No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Courtlands Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Courtlands Hotel 19-27 The Drive, Brighton, BN3 3JE

*'More than a hotel; The Courtlands is an iconic piece of Hove's history,stretched contentedly along a prestigious tree-lined avenue within a short
walk of the famous promenade and shingle seafront. *

*Quietly grand by nature, this is understated splendour and restful style,with friendly and professional service.*
*We offer comfortable accommodation with style; each of our sixty-six en suite rooms are different – some traditional, with an eclectic mix of
beautiful and authentic antique furniture, some contemporary with chic and minimal style – whether old or new, each room has complimentary wifi...'*

Picture of Courtlands Hotel, Brighton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 102 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
68% recommended this accommodation to a friend 71% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent !

Reviewed by
a barnes

From England
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleased with all aspects of stay & free parking
Found mixed reviews online so thought we would give it a try and was not disappointed. Staff were friendly, food was great, we will definitely return.

Reviewed by
Dave B

From Chelmsford, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good situation near shops and the sea and has a car park
There was insufficient staff as the waitress was in the dining room, reception and the bar. The owner hogs the tv and is rude if any guest tries to change the channel but then he is Nicholas Van Hoogstraten.

Reviewed by
C Lawson

From UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

thumbs up
Lovely large rooms, clean and crisp bed linen, some beguiling interiors and pleasant efficient staff.
It was a big plus being able to park the car for free close by.
Yes, some of the decor is looking a little jaded but the security lighting along corridors was good and it was ideal for our short stay- we would book again.

Reviewed by
Linda M

From Daventry, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The heating could have been on for longer at at the residence control
The heating came on at 5pm then it was to hot and I had to open the window I would prefer the heat control on the radiators for me to control the staff could turn them off when not in use it would be more cost effective not to heat a room when not in use.
The bathroom where excellent compared to ones I have been in in the last 3 months in the US New York, Chicago, Seattle and Manchester UK we will be back

Reviewed by
Gerald P

From UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

All in all a good stay but some tweaks required...
Friendly helpful staff. Room was huge (had additional room next door, perhaps because we asked to check in early). Breakfast was good. Shower was terrible though (wouldn't stay up, weak and luke warm) and the hotel itself does need a bit of facelift, particularly the public areas. All in all a good stay for one night for a local wedding. Felt fairly expensive but actually probably quite reasonable for the area and the bonus was we didn't have to commit to a two night stay.

Reviewed by
Emma J

From England
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Value
A very simple review, the hotel is beautiful, set in an amazing location. the staff were all very friendly, rooms were clean and huge!.. bathroom was lovely. Price of the stay was amazing value for money, off street parking was a real bonus. great hotel and staff......will be returning definately!!

Reviewed by
Adam Walker

From Hitchin, England
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Satisfactory
Hotel was clean, staff freindly and was reasonable value for money at a 60+% discount but there is no way I would pay much more for this accomodation. The hotel had free on site parking and WiFi which was a bonus and is ideally located for both the beach and a range of bars and restaurants.

Reviewed by
Bruce C

From London, UK
Who stayed in November 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First Brighton Visit
My first visit to Brighton. I spent some time looking for the right hotel for three ladies.
A nice location in Hove unfortunately not the 15 minutes from the station but more like 35! The room with three beds was rather strangely arranged but comfortable.
Clean, but rather dated with a non existent shower.
Staff are friendly .
The breakfast was plentiful but rather boarding school buffet .
I would give it a 5 out of 10

Reviewed by
D Clarke

From Cambridge, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful hotel.
Would recomend it to friends and family.

Reviewed by
sandie c

From Oxford, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next