No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Courtlands Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Courtlands Hotel 19-27 The Drive, Brighton, BN3 3JE

*'More than a hotel; The Courtlands is an iconic piece of Hove's history,stretched contentedly along a prestigious tree-lined avenue within a short
walk of the famous promenade and shingle seafront. *

*Quietly grand by nature, this is understated splendour and restful style,with friendly and professional service.*
*We offer comfortable accommodation with style; each of our sixty-six en suite rooms are different – some traditional, with an eclectic mix of
beautiful and authentic antique furniture, some contemporary with chic and minimal style – whether old or new, each room has complimentary wifi...'*

Picture of Courtlands Hotel, Brighton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 108 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
68% recommended this accommodation to a friend 72% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly
Late booking deal made this a good buy (normal price is out of my range) Lovely room, fully equipped, comfy bed, well cooked breakfast and delicious evening meal.
The staff were extremely helpful and friendly.
Good to have private off-road parking.

Reviewed by
Fran A

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Paul & Lucy's Wedding
Staff were courteous and pleasant. Room was clean and adequate for a short stay. Quite good for 3 star hotel.
Service at breakfast was quick and polite. Food was good with reasonable selection for full English.
We asked for tea but got coffee (which was like Camp coffe and simply awful)! We did not complain or ask for anything else as we were in a rush.
Overall, the Hotel is very good for 3 stars

Reviewed by
Christine L

From West Byfleet, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel California (Courtlands Hotel) - this could be heaven or this could be hell!
Difficult to find - vastly overpriced - difficult parking - first room had shower at max 1.2m high - the lovely Spanish receptionist guided me in on the telephone - handled my problem with shower - smiled and saved the day - without Christina the hotel would have got a "lambasting"
All I could think was she is brilliant and made my stay a great experience.

Reviewed by
Richard Grace

From Chester, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overall the hotel is a little tired looking, reasonably clean but in need of decoration/refurbishment. Friendly staff and a good English breakfast.

Reviewed by
Richard H

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel fine, parking a bit of a problem, it's either a mud bath in car park.if there's room, or finding a spot on the road in front of hotel. We were lucky, out of season, but in peak could prove difficult. But on the whole a pleasant experience.

Reviewed by
D Gascoyne

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the wellcome was very friendly and I was able to book in early as my room was ready
I enjoyed my stay - the room was comfortable, quiet and the tea making facilities were very welcome.

Reviewed by
Patricia B

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very clean, would definitely stay here again, though the room was very warm, even with the radiators switched off. All in all, a really nice hotel.

Reviewed by
Sandra M

From Exmouth, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Courtlands Hotel
we arrived early afternoon, prompt check in staff efficient but not friendly a smile would have helped.
our room was OK, it was all a bit dated, our duvet cover had a rip in it not quite white any-more.
the bathroom freezing cold, as was the bedroom went to reception and asked if we could have some heating in our room, was told its on a timer and will come on at 6 it was 3.15, however the heating did come on at 3.45 which was helpful. we had a bar snack before we left for a party, the barman helpful and friendly, I ordered king prawns a few minutes later was told chef not happy with the prawns,so had a burger which was very nice . the buffet breakfast was fine, nice young man serving, all in all it was OK when you go away and are staying in hotel you want it to be at least up to your own home standers but this was a way below my home. the best thing was the car parking its difficult to get parking in Brighton so having parking was a big bonus.

Reviewed by
catherine t

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend away
Staff friendly . car park very handy and easy to walk into Brighton for shopping, meal and night out.

Reviewed by
Bev R

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

OK
Not the best Hotel I've stayed in, but not the worst either. It's a very tired Hotel in desperate need of a refurbishment. The room was incredibly small, I'm amazed they squeezed the double bed in. The bathroom was very old and the wc very stained from years of use, not pleasant. The bar had quite a strong smell, not pleasant at all. The food was acceptable. Customer Service was barely OK. Would not stay there again.

Reviewed by
Andrew C

From Blackpool, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next