No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Tophams Hotel

4Self Classified Town House Hotel Ratings explained
24-32 EBURY STREET , LONDON, SW1W 0LU
Originally a nineteenth century town house located in the heart of Belgravia, the hotel is renowned for its old-world charm and modern luxury.

All 48 guest bedrooms are tastefully decorated and ensure the ultimate in comfort and relaxation. If you are looking for a traditional yet modern English hotel experience, this is the place for you.

The Tophams Hotel enjoys an ideal location close to Buckingham Palace with Knightsbridge, the West End, and numerous shops and restaurants just a short walk away. The underground network, the bus terminal and all major airports are also easily accessible making this refurbished establishment an ideal starting point from which to discover the bustling city.

SPA will be closed on 24th 25th 26th Dec 14 and 1st Jan 15

Bar & Grill
Xmas Eve. 7am – 10.30 Breakfast, 12.30 – 22.00 ala carte ( also serving Festive Period Menu as an option )
Xmas Day. 7.30am – 11am Breakfast only. Closed the rest of the Day.
Boxing Day. 7.30am – 11am Breakfast, 12.30 – 22.00 ala Carte (also serving Festive Period Menu as an option )
New Years Eve. 7am – 10.30 Breakfast, 12.30 – 22.00 ala carte. Close at 11pm
New Years Day. 7.30am – 2pm Brunch ( Breakfast, Sandwiches and Favourites Menu ), 2pm – 22.00 ala Carte.
Our Festive Period Menu will be available as a dining option from Sunday 21st December as opposed to the Daily Pre- Fixe

Fitness Club
Monday 22nd Dec 6:30am – 10pm
Tuesday 23rd Dec 6:30am – 10pm
Wednesday 24th Dec 6:30am – 5pm
Thursday 25th Dec 8am -12pm
Friday 26th Dec 8am – 5pm
Saturday 27th Dec 8am – 8pm
Sunday 28th Dec 8am – 8pm
Monday 29th Dec 6:30am – 10pm
Tuesday 30th Dec 6:30am – 10pm
Wednesday 31st Dec 6:30am – 5pm
Thursday 1st Jan 8am – 8pm

Picture of Tophams Hotel, LONDON at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 140 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
48% recommended this accommodation to a friend 52% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

4 star rating with 1 star accomodation
Upon arrival I was taken outside the hotel to an entrance 10 doors down and taken to room 5 (former Belgravia Mews hotel), room was in very poor repair, the carpet was stained, the ceiling was very badly stained, the en suite shower was very mouldy and the TV did not work. I was transferred to room 6 which was only marginally better (TV worked). At £176 per night this was too much even by London standards!
Staff were ok and the breakfast service and food were acceptable

Reviewed by
Garry N

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor
Shower head faulty, room needed painting, just not a high standard!

Reviewed by
James Wilson

From Cowbridge, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely but waiting on staff need some customer service training
The room I had was small but was well equipped and clean. Nicely decorated with a lovely comfortable bed. Check in was good. The only complaint I have was breakfast. The food was nice but the waiting on staff (all 3 of them) were abrupt and rude. Upon entering the restaurant I was told your sitting there!!!!. The deal included free continental breakfast. Basically I had my tea, cereals, toast and fruit salad all brought to the table at once. Your not asked you are told what you eat. I didn't eat the cornflakes and was asked if something was wrong with them. No not all I just never ordered them so she snatched them back tutted and dirty looked me.....The people having fulI English breakfasts where looked after well. I asked for some hot water and waited 10 minutes for it...All you need in the Morning is a smile something this bunch dont seem to do.

Reviewed by
p Duffy

From Conwy, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Absolutely appalling!!!!
I stayed with them on Saturday 21st September 2013 until Sunday 22nd September 2013 and i was absolutely appalled with a number of things:
1. Arrived at 1pm (like LateRooms had told me) to be told that the room wasn't ready until 2pm.
2. I also booked a twin room but got given a double room because there weren't any twin rooms available even though i had booked a twin!!
3. Got to the room at 2pm to find 1 bath towel between 2 people which was revoltingly dirty and we had no hand towels. I had to go and ask reception twice !!!!
4. We also had no pillow cases and the pillows were vile i do not wish to see previous people's dribble marks!!
5. In the bathroom we had no hand soap and no bath mats, what would they have done if i had fallen whilst getting out the bath? The maid came back to the room four times, why was it not all done before we arrived? How can you say that the room i paid for was ready for me to use by 2pm and at a 4* standard?!
6. The staff at breakfast time are a lot to be desired; we were not greeted, they didn't smile and we didn't get offered a cooked breakfast!! Also i had to spread my toast on the place mat as no one came to give me a plate!!!
7. On arrival i had to pay a £50 deposit (what for?) and do i get that back as i have already paid for the room in advance which is not even worth £50 alone!!
I would have got better service at a Premier Inn!!! Absolutely disgusted whoever gave them the 4* rating must be blind!!

Reviewed by
Claire B

From England
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not as bad as some have painted but could tweak it up a bit more
I booked this hotel within fairly tight timescales so didn't read the reviews until after I paid for the 2 nights upfront. Later, speaking on the telephone with a member of staff, I felt a little more relaxed when she told me the bad reviews related to an annexe down the road. That said, I made sure booking in and checking the room were my first port of call!
On first glance, all was okay and I felt relaxed enough to go and fulfil my day's activities. The carpet was a bit stained but the bed had clean white linen, the bath and toilet was clean and all seemed in order.
No towels though. So I mentioned it to an assistant as I was going out again. She spoke to the maid while I was there and cue everyone smiling. (They were all very friendly though none were indigenous.)
Unfortunately, when I got back much later there were no towels. But a quick call down to reception and some were promptly brought up along with a hair dryer (also asked for while on phone).
Feeling a bit tired from the travelling and day's activities I thought I'd grab something in the hotel. Unfortunately, it was either peanuts and crisps or sandwiches. All on my verboten menu.
Fine. I had had a big meal at lunch but could manage a nice glass of red wine pre-bed.
The girl looked at me as if I was speaking a foreign language. After waiting (and, it seemed, more waiting) someone else came to tell me she hadn't understood me and that there was no wine, only Becks' beer.
Great. Not. I decided to go to bed without vittels or anything to drink when another assistant said why not have a vodka and tonic?
I agreed and she brought up a rather tiny glass of vodka and tonic with no nibbles or finesse. That little added description is because that tiny glass of vodka and tonic ended up costing me £12.50!!!
And you'd think they'd have read the multiple reviews and actually bought in some red wine for non-beer drinkers!
So, the initial higher points got systematically reduced by the lack of towels and having to ask twice for them, the humongous cost of a teensy glass of vodka with or without nibble, the hairdryer conking out after it dried just the top of my head and the TV having a mind of its own.
Oh and yes, on my last night I woke to the really vile smell of someone smoking really vile cigarettes.
PS I only had the included breakfast on one day as 'continental' consisted of pastries and fruit salad (and possibly cereal). As I don't eat pastries (or cereal) that was a minute bowl of not particularly exciting fruit salad and coffee.
Seems a bit mean not to feed a guest with the things they actually CAN eat but I think the waitresses have had it drummed into them to be sparing.
Didn't bother insulting my palate on the second morning and treated myself to a delicious cooked breakfast in one of the many cafes in Westminster. At a fraction of the horrendous prices in this hotel.
PPS But at least the bed was clean and so was the bathroom and it was easy to get to my conference and back at night.
Room Tip: Don't get a room next to the lift!

Reviewed by
Euphrosene Labon

From Angmering, England
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor value
One of the worst hotels I have stayed in for many years. The receptionists were indifferent at check in and positively disinterested at check out. The carpet in the room was marked in several places, although the room was generally clean. Breakfast was pitiful- a small bowl of cereal, cold toast, poor service.

Reviewed by
Tim W

From Kenilworth, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel
The room was scrupulously clean though the carpet could do with a clean. Beds luxuriously comfortable and the bathroom first class. Reception very welcoming. Two small reservations to an otherwise glowing review. The bathroom door wouldn't open fully without hitting the bed, which was a nuisance in the middle of the night. Secondly, the continental breakfast was rather spoilt one morning by mouldy toast. Changed without question and with an apology, so no big deal.

Reviewed by
Peter C

From Pontypool, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overpriced and shabby.
This hotel has a façade of being charming or endearing : its just shabby . My room was comfortable and quiet ( apart from the creaky floor boards of the room above ) The tap in the basin was not stable , nor was the flush handle on the loo. The handle on the shower door was incomplete. A socket on the wall had raw uncovered plaster around it . The TV remote disappeared from my room , and the replacement that I requested didn't function . I requested some teabags because there weren't any : 4 were left for me. The phone was not connected until I asked . Breakfast included a mean and tepid disappointment of pallid toast , delivered without a smile . This was all apparently following a refurbishment : dread to think how overpriced it must have seemed before .Staff on reception that I met were prompt and efficient .
I've stayed at other hotels in the area which I think were much better quality in terms of room décor and freshness, and the food offered - , and they were certainly cheaper . It really felt like there was not enough of anything to go around properly .

Reviewed by
Janet P

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The worst hotel i have ever experienced
I travel a lot with work and have stayed at countless numbers of hotels all around the World over the last 15 years. This is the worst. From a Health and Safety perspective, I am pregnant and had to carry my bag down a very steep, narrow set of stairs to a basement room. It had mould growing on the walls and the smell of mould was quite strong so i slept with the (part broken) window open to air the room. There were two very bright spotlights in the middle of the room leaving the rest in darkness, the two lamps both had broken bulbs, the phone to call reception was also broken. Paint was peeling off the walls, revealed as you closed the curtains. The bed was very low, i think it may have been a matress on the floor with a faux leather base build around it. Very difficult to get in and out of, especially when pregnant. The TV was not tuned properly and could only get 3 random sky stations. The universal remote did not have an option for re-tuning. There were no towels in the room at all and when I asked for them they were delivered with umbridge. The loo was under the steep stairs in a small cupborad, the shower seperate in a walled off area - when you stepped in your head almost touched the (mouldy) ceiling and I am only 5ft 7" !!

Reviewed by
P Maxwell

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A desaster. I was forced to stay in a 4th floor without lift, phone was of order, WC was broken
Awfool.
The room was in a fourth floor without lift and with a very very narrow staircase. A nightmare to carry the luggage (without any help). There was no phone. No towels, no glasses. The WC was broken iIn the the bathroom.
I would have flight if possible.
Toast for breakfast were cold and burned.

Reviewed by
Manuel Dela Rosa Fraille

From , UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 Next