No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Tophams Hotel

4Self Classified Town House Hotel Ratings explained
24-32 EBURY STREET , LONDON, SW1W 0LU
Originally a nineteenth century town house located in the heart of Belgravia, the hotel is renowned for its old-world charm and modern luxury.

All 48 guest bedrooms are tastefully decorated and ensure the ultimate in comfort and relaxation. If you are looking for a traditional yet modern English hotel experience, this is the place for you.

The Tophams Hotel enjoys an ideal location close to Buckingham Palace with Knightsbridge, the West End, and numerous shops and restaurants just a short walk away. The underground network, the bus terminal and all major airports are also easily accessible making this refurbished establishment an ideal starting point from which to discover the bustling city.

Picture of Tophams Hotel, LONDON at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 150 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
48% recommended this accommodation to a friend 51% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value, friendly staff & lovely room.
We arrived within an hour of booking due to a disaster elsewhere. The staff were wonderful, welcoming, efficient and kind. They upgraded us to a suite so we had a bedroom each and we had a terrace too. The accommodation was excellent value for money and whilst the carpets had a few marks from wear and tear and the second bedroom windows were a little tired the rooms were very good and the bathroom lovely. I would definitely stay here again and as it is a fantastic location it is a great base for a London stay.

Reviewed by
Belinda S

From England
Who stayed in August 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

unfriendly staff, great location
This place gets very mixed reviews & in retrospect tat makes sense. Staff is rude, rooms aren't quite 4 star, and the included breakfast is an insult - at 77 GBP still a great deal: depending on what you pay, you you'll be happy.

Reviewed by
Lorenz M

From Olten, Switzerland
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rooms need updating
Room tired, tv not working reported to staff nothing done when booking bed and breakfast we expected full english.

Reviewed by
Robin R

From Norwich, England
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fawlty...
Arrived to be told that the booking had been rejected because of a problem with my bank card. (In spite of the fact that when I had called the hotel earlier in the day to confirm the booking as I knew we'd be arriving late, they did not tell me there was a problem and when I spoke to the bank the next day they told me no payment had been attempted.) The hotel also said they'd tried to call twice, but I had no missed calls and no voice mail.
The staff tried to help by putting us in two single rooms, charging extra for the additional room - and offering a complementary drink and upgraded breakfast to sweeten the deal.
In fairness, the staff were lovely - but no amount of good customer service makes up for having booked a double room in a supposedly 4* hotel and ending up in a tiny single room with a threadbare carpet, no furniture apart from two bedside lamps (one broken) on the floor...
The bar served a choice of Gin, Vodka or Rum with Sprite or Fanta - nothing else... And even when the drinks came, after a lot of running around, they were still not what we ordered. I needed a drink but the situation was not so dire I needed straight gin.
When we went to the rooms, they were actually in a different hotel down the road - my room had no furniture apart from two bedside lamps on the floor (which was dirty) and the sink in the bathroom was so small that when you tried to run the tap, the water ran over the rim of the sink...
Hotel would have been disappointing if you were expecting something 1/2*, and absolutely fine for a backpackers hostel.

Reviewed by
Emma N

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our weekend stay
Over all a good experience,everyone very helpful.

Reviewed by
Natalie S

From Maidstone, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I don't know where they got four stars from, but it can't possibly be legitimate.
After we checked into our room and headed out for the first time I made a point to look for the stars on the hotel fascade. There are none. None above the door. None below the hotel name. None next to the door. None on the door. None anywhere visible in the lobby. They advertise as a four-star hotel on their website, but I suspect they decided to claim that on their own.
Pros:
- A five minute walk from Victoria Station.
- Interesting layout for the bathroom ("downstairs" from the main part of the room.)
Cons:
For a four-star hotel this place was dreadful. Here's a rundown of the nightmare that was staying at this place:
- The carpet was dingy and coming up from the floor in one corner of the room next to the door.
- The cabinetry looked like something my dad would have put together with 1" plywood just to close off some shelves.
- The in-room safe didn't have batteries so it was non-functional (the battery compartment cover was even missing.)
- The TV was positioned practically behind the bed's headboard on the wall next to the bed (there wasn't even a remote. I had to ask for one which didn't work when I got it.)
- The mattress felt like something I would sleep on in my grandmother's guest room. It was old, the springs were worn and noisy and everytime I rolled over in the direction of the edge I felt like I was going to roll right off onto the floor because the support was so crappy.
- There was a hole in the ceiling where it appeared that water from the room above leaked through and deteriorated the plaster.
- The receptionists were generally unhelpful.
- Our room (a double by their standards) had only one bath towel and one hand towel. When I asked for an additional one I was told they didn't have anymore and wouldn't until the following morning. My wife had to dry off with the hand towel. The next day when they made up the room they gave us a second hand towel, but we still had only one bath towel.
- The day we left the receptionist was getting into a mild verbal altercation with her boss because another group were complaining about something. The boss didn't seem to care about the complaints.
I would avoid this at all costs. Do not be taken in by the proximity to Victoria Station.
A few pictures I took of our room: http://imgur.com/a/fYO9X

Reviewed by
sheryl g

From USA
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Location
This is a charming hotel in a great location. I booked at the last minute and was delighted when I walked in because the decoration is very up-market. The reception was warm, friendly and professional. The room was excellent and the "Hotel Inspector" herself would have loved it.
The continental breakfast left a little to be desired, no jam or marmalade and un-toasted bread but we were ten minutes late.

Reviewed by
John Pamplin

From Bath, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Thought I had booked the main Tophams hotel but was actually in a totally different one.
Having to stay in a different hotel rather than the one advertised and going out in rain for breakfast was bad but having to go up three flights of very narrow stairs to a very basic room was even worse! Cannot recommend this hotel! The location is good as it is walking distance to Buck House and Victoria no other reason to stay here though.

Reviewed by
Nick Chant

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mis-sold to the point of being fraudulent? Extremely disappointing!
Sorry to provide a negative review but the website shows images for a different hotel to that which we were actually escorted to once we'd checked in. Surely this is unacceptable?!
Check in was fine - at Tophams (as described and pictured on the website). Very pleasant in every respect. So far so good...
We were then led straight back out the front door and several hundred yards down the street to a different and more run-down hotel. The room was extremely cramped. The main lock on the room door was loose and in need of maintenance. The carpet was truly filthy - it really needed replacing. There were cobwebs around the cornicing. A broken light fitting dangled from ceiling of the 'shower room' (which was the size of a small cupboard in the corner of the room).
It was the sort of experience you might expect from a low end hotel in a developing country - less well suited to a stay in Belgravia! We eventually chose to stay elsewhere.
By leading us (and presumably other guests) to a different hotel I feel Tophams misrepresented what was actually offered. We felt a bit 'duped'. It's a shame becuase the actual Tophams Hotel looked pleasant - but based on this initial experience I would find it difficult to trust Tophams Hotel to provide what they say they will - and certainly cannot recommend the hotel to other people.

Reviewed by
richard h

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tiny Room
The room was a small box room with no mirror a hairdryer or dressing table. Bathroom and shower were at the end of the corridor and down some stairs. We refused to stay in the room. The reception said that they had no other rooms available. And asked if were prepared to move hotels. Which we were. The room given in another hotel was great. The positive side of the Topham was the reception sorted the problem out quickly and provided refreshment's while waiting for a courtesy taxi. Having said that would not book the hotel again.

Reviewed by
k lowery

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 Next