy) ceiling and I am only 5ft 7" !!

Reviewed by
P Maxwell

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A desaster. I was forced to stay in a 4th floor without lift, phone was of order, WC was broken
Awfool.
The room was in a fourth floor without lift and with a very very narrow staircase. A nightmare to carry the luggage (without any help). There was no phone. No towels, no glasses. The WC was broken iIn the the bathroom.
I would have flight if possible.
Toast for breakfast were cold and burned.

Reviewed by
Manuel Dela Rosa Fraille

From , UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not good experience
Only here one night but not great experience. Came back to room after going to theatre and after quick wash it became apparent water was dripping from ceiling on phone, close to television screen. Room 101, reported to reception and then man turned up with towels. Had to go down to reception to explain wasn't safe to stay in room with water near electrical equipment. Apparent from ceiling that had happened before and reception explained they had had a flood in past but had resolved. Gave us another room but no'one to assist moving to it, wife had already dressed for bed. Moved to 301, shower in morning but glass door wouldn't close flush so water came out onto bathroom floor. Continentat breakfas, had to request warm toast after being given cold toast. Cereal on menu but not offered. For prices they charge definitely case of style over substance, response to leak was not good!

Reviewed by
a hannaway

From Stourbridge, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Insulting Breakfast Service
I'd like to start by saying I am an extremely liberal, non fussy 23 year old male who has lived in some terrible dives over my time at University and have never complained about anything like this before.
But, the service and so called 'continental' breakfast I received at Tophams was the worst I have ever encountered. School dinners at my primary school boasted far superior standard and service.
First of all on entry, the silver top areas where food would be traditionally displayed had no food instead was littered with half eaten dishes and used cutlery.
There was no-one to greet us, and when the girl did eventually come to our table, her face had a look like we had insulted her by merely sitting down with the hope of getting served. I asked where the food was and she condescendingly replied "it's waitress service" and walked off to get a menu ( god only knows why she didn't bring one with her of she already knew that)... then when she came back it took her 15 minutes and about 10 attempts to describe the deal included with room and pre paid breakfast which ended up being the continental option... priced at £15.99.
We ordered that which included a selection of cereals, a fruit salad and a selection of pastries and toast.
The Cereals ended up being two tablespoons of stale Frosties in a tiny bowl which would cost about 30p at most.
Then the selection of pastries and toast were 2 small and rock hard croissants and 1 rock hard small chocolate croissant. Not only that, but the toast was warm, grey looking bread, the only way it resembled toast was that it was hard and stale, it was not toast just warmed up bread. This all coming to a grand total of £1.50 at most.
Then the worst of it was the 'fresh fruit salad' It was a tiny bowl, same size as the frosties bowl, containing tinned Del Monte fruit. That fruit salad you get from cheap Del Monte packets, that had bits of soggy green melon, apple and bits of mauled red cherry. I used to get that when i was a baby, it was all swimming in a puddle of slimy bile collected at the bottom of the tin it as preserved in. These packets are no more than £1. So they were charging £15.99 for a breakfast at a worth of £3 at the most.
Not only was the food bad but whilst this was going on there was an elderly man who was struggling to order his food as he couldn't understand the girls serving, and they had no patience with him and kept making rude remarks about him and huffing and puffing at his requests, it was beyond embarrassing it was disgusting. If that had been my grandfather i would of struggled to hold back from a serious confrontation with them.
So after we escaped the dinning room i went to ask the lady at the front of the hotel if she had ever had breakfast at the hotel or was aware of the service there, and she replied she had once or twice. I then asked if anyone else had made any complaints and she said a few, she didn't seem to care and came across really arrogant. But anyway i tried to explain to her what i was served, all she did was say an empty apology with no element of sincerity at all.
I brought up the lie about the fruit and said it would only take about £10 to go out and buy some fresh fruit that could serve loads of people. She was silent and had nothing to say so I left without a refund.
As i said I have never complained about anything before but because of the lie, the treatment of the old man and the dismissive way in which my complaint was dealt with, I feel passionately that potential customers need to know about my experience.
Peace,
Ryan Morgan

Reviewed by
R Morgan

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value, friendly staff & lovely room.
We arrived within an hour of booking due to a disaster elsewhere. The staff were wonderful, welcoming, efficient and kind. They upgraded us to a suite so we had a bedroom each and we had a terrace too. The accommodation was excellent value for money and whilst the carpets had a few marks from wear and tear and the second bedroom windows were a little tired the rooms were very good and the bathroom lovely. I would definitely stay here again and as it is a fantastic location it is a great base for a London stay.

Reviewed by
Belinda S

From England
Who stayed in August 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

unfriendly staff, great location
This place gets very mixed reviews & in retrospect tat makes sense. Staff is rude, rooms aren't quite 4 star, and the included breakfast is an insult - at 77 GBP still a great deal: depending on what you pay, you you'll be happy.

Reviewed by
Lorenz M

From Olten, Switzerland
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rooms need updating
Room tired, tv not working reported to staff nothing done when booking bed and breakfast we expected full english.

Reviewed by
Robin R

From Norwich, England
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fawlty...
Arrived to be told that the booking had been rejected because of a problem with my bank card. (In spite of the fact that when I had called the hotel earlier in the day to confirm the booking as I knew we'd be arriving late, they did not tell me there was a problem and when I spoke to the bank the next day they told me no payment had been attempted.) The hotel also said they'd tried to call twice, but I had no missed calls and no voice mail.
The staff tried to help by putting us in two single rooms, charging extra for the additional room - and offering a complementary drink and upgraded breakfast to sweeten the deal.
In fairness, the staff were lovely - but no amount of good customer service makes up for having booked a double room in a supposedly 4* hotel and ending up in a tiny single room with a threadbare carpet, no furniture apart from two bedside lamps (one broken) on the floor...
The bar served a choice of Gin, Vodka or Rum with Sprite or Fanta - nothing else... And even when the drinks came, after a lot of running around, they were still not what we ordered. I needed a drink but the situation was not so dire I needed straight gin.
When we went to the rooms, they were actually in a different hotel down the road - my room had no furniture apart from two bedside lamps on the floor (which was dirty) and the sink in the bathroom was so small that when you tried to run the tap, the water ran over the rim of the sink...
Hotel would have been disappointing if you were expecting something 1/2*, and absolutely fine for a backpackers hostel.

Reviewed by
Emma N

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our weekend stay
Over all a good experience,everyone very helpful.

Reviewed by
Natalie S

From Maidstone, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I don't know where they got four stars from, but it can't possibly be legitimate.
After we checked into our room and headed out for the first time I made a point to look for the stars on the hotel fascade. There are none. None above the door. None below the hotel name. None next to the door. None on the door. None anywhere visible in the lobby. They advertise as a four-star hotel on their website, but I suspect they decided to claim that on their own.
Pros:
- A five minute walk from Victoria Station.
- Interesting layout for the bathroom ("downstairs" from the main part of the room.)
Cons:
For a four-star hotel this place was dreadful. Here's a rundown of the nightmare that was staying at this place:
- The carpet was dingy and coming up from the floor in one corner of the room next to the door.
- The cabinetry looked like something my dad would have put together with 1" plywood just to close off some shelves.
- The in-room safe didn't have batteries so it was non-functional (the battery compartment cover was even missing.)
- The TV was positioned practically behind the bed's headboard on the wall next to the bed (there wasn't even a remote. I had to ask for one which didn't work when I got it.)
- The mattress felt like something I would sleep on in my grandmother's guest room. It was old, the springs were worn and noisy and everytime I rolled over in the direction of the edge I felt like I was going to roll right off onto the floor because the support was so crappy.
- There was a hole in the ceiling where it appeared that water from the room above leaked through and deteriorated the plaster.
- The receptionists were generally unhelpful.
- Our room (a double by their standards) had only one bath towel and one hand towel. When I asked for an additional one I was told they didn't have anymore and wouldn't until the following morning. My wife had to dry off with the hand towel. The next day when they made up the room they gave us a second hand towel, but we still had only one bath towel.
- The day we left the receptionist was getting into a mild verbal altercation with her boss because another group were complaining about something. The boss didn't seem to care about the complaints.
I would avoid this at all costs. Do not be taken in by the proximity to Victoria Station.
A few pictures I took of our room: http://imgur.com/a/fYO9X

Reviewed by
sheryl g

From USA
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 Next