No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Red Lion Wendover

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Red Lion Hotel 9 High Street, Buckinghamshire, HP22 6DU
The Red Lion is a traditional 16th Century Coaching Inn steeped in history and tradition and gracefully combining ‘olde world’ charms with a contemporary look and feel. Situated on the High Street in the town of Wendover, the Red Lion offers the perfect location for a weekend away and being less than an hour by train to London offers a relaxed commute into the Capital.

The charismatic Red Lion Hotel in Wendover was reopened in Spring 2008, after a £1.4m refurbishment programme. The inn now offers a twenty-three bedroom hotel as well as a 96 cover restaurant – and the whole building has been given a fresh new look whilst still retaining the building’s historic past. The building is listed therefore the refurbishment has retained several stunning features, such as the beautiful 17th century fireplace and exposed beams. The site has its own place in history and it is in fact rumoured that Oliver Cromwell once stayed overnight at the inn and addressed his troops from one of the upstairs windows!

The Red Lion are proud of the quality of food they serve and take every care to ensure that only the freshest ingredients are sourced from the best suppliers. Diners and drinkers alike can also enjoy a range of real ales and wines, carefully selected from around the world.

Picture of Red Lion Wendover, Buckinghamshire at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 57 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

size of bathroom
good size bedrooms, bathroom very small

Reviewed by
Mike McAndrew

From York, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bridal suite
Having taken the option of the only available room for our wedding anniversary.i was disappointed to find the four poster bed was just 4 posts at each end of the bed . Nice and comfortable though. The biggest let down was the jacuzzi was in unuseable due to black bits coming out of the jets..
Staff very friendly and overall well situated to see Wendover
Will stay again but sort out the room

Reviewed by
Andrew E

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Red Lion is well positioned snug in the Chilterns
The rooms are well sized and well equipped., breakfast has plenty of choice and .If you have time a nice walk around Wendover is delightful.

Reviewed by
r saxby

From Hayle, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great breakfast
Although rooms are small and fairly basic, this is reflected in the fair price. Staff are extremely pleasant. Breakfast is a triumph.

Reviewed by
Kathleen m

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good
We stayed here for one night, very friendly staff, lovely room, bathroom could do with a bit of refurbishment but other than that the room was very nice!! Breakfast was excellent in the morning, good choice, good prompt service and very tasty....would definitely stay again

Reviewed by
karen k

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

quick stop, just what was required

Reviewed by
Teresa S

From Haywards Heath, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay for wedding guest
Friendly historic hotel in pretty setting. Staff very friendly and public areas cosy.
I found the single bed very hard but otherwise the room was good. I was given a late check out for free in return for "hard" bed
I would recommend this hotel.

Reviewed by
Lynn Worth

From Bromley, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reviewed by
T Weller

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

we would go again
The hotel is old with lots of character, the rooms are slightly worn round the edges however this is far outweighed by the very friendly, helpful staff who didn't laugh at us when we couldn't get in the room because we were turning the key the wrong way! The food was lovely, we booked a meal the first night, it was delicious. We had breakfast each morning, which was equally good, no grease on the plate and the black pudding was the best ever! We stayed in the Cromwell room, as he is said to have occupied it in 1642, I bet our bed was comfier! It's the ideal base for the Chilterns & for rail travel into London. We will highly recommend it, & we will certainly return.

Reviewed by
Robert Morgan

From Barnstaple, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place
Lovely old pub and nice food but restaurant staff were a bit slow during dinner and breakfast. Room was also directly opposite the beer garden so was noisy on Friday and Saturday night

Reviewed by
James C

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next