No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Tophams Hotel

4Self Classified Town House Hotel Ratings explained
24-32 EBURY STREET , LONDON, SW1W 0LU
Originally a nineteenth century town house located in the heart of Belgravia, the hotel is renowned for its old-world charm and modern luxury.

All 48 guest bedrooms are tastefully decorated and ensure the ultimate in comfort and relaxation. If you are looking for a traditional yet modern English hotel experience, this is the place for you.

The Tophams Hotel enjoys an ideal location close to Buckingham Palace with Knightsbridge, the West End, and numerous shops and restaurants just a short walk away. The underground network, the bus terminal and all major airports are also easily accessible making this refurbished establishment an ideal starting point from which to discover the bustling city.

Picture of Tophams Hotel, LONDON at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 171 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
48% recommended this accommodation to a friend 51% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tiny Room
The room was a small box room with no mirror a hairdryer or dressing table. Bathroom and shower were at the end of the corridor and down some stairs. We refused to stay in the room. The reception said that they had no other rooms available. And asked if were prepared to move hotels. Which we were. The room given in another hotel was great. The positive side of the Topham was the reception sorted the problem out quickly and provided refreshment's while waiting for a courtesy taxi. Having said that would not book the hotel again.

Reviewed by
k lowery

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor single rooms
I had a good experience at this hotel last year but this time was completely different. Apparently I was upgraded last year as my single room was very disappointing. No curtain at the window until I asked for one, no light bulb in the bedside light. Room service poor - my toasted sandwich had barely seen a toaster! Breakfast is supposed to finish at 10 am yet when I arrived at 9.40 am the staff were already clearing away the juices and I had to ask for some more bacon. All in all very disappointing.

Reviewed by
Philippa H

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Listened to lots of complaints from other Guests at Breakfast, mainly re Mould etc in the Bathroom.W
Arrived to find our room was not booked,they blamed your system. After a coversation with your man Grahan,about an hour after our arrival a room mysteriosly became available. Everywhere was small,with the Breaklfast Room too small fopr the amount of Guests,and tables were not all fully set.Service however was ok - but it was a Buffet! The Staff were pleasant enough but organisation seemed to be lacking somewhat or something.

Reviewed by
P Burley

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beware
Booking-in was delayed due to large number of people who were being told that they did not actually have the internet booking that they had made. They were offered the same rooms at a higher price...
I was eventually given a room on the second floor that had old furniture and no en-suite facility. This was described by laterooms as the "best reduction" as it had been reduced from over £700 to £160. Eventually got moved to a room with an en-suite - but definitely not worth the money.

Reviewed by
David B

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location, friendly staff, very clean

Reviewed by
Nicola H

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Trying to be something it's not
This hotel tries to be classy, but it falls far off the mark. It has crammed in as many rooms as possible so it feels very crampt. I had a room in the basement which meant it was very dark, but it was also damp. The mattress was terrible - you sank right through it. It was too hot. The only thing I would say for it, is that the location was good. I would never stay in this hotel again.

Reviewed by
N Herd

From Harrogate, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tophams Hotel... Room for improvement!
The first room we were offered had very bad water staining on the ceiling. The grout in shower was dirty.The room was very small, the bed barely passable ..it really was only a single room.
The alternative room offered was better, but no hair dryer, not enough towels, one coffee mug missing, the safe was inoperative and a number of lights were broken.
This is not what I expect from a room with a supposed rate of £800 per night.
Also , mysteriously, £20.00 of drinks from the minibar appeared on the bill.. That wouldn't have been an issue if we had consumed them, no explanation offered even after asking the receptionist three times, just that they would remove the charge.

Reviewed by
K Garrity

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My experience of top hams was not great for a number of reasons:
1. The tv did not work properly, was slow to turn on and not all channels could be accessed.
2. The in room phone did not work when contacting reception.
3. The decor looks very tired and in of a refurb
4. At 6 am in the morning the bathroom had water leaking thru from the room above around the light fittings and flooded our bathroom.
5. The reservation inc breakfast but we were infornmed it was only continental and this wasnotmadeclear on the conf email.
6. I advised all of this on checkout and the desk clerk was very dissmissive and not reallyinterested.
7. I will not be staying at top hams again

Reviewed by
John L

From Wimborne, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hit and miss
It really is hit and miss with this place. they have some fantastic rooms in the basement but the rest are average and if they walk you down the road to the Belgravia Mews Hotel just sleep on the street.

Reviewed by
C Anderson

From Richmond, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tophams Hotel review
The location is great acccess to Trains(Victoria),Buses and Tube within minutes. Also great for Walking in central london.
Accommodation a bit on the small side but adequate. Clean, good shower.
Breakfast food was good quality, the waitresses tried to keep up with the service and food quanties on a very busy and compact dinning area.
all in all good value

Reviewed by
s mannell

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 Next